Customer Reviews for

Skinny Italian: Eat It and Enjoy It - Live La Bella Vita and Look Great, Too!

Average Rating 3.5
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Most Delicious Diet Ever! I Lost 12 lbs While *WRITING* the Book!

Full disclosure: I helped Teresa write this book, so of course I think it's phenomenal (it's very informative, very funny, and the full-color photographs on every page are as delicious as the recipes). But I'm also the first case study on whether her authentic, Italian ...
Full disclosure: I helped Teresa write this book, so of course I think it's phenomenal (it's very informative, very funny, and the full-color photographs on every page are as delicious as the recipes). But I'm also the first case study on whether her authentic, Italian recipes and advice on Mediterranean living really work. Will they make you skinny? In a word: YES. I lost 12 POUNDS the first month of writing this book.

If you know anything about writing a book, it's the most sedentary thing you can do--you sit for hours, stay up late, and snack to stay awake. I usually gain weight when I'm writing. And if you know anything about me, I hate to exercise, and I can't cook. But of course, I couldn't write a book I didn't believe in, so I followed Teresa's advice, made all the recipes like a reader would, and changed my eating habits to live like Teresa lives. And it worked!!

"Skinny Italian" isn't just the best, most delicious diet ever, it's a way of life. My family and I are olive oil converts (we even use it to make pancakes now), I gained so much confidence in the kitchen, and I feel like I'm taking better care of my kids, feeding them good food full of love. I've kept the weight off, I feel so much healthier (especially heart healthier), and I enjoy cooking now.

Of course I want people to buy the book, but more than anything, I want other people to feel as great as I do all from cooking and eating great food. (If it didn't work, believe me, I would just keep my mouth shut...) I can testify truthfully that Teresa's recipes are easy to make, incredibly delicious, and skinny, skinny, skinny!

- Heather

posted by Heather_Maclean on April 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

If You Don't Watch Her TV Show...

...the commentary in this book is meanignless and reads like hate speech. Not very professional, in terms of authorship. The recipes are nothing new, but at least she doesn't proclaim them as such. They are completely pedestrian, available everywhere, and none of them e...
...the commentary in this book is meanignless and reads like hate speech. Not very professional, in terms of authorship. The recipes are nothing new, but at least she doesn't proclaim them as such. They are completely pedestrian, available everywhere, and none of them earned a place in my permanet collection. This book didn't enhance my understanding of Italian cooking and, if you already cook Italian dishes, your receipes are probably the same or better. Don't waste your money.

posted by Patrice51 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Most Delicious Diet Ever! I Lost 12 lbs While *WRITING* the Book!

    Full disclosure: I helped Teresa write this book, so of course I think it's phenomenal (it's very informative, very funny, and the full-color photographs on every page are as delicious as the recipes). But I'm also the first case study on whether her authentic, Italian recipes and advice on Mediterranean living really work. Will they make you skinny? In a word: YES. I lost 12 POUNDS the first month of writing this book.

    If you know anything about writing a book, it's the most sedentary thing you can do--you sit for hours, stay up late, and snack to stay awake. I usually gain weight when I'm writing. And if you know anything about me, I hate to exercise, and I can't cook. But of course, I couldn't write a book I didn't believe in, so I followed Teresa's advice, made all the recipes like a reader would, and changed my eating habits to live like Teresa lives. And it worked!!

    "Skinny Italian" isn't just the best, most delicious diet ever, it's a way of life. My family and I are olive oil converts (we even use it to make pancakes now), I gained so much confidence in the kitchen, and I feel like I'm taking better care of my kids, feeding them good food full of love. I've kept the weight off, I feel so much healthier (especially heart healthier), and I enjoy cooking now.

    Of course I want people to buy the book, but more than anything, I want other people to feel as great as I do all from cooking and eating great food. (If it didn't work, believe me, I would just keep my mouth shut...) I can testify truthfully that Teresa's recipes are easy to make, incredibly delicious, and skinny, skinny, skinny!

