Customer Reviews for

Skios

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Maybe I have high standards, but to get a good review from me in

    Maybe I have high standards, but to get a good review from me in this genre requires at least one laugh out loud moment, plus one I-need-to-put-the-book-down-or-I'll-die episode, and this book didn't have those. (Note, just about anything I've read from Christopher Moore falls into that category.) It brought a few smiles, and story moved well enough, but it just didn't deliver a lot of out-and-out comedic moments.

    The basis of the plot is an identity swap between a pompous academic and a ne'er do well loafer who through a bit of design and a lot of luck switch places. Both attempt to fit in where they end up, with comedic results. It can be taken as a comment on high-class society (or possibly organized crime), but not too sure those who read this genre would be looking for a message on either one.

    Book moves fairly well, the characters are developed enough, and there are some funny spots, just not any REALLY funny spots. Fans of Christopher Moore or Michael Frayn's other works may enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Well-done Comedy Of Manners

    It's the annual event everyone's been waiting for on the private Greek island of Skios. Nikki, the manager of the prestigious Fred Toppler, has scored a major coup, one that should cement her position as the next Director of the foundation. For the guest lecturer, she has obtained the services of the renowned science management guru, Dr. Norman Wilfred. Rich and famous people are flying in from all over the world, eager to hear the latest nuggets of wisdom from Dr. Wilfred. This will be a major triumph. What could go wrong?

    Unfortunately, almost everything. A mixup at the airport has a charming imposter, Oliver Fox, taking Dr. Wilfred's place. He knows nothing about the subject, but his good looks and ingraiting ways disguise that fact. The real Dr. Wilfred is stuck at the villa Fox was to stay at; no suitcase, no phone, no way to remedy his situation. Oh, and there is a naked woman sunning at the pool. Georgia is Nikki's best friend and as it turns out, Oliver's weekend fling. She has no idea what is going on, or where Fox has gone.

    Michael Frayn has written a comedic tour-de-force. The plotting on a comedy is so difficult. It must be very tight, moving the reader forward on a froth of laughter before they can stop and apply the logic to the situation that makes it unbelievable. Frayn is a master, and the reader is thoroughly entertained, eagerly reading to see what happens next and how the entire situation is resolved. Skios is longlisted this year for the Mann Booker prize and it is easy to see why. This book is recommended for readers ready for an entertaining read that skewers the upper class and academia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    The first thing I’m going to say is that Skios would make

    The first thing I’m going to say is that Skios would make a pretty funny movie because anything with mistaken identity is funny.

    Dr. Norman Wilfred is going to Skios, a private island on Greece, to give a lecture. On the same flight goes Oliver Fox, kind of a free spirit-modern-hippie who is there for a rendezvous with a married woman. Nikki, in charge of picking the Dr. at the airport picks Oliver instead and that is when the confusion starts.

    The book is funny but not hilarious. I liked the humor and the confusion but at some point became tired of it. Why? God only knows!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1