BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Skip Rock Shallows

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Loved it!

I liked the idea of this book because it sounded similar to the popular television series Hart f Dixie. It does have some similarities but it is so much ore fulfilling to read this story. It talks about the struggle of a new female doctor as she tries to convince the to...
I liked the idea of this book because it sounded similar to the popular television series Hart f Dixie. It does have some similarities but it is so much ore fulfilling to read this story. It talks about the struggle of a new female doctor as she tries to convince the town she is qualified to practice medicine. This book takes you into a mining town and exposes the dangers for the miners and the strain such an occupation puts on the entire town. Then there is the sweet line of romance that runs through the background and makes you need to know who she chooses.

posted by lighthousequilter on October 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Warriors: Path of the Moon~Prologue

A loud roaring sound filled the air around Falconstar. It filled up his ears and made him deaf to all other sounds, but he kept running. He would keep on running. He would run forever if he had to.
Forever.
The word echoed in his mind, invading his thoughts, b...
A loud roaring sound filled the air around Falconstar. It filled up his ears and made him deaf to all other sounds, but he kept running. He would keep on running. He would run forever if he had to.
Forever.
The word echoed in his mind, invading his thoughts, bringing back memories almost too sorrowful to remember.
Eternalglow. His mate. Gone forever.
No. He would chase after her, even if it meant losing the rest of his nine lives. He would chase after her, no matter how long it took him.

Suddenly Falconstar remembered what the roaring sound was. It hit him like a bolt of lightning. The thunderpath. The monsters.
That was where Eternalglow was headed. She would get killed. Unless he got there. Then he could save her.
But what if she wouldn't let him? The question drifted through Falconstar's head. She hated him. He had killed her kit, though it had not been on purpose. The medicine cat, Redpool, had told him to get the berries for Toadkit.
Berries. That was all Redpool had told him. So he grabbed the first berries he saw. They were stacke neatly in a pile at the end of the den. They were bright red. Falconstar should've known they were deathberries, but in his panic he couldn't seem to rememer anything.
That was why Eternalglow had run away. That was why she was going to be struck by a monster's paws.
Falconstar stopped abruptly at the top of a hill, his golden eyes filled with pure terror. Lying on the thunderpath was a black body with orange tabby markings on the paws and ears. He was too late.
Falconstar ran down. He felt the sharp stones of the thunderpath pierce his pads, but he did not care. His mind was focused on one thing; Eternalglow. He gazed down at his mate, clinging to the small hope that she may still be alive.
Suddenly the roaring filled his ears again. But Falconstar stayed right where he was, and tears shimmered in his eyes. "Oh, Eternalglow..." he whispered.
Suddenly a sharp pain filled his whole body. His eyes closed and he fell to the ground.

Falconstar's eyes fluttered open. The pain was gone, and he smelled the familiar scent of the forest around him. Falconstar relaxed. It must of been a dream. He got up and looked around. His heart lurched. This was not his own home, but StarClan's.
"Welcome, Falconstar." Said a familiar voice.
He whipped around. In front of him was Eternalglow, her pelt glittering with stars. "No..." he whispered. "I cant be dead... I still have 5 lives left!" Falconstar's voice was filled with fear.
"Four." Corrected Eternalglow. "You have only on here to lose one life. You have done it before. And about Toadkit," she added as a speckled brown tom padded up beside her, "Whitefang told me that it was an accident. And now I will take care of him. Now go, your Clan needs you." Slowly his mate faded away, as did the rest of the forest, and he was back in his own den.

posted by Anonymous on October 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    this book started out boring, though i'm not totally finished wi

    this book started out boring, though i'm not totally finished with it.
    the middle started off really great and i'm excited to read the rest.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    This is the first book I have read by Jan Watson but I will be r

    This is the first book I have read by Jan Watson but I will be reading other books by her. This was really good. She did a pretty good job explaining the necessary back story elements for someone not familiiar with the previous books in this series. My interest was definitely picqued to put the other books on my list so I can learn all about Lily and her family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Great series

    I've missed Jan Watson books! So glad to get to revisit one of my favorite characters, Lilly Gray Corbett.

    Lilly is all grown up and is a doctor now, and is at her first "post" in Skip Rock Shallows. Skip Rock is a mining town and therefore injuries are common. Initially she is ostracized and people are suspicious (after all, this is the early 1900's and women doctors are unusual); but after she saves a local's leg and they discover she is the cousin of a prominent family, she is accepted. Throw in some conspiracy and a tiny bit of a love triangle, and we've got a story!

