Customer Reviews for

Skinny Dip

Average Rating 4
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(109)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(33)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Great Summer Reading

Okay, I don't know if I would read this on a cruise, but it is a great, fun book. You've got the lovely, strong heroine, the totally bumbling bad guy, and the sexy rescuer. And mostly set on sunny beaches! This is almost a reverse mystery. You know who did it, but n...
Okay, I don't know if I would read this on a cruise, but it is a great, fun book. You've got the lovely, strong heroine, the totally bumbling bad guy, and the sexy rescuer. And mostly set on sunny beaches! This is almost a reverse mystery. You know who did it, but not why. And the pay back! Wow... you just have to read it!

posted by 1135863 on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Okay(ten year old reviewer)

I only read the sample on my nook, the language was not suitible for chidren. But the characters are fantastic! Adults have fun

posted by 9239052 on July 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Summer Reading

    Okay, I don't know if I would read this on a cruise, but it is a great, fun book. You've got the lovely, strong heroine, the totally bumbling bad guy, and the sexy rescuer. And mostly set on sunny beaches! This is almost a reverse mystery. You know who did it, but not why. And the pay back! Wow... you just have to read it!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    Fantastic read

    I wanted something light and offbeat and I got something hilarious, crazy, and full of heart. Hiaasen gets his message in there without beating you over the head. Books don't usually make me "laugh out loud," but this one had me chuckling in public. I'd definitely recommend it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2011

    Okay(ten year old reviewer)

    I only read the sample on my nook, the language was not suitible for chidren. But the characters are fantastic! Adults have fun

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great book, funny and intriguing. Great read!!!!!!

    Great book, funny and intriguing. Great read!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Funny quick read

    Lighthearted, funny quick read. Love the characters. Unlike anything I've ever read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Love this book

    Loved it.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2006

    Less Adolescent Fantasy, More Adult Edge, Please

    'Skinny Dip' is loaded with potential and at times pretty enjoyable--the early descriptions of Tool, the hairy thug with a clear, warped, but ultimately somewhat redeemed sense of right and wrong, are entertaining in a pleasingly twisted way. And who wouldn't want to read a book that opens with a rich and lovely young woman, Joey Perrone, being dumped over the side of cruise ship by her spiritually atrophied, intellectually indolent, excessively paranoid, and cowardly husband, Chaz, who fears she will expose his unconscienable work as a 'scientist' to the authorities? Unfortunately, it isn't long after Joey is rescued by retired cop Mick Stranahan that the book becomes less a novel of people, however weird or warped, doing the bizarre things human beings do in South Florida than simultaneously (a) a lecture on evil corporate farmers who exploit migrants, rape the Everglades, pollute the environment, and (b) a middle aged male revenge fantasy in which a rich young woman falls in love with a middle aged man, every act of punishment administered to the villain pretty much goes according to plan, a good cop figures out the truth but prefers poetic justice to mere legal procedure (as does a stereotypical Vietnam veteran in the swamp). The book deserved another revision or two before going to press. One wishes the author had: a. made his villains, Chaz and Red, less a progressive's fantasy evil doers, and b. let his heroine be more complicated and suffer more challenges so we could see her grow and change. And the book needs more of an edge-- too many occurrences are not the result of an organic events, however satiric, as they are (or so it feels) of a guy sitting in a room alone thinking, dude, this would be so cool. Readers can handle complexity. We can take some nastiness in the lead character (please, no poor little rich girls) as well as some redeeming features in the bad guy, and many of us like to see protagonists have to work very hard to get what they want (or something like it). Perhaps Mr. Hiaasen, talented and observant as he clearly is, will get out a little farther on the limb next time and trust that a good story with unique characters and an edge to the narrative voice will provide entertainment and still get across the author's laudable message about gutless and hypocritical politicians, corrupt business people, and the unforgivable evils being done to nature.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Kamila

    Oh,I finished this book but that was a chore.I just wanted to give the author the chance to impress me or at least entertain me at the end. This was such a kitch story. The cover was promising thrill and excitement. I thauhgt the characters were predictable. The ex cop who rescues her is like Crocodile Dundee and the characters from the swamps.......give me a break...I could not believe it one even had removable eye....

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    Incredible!!!! This is the first book that I have read from th

    Incredible!!!!

    This is the first book that I have read from this author and it was great. The humor is witty and sarcastic, which is right up my alley. It had me laughing from start to finish. If you decide to read this book do not go into it with the idea of the plot being some great mistery, it is more like good ole fashion revenge with a funny cast of characters. This book has turned me on to thie genre and I can't wait to read more and find other authors who are similiar.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    So good!

    I read this book in two days! I couldnt put it down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Easy to read backwards mystery......

    Couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read.

    Quirky humor, unexpected laughs in unexpected places. Enjoyed the book. Overall storyline was a little "cliche", but, I enjoyed the book. I was sorry when it was finished, as I could have spent more time with the main character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Loved it

    Loved it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2010

    Liked the concept but found the characters overly predictable.

    The concept of the book was interesting and made me think it would be enjoyable. Unfortunately the other aspects of the book, most notably the characters ended up taking more from the story than enhancing it.

    I found myself multiple times asking myself, "What is this character thinking?" Almost every move made by the "bad guys(s)" are so cliché that I know that no one could really be that stupid. The one thing that kept me going was the thought that it couldn't get any worst, but then the same mistakes keep getting made by the same people over and over again.

    Even the "good guys" are so stereotypical that I knew what was going to be coming even before it was foreshadowed.

    The ending left me feeling like I wanted more closure to the story and a little disappointed that more wasn't done with the characters.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2004

    This book is trash!

    I suppose that if you think the the fact that the lead character spends most of the book worrying about getting his penis up for sex, then you will think this is funny. But I thought the book was very poorly written, a completely disjointed plot, vile language, and idiotic characters. Need I say more? E-Jo

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Ewwwwwwwww!!!!!!

    U dont want a mate u wt a s.ex toy. Gross!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Cloud

    'Tribe camp '- res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    TO ALL REGARDING SUNBEAM

    DON'T! HE'S A BAD MATE! Here are three reasons:<p>

    1. He just wants to mate and have kits.<p>

    2. He posts slower than a snail in glue!<p>

    3. He can't spell. Or have correct grammar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Ssunbeam

    Ok what was that tribe at

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Great read

    One of the best reads from Carl. He manages to play devils advicate for the EPA and greedy politions making it sadly funny in a feel good sort of way, My favorite write of Carls is "Sick Puppy"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 210 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11