Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous!

Average Rating 3.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not For Everyone

This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book,...
This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book, rather it is more of a diet 'method' book which teaches you what and what not to do and you go from there.

The book starts out by telling you quite bluntly (which is the tone of the whole book) what you need to give up, such as smoking and soda. A large part of the book is devoted to telling the reader what to eat and what not to eat. It covers areas such as carbs, sugars, meats, protein, etc. Some of the ideas can come across a bit controversial at times, but the authors do cite their sources which they are to be commended for doing. The book also contains a pretty big list of foods that are okay to buy in case you get confused. All-in-all its an easy to read book that is fairly short and easy to follow. However, the tone of the book will not appeal to everyone. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator as dietary changes are useless unless you're motivated to stick with them.

posted by 246935 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to ...
When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to us all).The cover led me to believe that it was for the every day woman interested in eating healthier, not for someone looking to cut out any possible bad ingredient from their diet. I also did not like the way it was written, I dont need to be called names and told im a fat slob. That doesnt get me excited to follow the diet or keep reading. I would not reccomend this book unless you are looking to go completely organic and vegan.

posted by 6751762 on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 630 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    Not Impressed

    When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to us all).The cover led me to believe that it was for the every day woman interested in eating healthier, not for someone looking to cut out any possible bad ingredient from their diet. I also did not like the way it was written, I dont need to be called names and told im a fat slob. That doesnt get me excited to follow the diet or keep reading. I would not reccomend this book unless you are looking to go completely organic and vegan.

    26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Not For Everyone

    This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book, rather it is more of a diet 'method' book which teaches you what and what not to do and you go from there. <BR/><BR/>The book starts out by telling you quite bluntly (which is the tone of the whole book) what you need to give up, such as smoking and soda. A large part of the book is devoted to telling the reader what to eat and what not to eat. It covers areas such as carbs, sugars, meats, protein, etc. Some of the ideas can come across a bit controversial at times, but the authors do cite their sources which they are to be commended for doing. The book also contains a pretty big list of foods that are okay to buy in case you get confused. All-in-all its an easy to read book that is fairly short and easy to follow. However, the tone of the book will not appeal to everyone. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator as dietary changes are useless unless you're motivated to stick with them.

    26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    Proceed with caution

    I thought this was a cookbook of some sort when I made my purchase. I had just got a NOOK and was a little overly excited about downloading different items. As soon as I began reading I realized that this is no cook book. However, it has changed my life. Before I read this book I was a meat eatter. Before I even had the book completed I became 100% VEGAN and have been for over 6 months now. I feel and look better than I ever have. This book does get a little graphic but I just think of it as a wake up call. If you've ever considered becoming vegan just give this book a read and it will surely make your decision easier.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2009

    Might as well read a PETA pamphlet instead.

    Do not be fooled into thinking that this is a fun, motivating, girly, informative diet book. This sole purpose of this book is to make everybody become a vegan, and to join up with PETA. If you want to read page after page and chapter after chapter about the mis-treatment of animals, then buy this book. If you don't believe in eating or using animal products (any animal products, not just meat) in any way, then buy this book. There is a time and place for all of that - not in a book with that title. I feel cheated and ripped off. This book is not what it seems. Not cool. It will make you feel worse about your life, not better. And I will read (and usually like) almost anything.

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2008

    Harsh and Insulting

    I had no idea that this book was to recruit people to become vegans and insult anyone that enjoyed an occasional cup of coffee, piece of meat 'chicken/steak' or dessert when out with friends. The tone of the book implies that in order to be skinny you have to become a vegan and give up foods that you enjoy. The two authors imply that they are perfect and don't ever indulge. The language throughout the book was foul/harsh and the information/visuals on the slaughterhouses were beyond gross. Save your money and purchase the Abs Diet Book. Lots of good information and they do encourage one 'cheat meal' per week.

