Customer Reviews for

Skios: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Incredibly inane! One star overrates this discombobulated cascad

    Incredibly inane! One star overrates this discombobulated cascade of coincidences, most of which are absurd. The author also needs to approach at least the end of the 20th Century: why would a world reknown "scientist" (with an able personal assistant to boot) go around clutching to his repeatedly repeddled lecture on sheets of paper, modified according to location, in this age of laptops, flash drives and other means of storage, or, why would a most efficient administrator confuse the apparently (widely cited on the web) elderly visage of a scientist with young playboy with blonde locks? Most other characters are not more than sad caricatures, some approaching stereotyping... Not worth spending your money; I wasted mine...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Implausibility taken to the extreme

    This book starts out as a great light read. A series of unlikely events places several characters in interesting situations. The characters, absent much development, are then faced with an ever-compounding series of ever more unlikely events. Its all a bit much.

    There are a few pleasantly comic moments, but how this book made the Booker long list is beyond me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    Cute summer read

    I am not a laugh out loud person, but Skios had me laughing throughout. There were a few holes in the premise, but after the first few pages, I didn't care. It was a farce. A satire of the public speaking circuit, of organizations and people who take themselves too seriously, set on the imaginary Greek Island Skios. If you allow yourself to honestly reflect on your own weaknesses, you will identify with the portrayals of some of the people or organizations, you will laugh with the misadventures of the four primary characters. Grab a pretty drink, smile the next time you feel required to make small talk and enjoy a fun half skip from reality.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe I have high standards, but to get a good review from me in

    Maybe I have high standards, but to get a good review from me in this genre requires at least one laugh out loud moment, plus one I-need-to-put-the-book-down-or-I'll-die episode, and this book didn't have those. (Note, just about anything I've read from Christopher Moore falls into that category.) It brought a few smiles, and story moved well enough, but it just didn't deliver a lot of out-and-out comedic moments.

    The basis of the plot is an identity swap between a pompous academic and a ne'er do well loafer who through a bit of design and a lot of luck switch places. Both attempt to fit in where they end up, with comedic results. It can be taken as a comment on high-class society (or possibly organized crime), but not too sure those who read this genre would be looking for a message on either one.

    Book moves fairly well, the characters are developed enough, and there are some funny spots, just not any REALLY funny spots. Fans of Christopher Moore or Michael Frayn's other works may enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-done Comedy Of Manners

    It's the annual event everyone's been waiting for on the private Greek island of Skios. Nikki, the manager of the prestigious Fred Toppler, has scored a major coup, one that should cement her position as the next Director of the foundation. For the guest lecturer, she has obtained the services of the renowned science management guru, Dr. Norman Wilfred. Rich and famous people are flying in from all over the world, eager to hear the latest nuggets of wisdom from Dr. Wilfred. This will be a major triumph. What could go wrong?

    Unfortunately, almost everything. A mixup at the airport has a charming imposter, Oliver Fox, taking Dr. Wilfred's place. He knows nothing about the subject, but his good looks and ingraiting ways disguise that fact. The real Dr. Wilfred is stuck at the villa Fox was to stay at; no suitcase, no phone, no way to remedy his situation. Oh, and there is a naked woman sunning at the pool. Georgia is Nikki's best friend and as it turns out, Oliver's weekend fling. She has no idea what is going on, or where Fox has gone.

    Michael Frayn has written a comedic tour-de-force. The plotting on a comedy is so difficult. It must be very tight, moving the reader forward on a froth of laughter before they can stop and apply the logic to the situation that makes it unbelievable. Frayn is a master, and the reader is thoroughly entertained, eagerly reading to see what happens next and how the entire situation is resolved. Skios is longlisted this year for the Mann Booker prize and it is easy to see why. This book is recommended for readers ready for an entertaining read that skewers the upper class and academia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Comedy of Errors Dr. Norman Wilfred has flown to Skios to give

    Comedy of Errors

    Dr. Norman Wilfred has flown to Skios to give a distinguished speech to a group of rich academics at the Toppler Foundation. Due to an unfortunate string of coincidences, he is whisked off to a villa while a con artist, Oliver Fox, takes his place at the Toppler gathering. At first blush, this may seem like to be only a farcical comedy of errors. Fun is poked at the distinguished empty-headedness of academia, at silly assumptions people make when they don't have all the information (which, of course, they never do), and at the openness of people to accept whatever is said--as long as it is said by a charismatic person. However, I can see why this book was chosen for the Booker longlist--upon a more careful reading this book has a much deeper undercurrent. It asks questions about identity and about chance Eureka! moments. I found the ease with with Oliver Fox moved into Norman Wilfred's life almost believable because that IS how academia works sometimes. Sometimes, it IS more about how charming you are than about what's actually coming out of your mouth. Sometimes it IS more about your name and about who people think you are than about who you ACTUALLY are. I understand that this book isn't for everybody...but I'm a person who doesn't generally read farcical novels, and I enjoyed this one immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    The first thing I’m going to say is that Skios would make

    The first thing I’m going to say is that Skios would make a pretty funny movie because anything with mistaken identity is funny.

    Dr. Norman Wilfred is going to Skios, a private island on Greece, to give a lecture. On the same flight goes Oliver Fox, kind of a free spirit-modern-hippie who is there for a rendezvous with a married woman. Nikki, in charge of picking the Dr. at the airport picks Oliver instead and that is when the confusion starts.

    The book is funny but not hilarious. I liked the humor and the confusion but at some point became tired of it. Why? God only knows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1