Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous!

Average Rating 3.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not For Everyone

This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book,...
This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book, rather it is more of a diet 'method' book which teaches you what and what not to do and you go from there.

The book starts out by telling you quite bluntly (which is the tone of the whole book) what you need to give up, such as smoking and soda. A large part of the book is devoted to telling the reader what to eat and what not to eat. It covers areas such as carbs, sugars, meats, protein, etc. Some of the ideas can come across a bit controversial at times, but the authors do cite their sources which they are to be commended for doing. The book also contains a pretty big list of foods that are okay to buy in case you get confused. All-in-all its an easy to read book that is fairly short and easy to follow. However, the tone of the book will not appeal to everyone. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator as dietary changes are useless unless you're motivated to stick with them.

posted by 246935 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to ...
When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to us all).The cover led me to believe that it was for the every day woman interested in eating healthier, not for someone looking to cut out any possible bad ingredient from their diet. I also did not like the way it was written, I dont need to be called names and told im a fat slob. That doesnt get me excited to follow the diet or keep reading. I would not reccomend this book unless you are looking to go completely organic and vegan.

posted by 6751762 on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Vegan

    This book is funny but its all about getting younto be vegan...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Misleading

    I bought this book and was initially intrigued by the tone of the book. It made me laugh and the first chapter was good (I read it at the store before purchasing). However, once I got home and continued reading over the next two days it became clear this was a book for vegans. No where on the back, cover, or first chapter do the authors make this clear. I kept reading anyway and while informative, the descriptive stories of animal cruelty seemed to be more of a way to convert those who were not vegans. I began to feel like I was mislead into buying a diet/lifestyle book that then turned out to be vegan history and how-to book. I returned it and purchased the book "Volumetrics" which I was much happier with. I have nothing against those who choose not to eat meat or those who choose to eat only organic and I don't try to push on them all the reasons why I believe meat is an important part of a diet. I expect the same. It would be one thing if I bought the book knowing what I was getting into but again, I felt mislead.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    don't read

    This book is not a diet book. It appears that way only for the authors to promote becoming a vegan. You don't not have to be a vegan to be healthy.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    UGH.

    What a boring book. All the authors are trying to do is to convert you into vegans. thats it. it is entertaining to read, but its like theyre trying to convert you into a religion or a cult or something. dont waste your money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book was a HUGE dissapointment. I saw the authors on the Ellen show and thought I would get some funny and practical eating advice. What I found instead was complete VEGETARIAN 'PETA-LIKE' propaganda! This book has chapter after chapter about the horrible conditions of slaughter houses and the horrific effects of meat/dairy/eggs/etc (basicaly ALL foods) to our bodies. This book is completely misleading and unless you want to live a total VEGAN lifestyle, do not invest your time or money into this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    eh.

    I loved parts of this book, but found a lot of it to be conspiracy filled (the government wants us to be unhealthy, the FDA is conspiring, etc..). I love the staight-forward attitude of it, but hated that if was so dogmatic. I also hated that it basically said if you weren't vegetarian, you are immoral and unhealthy. wrong.

    I wouldnt have spent as much as I did on this book if i had known what it truly was, but again, parts I really liked.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Vegan Diatribe but Not All Bad

    Like so many other reviewers have no doubt said, this book is not a diet book, it is a recruitment ad for PETA and a vegan lifestyle. I definitely am not opposed to that, but this book had some serious false advertising going on. I did enjoy some of the humor (albeit it did get repetitive and was unduly harsh at points), and it finally gave me the impetus to quit soda forever. When reading, keep in mind that it is written by two former models (or one model and one modeling agency owner, or something), neither with a degree in nutrition. For some it may be a good motivational aid, but make sure to read some real nutritional literature before taking a huge step and becoming vegan.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Misleading

    I thought this book was great for the first chapter or so. Then I started to see what the real purpose of it was.. to follow a vegan diet, and to be scared into doing it. It was really grotesque, the details involving meat and dairy, and it did give me a lot of detail I had not known before. BUT I wasn't looking for details on how cows and hogs are killed, or how milk is disgusting. I was looking for a diet book that gave me some laughs. Instead it was quite the opposite. It also seemed to be a little political, mentioned what was done 'or not done' during the Bush administration, and how Clinton ' at least tried'. Not the book for me.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2010

    So-so

    It seems the authors took a modern diet text, peppered it with a couple swear words, and called it revolutionary. Nothing groundbreaking is in this book- all of this information is old. Save your time and money and get something else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2008

    You have got to be kidding.....

    If you enjoy reading foul language and insults every other word ~ you will enjoy this book.(I am FAR from a prude - but it is over the top!) Ready to be grossed out about everyday healthy foods?? read on. Ready to have your self-esteem lowered because you drink coffee, eat fish, chicken, or endulge in the occassional drink........dive in and eat this book up. Well, if you go by its recommendations, you will only be able to eat THIS BOOK - everything else is off limits!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2008

    really?