    - Heather

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    A Keeper! Love-love-LOVE it!!!

    Worth every dollar and wish it was hardcover because it's a definite keeper!!! This one will get worn out for sure, I just love-love-LOVE what she offers to the common housewife!

    It is well written in that she makes you feel right at home as you're reading the book and like she is right there with you helping you along the way. Like you're already a part of the family! She is very educational in plain language and I especially love the olive oil and pizza sections! The Juicy Bits from Joe are awesome and Chapter 11 is a special bonus, THANK YOU!

    If you're looking for a glimpse into what REAL authentic Italian home cooking & living is like, this one is for you! If you're looking for a healthy way of life, this one is for you too!

    It's beautiful, just get it and enjoy! My kitchen smells fantastic from the very first recipe!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!

    Love Teresa from RHONJ - had to buy this book immediately - I even paid retail for it which I never do!

    I have made several meals and each one has been quick, easy and sooooo delish! My family has declared that the pizza made from this book is the only pizza they will ever eat. This is more than a cookbook. You can read it cover to cover - which I did - and then tab your favorites. I have so many sticky notes sticking out of mine already!

    Teresa has put alot of practical information and research into this book. I found it entertaining, informative and practical. Joe's juicy bits are a hoot! Best of all, this is healthy eating which is delicious - I have never made a dish from a recipe that I did not have to "tweak" somehow - until now. Each recipe is clear and easy - I have followed them to the "T" and would not change a thing.

    I hope Teresa comes out with more recipes - another book - a show on Food Network - LOVE LOVE LOVE HER!!!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    Wonderful

    Easy to read and organized. Recipes require "normal" ingredients. Love it. Thank you.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    love love love it!

    if you're looking for a "diet" book... don't look here... this is not a "diet" book... instead it's way better... this book made me feel like I was sitting across the kitchen table from Teresa having a friendly chat --- it's fun and informal and the recipes are wonderful... Teresa takes you into her home, her life, her family and makes you feel warm and welcome... wish it was in hard-cover because this book is a definite keeper... Hope she writes another one...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    Love Love Love it!

    Just finished reading this book.....yea I said READ. Imagine that a cookbook you can actually read! I have loads of pages flagged and can't wait to start cooking. The recipes list normal ingredients and not complicated. I love how Teresa talks to you like a your girlfriend and explains olive oil, spices, and herbs for all us everyday cooks. I love her straight-from-the hip language it's written it too. Thanks Teresa!! And who cares if you flip a table or two.....La Bella Vita!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love It

    I'll admit I have not made any of the recipes yet but I'm Italian, my mom was a fabulous Italian cook, love collecting different Italian recipes, love Teresa & the Housewives and I grew up in Paterson NJ :)

    What I see so far looks wonderful. Good job Teresa!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth every penny ~ My new fav!!!

    I got this book yesterday! It's soooo beautiful. When I saw it online I was disappointed about it being paperback, but it's so gorgeous and glossy and substantial ~ worth every penny!! I can't put it down....Also, if you're a die hard Real Housewives of New Jersey fan, the "Juicy Bit from Joe" on page 69 is worth the entire purchase! I have an extensive collection of books on Italian culture and cooking, especially in the southern style, and this is up there with my best! Everytime I pick it up I find a new favorite page! You'll love it!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Impressed!

