Customer Reviews for

Skinny Italian: Eat It and Enjoy It - Live La Bella Vita and Look Great, Too!

Average Rating 3.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Most Delicious Diet Ever! I Lost 12 lbs While *WRITING* the Book!

Full disclosure: I helped Teresa write this book, so of course I think it's phenomenal (it's very informative, very funny, and the full-color photographs on every page are as delicious as the recipes). But I'm also the first case study on whether her authentic, Italian ...
Full disclosure: I helped Teresa write this book, so of course I think it's phenomenal (it's very informative, very funny, and the full-color photographs on every page are as delicious as the recipes). But I'm also the first case study on whether her authentic, Italian recipes and advice on Mediterranean living really work. Will they make you skinny? In a word: YES. I lost 12 POUNDS the first month of writing this book.

If you know anything about writing a book, it's the most sedentary thing you can do--you sit for hours, stay up late, and snack to stay awake. I usually gain weight when I'm writing. And if you know anything about me, I hate to exercise, and I can't cook. But of course, I couldn't write a book I didn't believe in, so I followed Teresa's advice, made all the recipes like a reader would, and changed my eating habits to live like Teresa lives. And it worked!!

"Skinny Italian" isn't just the best, most delicious diet ever, it's a way of life. My family and I are olive oil converts (we even use it to make pancakes now), I gained so much confidence in the kitchen, and I feel like I'm taking better care of my kids, feeding them good food full of love. I've kept the weight off, I feel so much healthier (especially heart healthier), and I enjoy cooking now.

Of course I want people to buy the book, but more than anything, I want other people to feel as great as I do all from cooking and eating great food. (If it didn't work, believe me, I would just keep my mouth shut...) I can testify truthfully that Teresa's recipes are easy to make, incredibly delicious, and skinny, skinny, skinny!

- Heather

posted by Heather_Maclean on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

If You Don't Watch Her TV Show...

...the commentary in this book is meanignless and reads like hate speech. Not very professional, in terms of authorship. The recipes are nothing new, but at least she doesn't proclaim them as such. They are completely pedestrian, available everywhere, and none of them e...
...the commentary in this book is meanignless and reads like hate speech. Not very professional, in terms of authorship. The recipes are nothing new, but at least she doesn't proclaim them as such. They are completely pedestrian, available everywhere, and none of them earned a place in my permanet collection. This book didn't enhance my understanding of Italian cooking and, if you already cook Italian dishes, your receipes are probably the same or better. Don't waste your money.

posted by Patrice51 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I cant believe I'm giving this 5 stars but it deserves it!

    I was a bit of a skeptic when it came to how helpful this book might be but I am so glad I downloaded it onto my iPad. First of all, the tips are amazing; everything from how to properly cook pasta to how to buy olive oil. She makes a few good points in the book about how American Italian is really fatty but true Italian cooking is simple and largely healthy. I really enjoyed the little sidebars from Teresa's husband Joe. Its very cute. I tried the most simple recipe first and guess what? It was a HUGE success. My husband, raised and fed all his life by his Italian mama, couldnt believe I only used 4 ingredients. He was in love. Being of British stock, I'm always looking for ways to cook as well as his mother and I think with this book I am on the way to being able to cook well with a healthy lean. A must have for sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    Cute

    Nice pictures. Detailed in a great way. Easy to read on e book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!!!! The BEST!!!

    What can I say , i have been waiting for a cook book that has fantastic meals for me and my family. Theresa U nailed it. I just bought this cook book a week ago and made 2 meals. Perfect!!!!!!! We love the food. You will enjoy these meals. MY child was so picky eating her food and for some reason she loves all the food that I made her in Skinny Italian. Cant wait for her nxt cook book!

    Samantha Cardona

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Great Book

    I browsed thru the book in B&N and found it to be everything I expected. The recipes are simple and the food is good even though it is not laden with lots of fat...I appreciated the olive oil buying tips and all the short stories about their life...I am buying 2 more as Christmas gifts...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Yes. This Book IS a Keeper!

    First off, I was skeptical about this book. I thought "Oh NOOOO..not another Bethenny" Also, with that moronic Kate Gosselin and HER books, I had an eye-roll moment when I first heard about Teresa Guidice's book.

    Was I wrong! Teresa has the right idea about food. No processed food, watch the portions, keep it simple! All the recipes in this book are simple. They are easy. Healthy. Non-processed. Would I call this a diet book? No..if you are thinking this is a weight-loss wonder, it isn't. What it IS, is a way of healthy-european-style eating.

    Great little cooking tips and great little reads along the way.

    I can guarantee that this book is going to be dog-earred, sauce splattered and in good use.

    Honestly, if you are looking for a very simple, family-friendly and healthy book, please buy this. Am looking forward to her next book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Love this book & Love Teresa!

    Love this book, love the dialog and the general flow of the book, not just recipes but lots of tips! And the recipe for the BEST pizza crust is in this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I don't usually review anything, however this cookbook is awesome! My husband is Italian and he says that this is authentic italian food. I think the recipies are simple, inexpensive and delicious! I have recommended this book to many of my friends!! I absolutely love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2010

    Fun Book

    Okay so those who watch the show know she can be a little winded with he words, but it is a fun book, I enjoyed the simple and tastey recipes. All in all this is a great book, I'd give it to a girlfriend for a gift or recommend it to my book club. It has a place on my cookbook shelves!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Great Book !!!

    I really was surprised with Teresa's cook book. It certainly is NOT just another Italian Cook Book. The recipes are simple, healthy & delicious. I really enjoyed reading about her love & respect for her family. She really makes one proud to be an Italian.

    I really have never watched her reality show until recently & I want to be clear that I am not a star struck fan of reality shows in general. I learned more about this woman from her book than I could ever from her show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Loved it!!!

    I loved this cook book. I am Italian also and have found some wonderful ideas in this book. I love Teresa and her whole family..
    Ciao!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    LOVE IT LIVE IT LOVE IT

    I love it every single page absolutely worth every penny, cant wait until the next one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7