    I bought this book thinking, hey maybe I want to be a skinny bitch, but what they don't tell you anywhere on the outside or even in the intro is that this diet is a vegan diet. For me this wouldn't fit into my lifestyle at all! They should tell you more about what they are advertising on the book itself. I returned it. Got the Abs diet for Women. Works much better for me!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2008

    an upset nutrition major

    I'm majoring in nutrition and like to read the latest diet books just to see what people are saying, and I thought this one would be a winner but i was very disappointed. It promotes a vegan lifestyle which not only is difficult to follow but can also be very unhealthy. Many times vegans don't eat enough to fulfill their daily calories and don't get enough vitamins and minerals. One thing the book talks about is that we were meant to be vegans, or that we weren't meant to eat animal products... well the only way we get vitamin B12 is from animal products, why would a vitamin that is essential to our bodies be in a food we weren't meant to eat? Although some of the info about the slaughterhouses was interesting, this book is NOT worth reading

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2008

    Immature and amateurish writing and content

    While the book provides numerous facts 'or heavy web searching to put some facts together piecemeal', there is nothing new here that you wouldn't find in a more respectable book of similar content. It's very hard to follow and respect any book that reads like an uneducated, foul-mouthed adolescent. The book is filled with unnecessary obsenities and vulgarities. And while most of the underlying content is factual, be careful of several misconceptions such as constant recommendations to several brand-name 'vegan' substitutes for meat products.Many of which are filled with equally dangerous chemicals that would make your body a science lab. What you will get from the book is one bit of sound advice...read the labels on everything you would plan to put into your body. But the real learning lessons were missed: that a balanced, healthy diet means monitoring portions of the types of foods you select and avoid unhealthy sources for the foods that you eat. Two last notes: 1' The hypocracy near the end where the authors themselves admit to occassionally eating foods they swear 'literally' for you not to eat. 2' How did this book become a New York Times best- seller?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2008

    Certainly didn't learn anything new

    I picked up this book thinking that I would get some awesome tips on eating healthier. I've never been overweight, but I know that my eating habits aren't the best. Even though I already knew most of the info in this book, the way they addressed certain issues certainly helped. I actually enjoyed the first couple of chapters. I read the labels on products more now and steer clear of sodas. What I did not like about this book is that it's preaching a vegan lifestyle. There's nothing wrong with avoiding meats and dairy produts. And I can see where that is healthier. However, for the authors, it's all or nothing and I couldn't disagree more. I know several other women of all shapes, ages and sizes who eat meat and consume dairy products who are as healthy as can be. Hell, a couple do marathons annually. When you really think about it, there's a downside to everything. Do you even know how much more expensive organic foods are? Furthermore, if I wanted to learn more about animal cruelty, I would have gone to a Peta website or read a book on the subject. Yes, it is absolutely horrible, but I find it very innappropriate to include such graphic details in a diet book! Seriously...if I would have known, I wouldn't have bought the thing! I think from now own, I'll eat what I think is best and balance it out with a good amount of exercise. Isn't that what we're supposed to do anyway?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Completely disappointing

    I too had heard all the hype, it came recommended from a friend, and then I started reading it and was so disappointed by the content--if I wanted a book about a vegan lifestyle, then I would have bought one--that's what was most disappointing...finding out this book was not what it claimed to be.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    A pure waste of time

    I read this book primarily because it had been hyped so much when it first came out and I was looking for tips on improving my diet. In the end, I was very disappointed. It seems there's nothing safe to eat except organic kale and soy. Yum. And so much of the information was pulled from other sources. These authors really made money off of compiling a book based on research other people had already done. I also found it interesting that the authors were so quick to belittle and criticize the USDA and other food inspectors. Yeah, there probably are some workers who let things slide when they shouldn't. But how do you really KNOW your organic foods are truly organic? How do we know we can trust them if we can't trust the USDA? The only reason I kept reading the book past the first couple of chapters was to see how nuts these ladies really think. It actually became quite humorous to me. But if this diet works for them and they feel good, that's great for them. I myself will continue to enjoy meats, cheese and milk.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2012

    Maria

    Luke?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Though I agree with some of the things mentioned in this book, t

    Though I agree with some of the things mentioned in this book, this book basically recommends that you become a VEGAN. So if you are not willing to give up animal products, don't bother with this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2011

    tries to be too cool on dieting...

    I do a full book review on "Skinny B***h" on YouTube on the channel: rhocDaVegan. Check it out for complete insight! Cheers!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    A reviewer

    I barrowed this book from a friend and i thought is was great and very funny. But once i got up to chapter 5, i just felt like it was utter nonsense. I knew at the back of my mind there wasn't something logical about their 'method' to healthy eating in general. The language is only funny to a point than it becomes over exagerated and annoying. Too much soy in your diet isn't that healthy for you. My mother met a women who thought she had breast cancer because she had lumps in her breasts but it was really soy deposits in her breasts!From including too much soy in her diet! If your serious about becomming a vegan and eating nothing but freaken fruit and rabbit food for the rest of your life time than this ridiculous book is for you! These whiny brats who call this persuasive writing need a double cheeseburger and need to shut up!! They make meat seem like this evil demon that is the root to all bad health. Well guess what it isn't! Over eating the bad things can lead to cancers,obesity and etc. Meat is protein which in its simplest form is amino acid and not everyone in the U.S. can afford your organic plants. Do they expect the poverty stricken to go out to whole foods (which is pricey) and stock up their homes with organic tomatoes and lettace?just because they have a different form of the twentytwo amino acids? This guide is more for spoiled rich girls who think they need to go all vegan to be healthy. Read and decide for yourself !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4