    18 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    I strongly recommended this book to my students

    Fortunately, I discovered 'Skinny **tch' and recommended it to my high school students. The strong language in the book actually doesn't compare to the language I hear every day while walking in the halls, and the students relate to its no-nonsense writing style. With rising rates of childhood obesity and depression due to distorted body image, this book is a must for teenagers. 'Skinny **tch' is unlike any other 'diet' book, as it truly will make you repulsed by bad foods so that you no longer crave them. Fortunately, the book also provides a long list of specific foods that you can eat so that you'll never feel like you're missing out on foods that you love. Do yourself and favor and read this book!

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    Misleading and unhealthy

    I read this book out of curiosity. When I started reading, however, I could not stop because I was appalled at the unhealthy advice and one-sided arguments. The authors hide behind their ideals of animal rights when they really only care about getting skinny. They twisted statistics and information to fit their agenda and to shock readers into agreeing with them. Much of their advice is patently unhealthy, such as their suggestion to fast, or "cleanse" the body. The book perpetuates the myth that skinniness equals happiness, and ties self-esteem to one's weight instead of one's personality and accomplishments. The book also discourages having a positive body image, and in fact gains its success by feeding off of others' negative self-image. The book is targeted towards young women, the group most at risk for eating disorders. One of the only mentions of eating disorders is, "But, don't go anorexic on us, either" (184). Their casual remark about eating disorders illustrates their ignorance about this disease. After spewing misleading information, how can they expect readers to make healthy and informed decisions regarding their nutrition? They attempt to sound funny and cool by their direct and disparaging tone, but instead they sound condescending and shallow. I highly advise readers to avoid this book and search for more reliable, healthy, and helpful information elsewhere.

    14 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Wish i had read the reviews first vegan

    I wanted to change the way i eat, but have no interest in being "scared" into becoming vegan. I wish i could return this.

    13 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Crap

    When I started the book, I didn't mind the foul language and harshness. But eventually it gets old and you realize that the authors are just pushing vegan ways on the reader. Then, the book gets really annoying and you just want to throw it.

    12 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Kick in the pants!!!!

    If you need a book that will help you "know better, eat better." Then this is the book for you! It is a fun read that is also very informative! I really liked the list of organic foods and brands towards the end of the book! Also, the month of meals is excellent! I am extremely excited to start a healthier life style after reading this! A warning, I cried during the cruelty to animals section. But other than that I am stoked to eat, feel, and LIVE BETTER! WORTH $7!

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    I know plenty of fat vegans

    If you want to push an agenda, be up front and honest about it.

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    BEST vegan info!

    I really enjoy how honest and informative this book is! If you're looking for a down to earth vegan starter guide with a sense of humor this is it. It even has a one month suggestion list for meals and snacks each day to jump-start a vegan diet. It is great if you ever wanted to start eating healthy vegan but didn't know how. Even if vegan isn't your thing (like my carnivourus husband) this book is still interesting to read and really makes you want to find the best meat available from local farmers and not big grocery stores. Go enjoy!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    misleading title

    Shame on me for not reading the reviews of others before purchasing. Shame on the authors for giving a misleading title to their book. I applaud that they are passionate in their message and meaning, but I don't feel happy about feeling almost bullied into a vegan lifestyle. Perhaps I will want that one day, but I feel duped having bought this book. Silly me I thought it might be a fun new fad diet.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2010

    Scare tactics

    It was good in the first couple of chapters, but as I read on, realized the authors were seeming to delve into "fear tactics", on diet and the types of food to consume. Seemed to drag on in a few spots.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Hmmm

    She is a PETA mouth piece repeatedly saying trust no one....point taken. I read this carefully looking up citations and found it quite remarkable that various "websites" routed you to peta's website or took you to websites that were "renamed". Save your $7.....wish i could get mine back.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reader beware!!!

    Okay, where do I start with this book? First let me say that even though I enjoyed reading this book, and even though I think it has a lot of valuable information that I was not aware of prior to reading the book, I believe that Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin misrepresent the true purpose of the book and they take advantage of the unsuspecting reader to promote their lifestyle choice.