    I enjoyed Skip Rock Shallows and can easily recommend this book (and all of Jan Watson's books, for that matter).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2012

    Coal-miner's Doctor~ good read

    Skip Rock Shallows, Jan Watson's sixth novel (but my first experience with her story-telling), explores coal mining in Kentucky, and the oddity of a female doctor in the world of coal-mining Appalachia in the early 1900's (Or thereabouts).

    The narrative follows Lily Gray Corbett as she serves her internship as an interim doctor for the coal mining community of Skip Rock Shallows while she waits for her beau in Boston to finish his residency at a hospital there. Skip Rock Shallows is a very closed community that is suspicious of almost any newcomer, but even more-so a female doctor~ That is just about unheard of!

    I enjoyed getting to know the people who made up the community of Skip Rock Shallows (especially some of the children and women who are "supporting characters") and learning more about the life of Appalachian coal-miners and their families.

    While some of the character development may require a little bit of reading between the lines (particularly regarding Lily and her beau, Paul), that didn't interfere too much with my enjoyment of the story.

    Skip Rock Shallows is a pleasant, light, summertime read with a variety of interesting medical and historical facts woven in.
    Tyndale House Publishers has provided me with a complimentary copy of this book.I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    LOVE THOSE MOUNTAIN TOWNS!

    In 1908, women doctors were still a rarity and unheard of in small mining towns like Skip Rock, Kentucky. But Lilly Corbett was raised in Breathitt County, so when, upon graduation from medical school, she was offered an internship in Skip Rock, she was eager to go there. Acceptance does not come easily from the mountain people, but with time, the little town feels like home. Unfortunately, her fiance does not understand her feelings. And then, there is the handsome stranger in town, who is harboring secrets. One secret directly concerns Lilly, although she has no idea who he is.

    Although parts of the novel were somewhat predictable, it was a good read. Coming from Kentucky and generations of coal miners, I found this to be particularly interesting. One thing and this is not directed and this particular author, but Kentucky is larger than than just the mountains of Appalachia, but when people write about Kentucky, and especially if there is coal involved, they always write about Eastern Kentucky. I assure you they have mined coal in Western Kentucky for generations. But the novel was very good and the characters were believable. Definitely a 4 star novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Skip Rock Shallows by Jan Watson takes readers into a small coal

    Skip Rock Shallows by Jan Watson takes readers into a small coal town where at first the idea of a lady doctor is rejects. Only after saving a young miner she starts to win there trust but even then it is slow and not all want her there. Though there are many residents who become very fond of her and she of them. Throughout the story Lilly faces many battles and wrestles with what to do with the future. Should she stay in Skip Rock or go home to Boston? Then there is the character from her past, who is he and why is he so familiar. Lilly will not only have to face the future but the past as well but she is one strong lady with a trust in God that will help through all she does. Join Lilly and the cast of characters in this fun novel.

    This book for me was fun to read and I enjoyed meeting all the residents of Skip Rock but the only thing for me was it never fully drew me in. I was easily able to set it down for awhile and come back to it. I am definitely glad I read it and would recommend it to those who love book about lady doctors in a time where that was not common. Overall good job Jan Watson!

    * I received this book through Tyndale for the purpose of this review. My honest opinion was all that was requested. Thank

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    "Skip Rock Shallows" is Jan Watson’s story of a

    "Skip Rock Shallows" is Jan Watson’s story of a woman doctor who arrives at a coal mining town in Kentucky. She’s engaged to a doctor in Boston, but there’s something about the town of Skip Rock Shallows–and more specifically, one of the miners there–that tugs at her heart. Will she stay in Skip Rock or go to Boston to join her fiance? And will she ever be respected by the people of Skip Rock?

    I found this book to be a very enjoyable read. Watson brings the town of Skip Rock to life, along with the coal miners who live there. I just wish I could find more books like this!

    I received a free copy of this book from Tyndale House Publishers in exchange for a review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Fresh out of medical school Lilly accepts an internship in the


    Fresh out of medical school Lilly accepts an internship in the mountains of Kentucky. The people of Skip Rock Shallows are unique, very standoffish and unwilling to accept a lady doctor until a discovery is made and everything changes!

    When Lilly's fiance visits, they work very well together and he's prepared to take her back to Boston with him but Lilly isn't ready to leave the place she's grown so fond of and she certainly can't leave them without a doctor. Something happens between Lilly and a stranger that changes their lives forever.

    There's a bit of everything in this fun story... humor, romance, danger, and Watson has done a good job of capturing the lives of mountain folk. I give this 4 stars.

    I received a copy of this book free from the publisher in exchange for an hoenst review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1