Customer Reviews for

Skinny Bitch: A No-Nonsense, Tough-Love Guide for Savvy Girls Who Want to Stop Eating Crap and Start Looking Fabulous!

Average Rating 3.5
( 629 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(120)

3 Star

(80)

2 Star

(71)

1 Star

(110)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Not For Everyone

This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book,...
This is a book for women who want to lose weight. Its catch is that it uses 'straight talk' to convey its ideas about how to lose weight. Do not buy this book if you are offended by profanity, which is abundant in the book. I can't really say that this is a 'diet' book, rather it is more of a diet 'method' book which teaches you what and what not to do and you go from there.

The book starts out by telling you quite bluntly (which is the tone of the whole book) what you need to give up, such as smoking and soda. A large part of the book is devoted to telling the reader what to eat and what not to eat. It covers areas such as carbs, sugars, meats, protein, etc. Some of the ideas can come across a bit controversial at times, but the authors do cite their sources which they are to be commended for doing. The book also contains a pretty big list of foods that are okay to buy in case you get confused. All-in-all its an easy to read book that is fairly short and easy to follow. However, the tone of the book will not appeal to everyone. Also recommend The Sixty-Second Motivator as dietary changes are useless unless you're motivated to stick with them.

posted by 246935 on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Not Impressed

When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to ...
When I found this book, I thought it was be a great tool to help me jumpstart a healthy diet and lifestyle. I was disappointed to find that it focused almost entirely on being vegan and organic (including making multiple stabs at doctors and the government for lying to us all).The cover led me to believe that it was for the every day woman interested in eating healthier, not for someone looking to cut out any possible bad ingredient from their diet. I also did not like the way it was written, I dont need to be called names and told im a fat slob. That doesnt get me excited to follow the diet or keep reading. I would not reccomend this book unless you are looking to go completely organic and vegan.

posted by 6751762 on January 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 631 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Vegan

    This book was just a pitch for veganism. I took nothing valuable from this book

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Not what i expected

    Don't read unless u r going to change your diet to vegan!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    Disappointing

    I had been wanting to read this book for a while after hearing great reviews from friends. I was thoroughly disappointed once I really got into this book. I started off with an open mind but once I got to the chapter on the meat industry I was pretty annoyed. I am a vegetarian but I have no plans of becoming vegan. I felt that the authors evidence for the meat industry was vastly skewed to only prove their point that being vegan is what everyone should do. Their argument that eating meat is eating something that is dead is wrong but, when you eat a piece of fruit that is alive you are doing your body good is wrong. Fruit is dead and slowly losing its nutrients the minute you pick it. When you buy it in the store it is no longer alive, it is slowly decaying. I think that maybe next time they should have some hard facts instead of just their opinions and trying unsuccessfully to prove their point.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    Way too foul mouthed

    I thought by its title that there would be some foul language but the F word is dropped constantly and as a reader you are insulted every bit of the way. The book isn't "brutally honest", it is just plain nasty, like that mean spirited bully on the playground. Additionally, it is heavy in promoting a vegan lifestyle which is nothing I am opposed to by any means(I am vegetarian) but it does it in a terrible way. The authors don't simply tell the nutritional advantages of a vegan diet, they completely disgust you with the inner workings of the meat industry. I was completely blindsided by it too, since I had no idea the the book would emphasize it so much and be so graphic about it. Lastly, the authors place themselves on a pedestal above their reader and treat the readers as if we are some moronic barbarians. All in all if you are looking to feel demoralized then this is the book for you, otherwise steer clear.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Hate it I want my money back.

    I wanted a book that would help me become a healthy eater. This book is nothing but PETA propaganda. Please do not buy this book unless you are ready to become a vegan and want to hate yourself for ever eating any kind of meat product.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    Poorly written, superficial science, and language was distasteful rather than funny.

    I had great hopes when I first picked this book up, thinking it would be a straight-forward, factual, fun and motivating take on healthy living. At first the use of foul language was funny, but it quickly grew old and off-putting. It was as if the authors were trying to shock, but instead they simply got in the way of their message. I was disappointed and surprised at the superficial understanding of human physiology, given that one of the authors holds a Masters in Nutrition. They wildly extrapolate based on very little good data, and don't even attempt to present both sides of the arguments, which really damages their credibility. I was also annoyed with all of the statements to the effect of "if we were carnivores, we would _____" fill in the blank. We aren't carnivores. We are omnivores. And yes, omnivores eat meat *and* veggies. I agree that we generally don't need much meat, and I think that Michael Pollan's advice is more useful: "Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants." To give only a vegan option serious consideration in the face of some of the serious animal welfare issues is disgraceful. Most people live in an area that, if they look around them, has options for local, organic, humanely grown and harvested meat, eggs and dairy products. In short, I was looking for something fun and motivating, and instead found something offensive on many fronts, poorly-written, and really weak on science. I don't know what to do with the book now that I have it. I would ordinarily pass it on to a friend, but this one is so bad it's probably going to end up in the compost pile.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2009

    Do not read unless you are interested in becoming VEGAN.

    This book is incredibly preachy, which I was expecting. The reason why I rate it so low is because they disguise this book as being a "healthy" and informative guide to living a skinny life. NOT SO!