    That said; I knew what I was getting when I purchased the book because my friend told me all about it after she had read it. Unfortunately for her, no one told her that this book was not really a guide for getting skinny, but instead a very well written campaign for VEGANISM.

    In the book Rory and Kim are very clear in their message that they do not care about being skinny; all they care about is grossing out the reader with awful images of some of the horror stories that occur in the meat and dairy industry. This scare tactic is supposed to lead the reader to the brilliant realization that they MUST become vegan in order to be healthy and humane.

    I am very bothered by the fact that these two women have exploited an issue like weight loss that affects so many women, to crusade their choice to be vegan. To add insult to injury they also take the time to belittle and insult the reader with offensive language. I am a Marine veteran and some of the men that I've worked with in my career don't even speak this way.

    So, a word of caution for the sensitive person considering getting this book; don't!

    If you are easily grossed out; don't buy this book.

    If you cry when watch those Humane Society TV commercials; don't buy this book... it will bring you to tears!

    Now, if you are someone looking for a good reason to go vegan... this book is for you!

    I rate this book 3 out 5 starts because it does provide the reader with valuable information about what is in the foods we eat; the chemicals we ingest and their side effects; vitamins and minerals and the foods we can eat to obtain them; and for those who care to know, the horror and shady business that occurs in the meat and dairy industry... I'll tell you one thing; I will never look at my food the same way again.

    Happy reading!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wasted my money

    I returned this book after reading just a few chapters. It is a thinly veiled PETA advertisement. It is one of the worst books I've ever read. If PETA is your thing, have at it. If not, this is not the book for you. I hemmed and hawed at buying this book and I thought I looked through it pretty carefully before purchase. It wasn't until the fourth or fifth chapter that the authors hit the reader with a barrage of descriptions so disgusting and so graphic that I literally could not read it. It didn't make me into a vegan, which is the authors' intended goal. It made me unable to eat anything at all for about two days and it made me immediately return the book to the store. I was just trying to get healthy and lose about 10lbs. This book tells it's readers that we are all basically rotten people for not being vegans. Like I said if that's not what you're looking for, don't waste your money. Oh, and the only reason I gave it even one star was because the system wouldn't allow me to give it no stars.

    8 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Vegan

    This book is funny but its all about getting younto be vegan...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A book written from your foul mouthed girlfriends point of view

    I had been debating about reading this book and one day I picked it up in the store to read the chapters. After seeing chapters such as: Don't be a p, the dead rotting meat diet...I knew this book was for me. This book is two women (yes with a slanted point of view that vegan is the way to go) telling their girlfriends how to get healthier and offering many reasons why for each tip.<BR/><BR/>Yes the slaughterhouse description was disgusting but worse is the thought of all chemicals and medicines one eats. Yes the language tends towards a sailor but be honest, who doesn't have a foul mouthed tirade every now and then.<BR/><BR/>I got a great kick out of it, found it humorous, informative, and supportive.<BR/><BR/>I also recommend Skinny in the Kitch that has recipes ranging from sushi rolls to brownies. Yum!

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2009

    not practical

    Unless you can become a strict vegan (no meat of any kind including fish, dairy, eggs, etc), this book is not for you. I kept wondering what do these ladies cook for their family? I can just see my husbands reaction to vegie burgers and tofu every night. He'd much rather have me as a size 10 than to live like that. Sugar is out, of course, as well as coffee and alcohol. Life is too short.<BR/><BR/>Also, I thought the title was funny and thought the rest of the book would be so also. I found their language to be not edgy (like the title), but very crass and crude. Just open the book to the 1st few lines in their "no dairy" chapter and you will see what I mean. I'm the furthest thing from a prude, but these "ladies" are just downright gross at times. I'm sure that at a size 10 they would consider me a "gluttonous pig" (as they say), but I think they have absolutely no class.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 630 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 32