Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous!

Average Rating 3.5
( 628 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(119)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not For Everyone

This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book,...
This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book, rather it is more of a diet 'method' book which teaches you what and what not to do and you go from there.

The book starts out by telling you quite bluntly (which is the tone of the whole book) what you need to give up, such as smoking and soda. A large part of the book is devoted to telling the reader what to eat and what not to eat. It covers areas such as carbs, sugars, meats, protein, etc. Some of the ideas can come across a bit controversial at times, but the authors do cite their sources which they are to be commended for doing. The book also contains a pretty big list of foods that are okay to buy in case you get confused. All-in-all its an easy to read book that is fairly short and easy to follow. However, the tone of the book will not appeal to everyone. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator as dietary changes are useless unless you're motivated to stick with them.

posted by 246935 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to ...
When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to us all).The cover led me to believe that it was for the every day woman interested in eating healthier, not for someone looking to cut out any possible bad ingredient from their diet. I also did not like the way it was written, I dont need to be called names and told im a fat slob. That doesnt get me excited to follow the diet or keep reading. I would not reccomend this book unless you are looking to go completely organic and vegan.

posted by 6751762 on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Don't Bother

    The authors, a former model and a former agent for Ford Models, have a great deal to say in a very unpolished fashioned. Direct and offensive best describes their voice. The authors are basically pushing the vegan lifestyle. In their plight to convert women to Skinny Bitch'es' they spend a chapter showcasing the work of Gail Eisnitz's book, Slaughterhouse. Gail Eisnitz does a wonderful job of relaying the horrific realities involved in the meat packing industry however, the reader knows that from the onset. A reader buying Skinny Bitch assumes it's about weightloss not an anti-meat, anti-cheese, anti-milk, anti-coffee, anti-sugar (and anti-medication) rant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Nikki

    This book seemed to teach common sense to me. I found it boring and the recipes not so good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2008

    A reviewer

    I think these girls who like to say the book is a 'no nonsence, tough love' is a polite way to say foul mouthed and uneducated. I feel the language in this book is just to distract from the lack of knowledge these girls have obtained. Also I cannot believe this book is so popular when one of the authors credentials is 'a self taught know it all'. There were some valid points and alot of truth about the animal abuse in the meat industry but as far as the health issues go I think there are two sides to every story. My 90 year old grandmother who owns a dairy farm has eaten meat and dairy everyday of her life and is the most healthy person I know. Eat all things in moderation and go to the gym.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Just Terrible

    No wonder this book is titled Skinny Bitch. With all the restrictions you have very few options of eating therefore becoming skinny and bitchy. Honestly this book was very disappointing. All it did was push the vegan lifestyle. Seriously, who has time to read every label on every food item they buy?! I know I don't!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    Loved the title but was truly dispointed how much preaching there was about switching from meat and diary lover to a vegan. No offense to vegans at all, just expected something different. Also, it is really offensive in some areas, dropping negative words to the reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    Misleading

    I picked up this book because the cover and titled interested me and drew me in when I was at the book store. I picked up the book read, read the outside cover and then bought it. The first couple of chapters were good, but they then went into a huge rant about how to live a vegan lifestyle. No where on the outside of the book did it say that was what the book was about - the cover was very misleading. I plan on getting my money back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2008

    shocking

    I wish the book review stated this was a book for vegetarians. It was disturbing even though all statements were true. Alot about cruelty to animals. Have not been able to eat meat since I read it two months ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2007

    Don't be fooled

    I bought this book expecting it to give some really good tips, but I was proven wrong. The title is very misleading. Nowhere on the front or back cover does it state that it is about becoming a vegan. I found the chapter titles to be a little witty. The language of the first few chapters had me laughing and reading it out loud to my boyfriend. After a few chapters the laughter and smiles faded. This book was not what I was expecting. Had I known what it was really going to be about, I would've saved my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2007

    Poor research and one sided

    One 'real' source for the entire 'slaughterhouse' chapter? People writing a simple college paper use more than one source as the basis for their arguments. Those Ibids make it real easy. And what do you mean you should only eat what you can get with your bare hands. Are you truly capable of gathering oats, cracking or cutting them and cooking them with no tools? I thought a pot was a tool. What about the sticks you rubbed together to make your fire? Ok, well if you can't eat oatmeal which is in your book without using tools then why can't I use a tool to catch an animal, kill it and cook it for food. Humans have killed an eaten animals with far fewer 'tools' than you use to make your fake soy chicken fajitas. To say that it is only acceptable to eat what you could were there no technology puts more than meat and dairy off your little list. Get real folks. This is absolute crap. If you don't want to eat meat then don't eat meat but spare me the poorly argued points of view in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    Warning: hidden agenda ahead

    This book was all about becoming a Vegan. If you want to keep dairy & meat products in your diet this is NOT the book for you. It started out sassy & fun but soon progessed into nothing but slaughter house horror stories. Over all I felt they were just trying to scare me into becoming vegan. I would have never bought the book had I know what it was about. Maybe that's why they don't mention it anywhere in the book's description?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    Educational, but misleading

    Sounds good, doesn't it. There is a lot of interesting info in here. However, after finishing it, I wondered how much the vegan lobby must've paid the authors. Let there be NO mistake - these girls have an agenda! As for me, I'll integrate the info into our lifestyle, but I like steak too much to give it up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2007

    Kind of irresponsible...

    Have these authors ever been overweight? My guess is, probably not. When you're dealing with a former model and a former model agent, you're almost certainly going to be talking about people who are naturally slender -- maybe the Skinny Bitch diet makes them skinniER, but I'd bet the rent that these women won the genetic jackpot and attributing their thinness exclusively to their diet is naive, correlation-does-not-equal-causation crap. I'm a 'skinny bitch' myself. I know full well that if I scarf macaroni and cheese all the time, I will become less skinny. But I'll never be overweight, and I imagine the same is true of the authors. Their methods may not apply at all to people who are predisposed to being overweight, for whatever reason, and when it comes right down to it, all the Sturm und Drang and namecalling is not only unnecessary, but actively cruel. This book gets one star from me for emphasizing how processed foods are produced, which is something that more people should definitely be aware of, and for talking about the futility of no-carb diets. But I am VERY dubious about its utility for people who are genuinely overweight.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2007

    Skinny Boot Camp

    This book is for those who are skinny and want to maintain their weight. Narrator sounds like a drill sergeant trying to beat it in you that what you are eating is wrong . The expectations that it asks is almost impossible for an overweight adult to accomplish. Get another book if you are overweight and want to lose weight safely and comfortably or those of you who enjoy real food.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2007

    A reviewer

    The first few chapters of this book was amusing and informative. Midway through, however, it becomes obvious that these Skinny Bitches are just promoting veganism. Hey, to each his own, but I don't need someone lecturing me and pushing their personal lifestyle on me. These women are offensive. I didn't even finish the book. Heck, I won't even donate it to a book swap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2007

    Read only if you want to be a VEGAN

    There is no where on the book, title, or synopsis that says this book is going to be a book that tells you the only way to be healthy/skinny is to be a vegan. I went into this book liking the blunt/humorous way of writing, but soon found out that if you're not vegan than you're 'eating crap'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 71 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 4