    This book is all about preaching Veganism. Which for most people, is not a healthy way to get skinny.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    Worst Book Ever

    Don't waste your money on this book of lies. This book will make you feel like crap for no reason.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    Rory and Kim are better off teaching at an rotc program.

    Drill Sergeant much? I haven't consumed this much useless attitude from a "so-called" health professional since my 11th grade gym teacher. Calling someone a fat-ass and a slob isn't necessarily the best route to get them to buy your book and/or lose weight. I suggest something a little less harsh if you're sensitive.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2009

    Misleading

    I bought this book and was initially intrigued by the tone of the book. It made me laugh and the first chapter was good (I read it at the store before purchasing). However, once I got home and continued reading over the next two days it became clear this was a book for vegans. No where on the back, cover, or first chapter do the authors make this clear. I kept reading anyway and while informative, the descriptive stories of animal cruelty seemed to be more of a way to convert those who were not vegans. I began to feel like I was mislead into buying a diet/lifestyle book that then turned out to be vegan history and how-to book. I returned it and purchased the book "Volumetrics" which I was much happier with. I have nothing against those who choose not to eat meat or those who choose to eat only organic and I don't try to push on them all the reasons why I believe meat is an important part of a diet. I expect the same. It would be one thing if I bought the book knowing what I was getting into but again, I felt mislead.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    don't read

    This book is not a diet book. It appears that way only for the authors to promote becoming a vegan. You don't not have to be a vegan to be healthy.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    Disappointed

    I am extremely disappointed in the deceptive practices used by the two authors to sell books and shove their animal rights agenda down the throats of people who purchased the book in hopes of obtaining sincere advice on how to become healthier. I read this book from cover to cover and walked away with the same knowledge about nutrition that I did before I purchased the book.<BR/><BR/>The authors may actually hurt their cause rather than help it. If they were not honest when titling the book why should I believe that the information it contains is truthful? <BR/><BR/>This book used graphic and nauseating descriptions of slaughterhouse accounts to shock and disgust readers into becoming vegans. Personally I don't believe that either author is concerned about the health or well being of humans. Their focus is on the treatment of animals and whatever kickback or praise they will receive from PETA.<BR/><BR/>I would not recommend this book to anyone who is trying to better their health or anyone with a weak stomach.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2008

    HORRIBLE! I am so disappointed!

    This book was a huge let down. It's basically two skinny girls calling you a fat cow the entire book. No real solid advice, and a curse word every other sentence. The whole book is about how evil meat, dairy, protein, sugar, carbs, caffeine, and cigarettes (and basically everything else) are. There's even a chapter on how animals are slaughtered (no joke). I'm shocked that someone would publish such a bad book. If you're interested in being lectured on becoming a vegan/vegetarian then this book is for you.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    SO GREAT

    I have been a vegetarian for ten years, but still struggling with weight issues. I read this book in one sitting, and it has motivated me to become a vegan. It is true. Every vegan that I have met is thin and healthy. The authors put "the bullshit" on the table and will really get through to the readers. I hope this book pushes me to become a vegan and lose weight (AND KEEP IT OFF TOO!) Good luck to the readers!

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Genius.

    You'll laugh too hard to feel bad about yourself.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Changed My Life

    I have struggled with weight and self esteem issues in the past, binge eating one day and starving myself the next. After a recommendation from a friend, I began reading this book shortly after the holiday season. While I did not go 100% vegan, it totally changed the way I think about diet and exercise. I have lost about 8 pounds but more importantly I am happier and have more energy. If you are ready to make a LIFESTYLE change, not just the next fad diet, then this book is for you! I hope you find as much success as I have.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Essential for Beginning Vegans!

    I loved this book as someone who was new to being vegan, and especially new to reading food labels. Even though I had taken a really good health class, I was still pretty confused, but this book cleared it up. The tone is humorous and interesting on an otherwise bland subject. I took the advice of the other reviewers, and skipped the chapters on meat and cheese, and I still got my money's worth. I felt motivated and inspired, and picked up some new knowledge about ingredients, and some new habits that really help me to get up in the morning and stay active all day. I love this eBook, and months later, find myself coming back to it! Great buy!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    Save your money...

    I bought this book thinking it would be a funny take on dieting and the enternal quest to lose weight, instead it was a preachy, judgemental opinion about anyone who doesn't make the choice to be a vegetarian. I will give some credit to the title because the authors do come off as the title indicates!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    Good Motivational Read

    I love this book. I had been throwing around the idea for a while of switching to a Vegan diet for health reasons. I was diagnosed with extreme Fibromyalgia a year ago. Countless medications did nothing to help my pain level. I read on the internet, that a vegan diet can help to ease the pain of Fibromyalgia, so I thought I'd give it a try. After reading this book, my decision was solidified. I couldn't possibly continue to eat the way I had been, with no exercise, and expect to feel healthy and pain free. This book showed me that a vegan diet, with exercise, can give me the pain relief I so desperately craved. Bravo to the authors for providing an educational, motivational and hilarious book on the benefits of becoming Vegan and adopting a healthy lifestyle.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very informative

    This book will not make me become a vegan but it is great to know and understand what you are eating. Everybody should at least read the book to become aware.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 631 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 32