    I took the chance in buying this and I'm glad I did! Just came back from Italy for the third time and wanted to start learning the Italian way. Boy, did I learn a lot from this book! Great, simple recipes and an emphasis on REAL food and ingredients. Great job, Teresa. Now start being nicer on your show:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Skinny Italian love it

    I could not wait for this book to come out. I have never watched the The Real Housewives of New Jeresy. I did not know much about Teresa Giudice until I got Skinny Italian. I was so happy because who doesnt love Italian food. I am glad that this book came out. Teresa is like a good friend making you laugh and also teaching you how to make healthy meals. The book includes tips from Mrs. Giudice. Also lovely pictures of her and her family. The recipes are yummy and good for you. Some of my favorites are zucchini spaghetti salad, and arrabbiata, the angry sauce with penne and gorgeous garlic shrimp. One of my favorites is the chicken breast with lemony thyme marinade. I decided to add one more garlic and a touch of white wine. Anyone who loves Italian food and wants to maintain or lose weight pick this book up. Enjoy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Love, love, love

    Every recipe is FANTASTIC, easy and you NEVER feel like you are dieting...the whole family eats healthy and stays happyM

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2011

    I cant believe I'm giving this 5 stars but it deserves it!

    I was a bit of a skeptic when it came to how helpful this book might be but I am so glad I downloaded it onto my iPad. First of all, the tips are amazing; everything from how to properly cook pasta to how to buy olive oil. She makes a few good points in the book about how American Italian is really fatty but true Italian cooking is simple and largely healthy. I really enjoyed the little sidebars from Teresa's husband Joe. Its very cute. I tried the most simple recipe first and guess what? It was a HUGE success. My husband, raised and fed all his life by his Italian mama, couldnt believe I only used 4 ingredients. He was in love. Being of British stock, I'm always looking for ways to cook as well as his mother and I think with this book I am on the way to being able to cook well with a healthy lean. A must have for sure.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2010

    LOVE IT!!!!!! The BEST!!!

    What can I say , i have been waiting for a cook book that has fantastic meals for me and my family. Theresa U nailed it. I just bought this cook book a week ago and made 2 meals. Perfect!!!!!!! We love the food. You will enjoy these meals. MY child was so picky eating her food and for some reason she loves all the food that I made her in Skinny Italian. Cant wait for her nxt cook book!

    Samantha Cardona

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2010

    Great Book

    I browsed thru the book in B&N and found it to be everything I expected. The recipes are simple and the food is good even though it is not laden with lots of fat...I appreciated the olive oil buying tips and all the short stories about their life...I am buying 2 more as Christmas gifts...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Yes. This Book IS a Keeper!

    First off, I was skeptical about this book. I thought "Oh NOOOO..not another Bethenny" Also, with that moronic Kate Gosselin and HER books, I had an eye-roll moment when I first heard about Teresa Guidice's book.

    Was I wrong! Teresa has the right idea about food. No processed food, watch the portions, keep it simple! All the recipes in this book are simple. They are easy. Healthy. Non-processed. Would I call this a diet book? No..if you are thinking this is a weight-loss wonder, it isn't. What it IS, is a way of healthy-european-style eating.

    Great little cooking tips and great little reads along the way.

    I can guarantee that this book is going to be dog-earred, sauce splattered and in good use.

    Honestly, if you are looking for a very simple, family-friendly and healthy book, please buy this. Am looking forward to her next book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Love this book & Love Teresa!

    Love this book, love the dialog and the general flow of the book, not just recipes but lots of tips! And the recipe for the BEST pizza crust is in this book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I don't usually review anything, however this cookbook is awesome! My husband is Italian and he says that this is authentic italian food. I think the recipies are simple, inexpensive and delicious! I have recommended this book to many of my friends!! I absolutely love it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Great Book !!!

    I really was surprised with Teresa's cook book. It certainly is NOT just another Italian Cook Book. The recipes are simple, healthy & delicious. I really enjoyed reading about her love & respect for her family. She really makes one proud to be an Italian.

    I really have never watched her reality show until recently & I want to be clear that I am not a star struck fan of reality shows in general. I learned more about this woman from her book than I could ever from her show.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Loved it!!!

    I loved this cook book. I am Italian also and have found some wonderful ideas in this book. I love Teresa and her whole family..
    Ciao!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    LOVE IT LIVE IT LOVE IT

    I love it every single page absolutely worth every penny, cant wait until the next one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3