Customer Reviews for

Skipped Parts

Average Rating 3.5
( 345 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(96)

3 Star

(79)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I did not put this book down--literally

I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the st...
I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the store and bought Sorrow Floats. I finished that in twenty hours. READ THIS TRILOGY

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Worst Book EVER!

I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a...
I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a child having a child. Unbelievable.

posted by RetiredSup on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2011

    Don't bother

    Awful.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Fun read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Excellent

    All teens should read this!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Thanks again B & N!

    What a great read! Loved Sam!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not your typical "coming of age" tale.

    Poignant, frightening and thought provoking. Parenting slightly skewed, not exactly "June Cleaver", yet very loving, in her way, Lydia Callahan, is simply a flawed human stumbling through life raising a son, Sam. Through it all Sam is able to survive the twisted guidance and experience very much in a very condensed time period. A 13 year old is positioned as a man in many situations & at times is the mature "adult".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Crazy read!

    Sam and Maurey's story is full of dysfunctional relationships and families. It is a funny read and well worth your time. This book is the first in a series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    Good

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I found myself really drawn to the characters in the book. At first I was put off by the subject, but then started really getting sucked in to the drama. I started feeling for Sam even though this was 180 degrees different from my childhood.

    For one of the first times I found myself wanting to know what happened to the main characters after the end of the book. Does Sam finally get the girl, or does she still rip his heart out?

    Surprisingly good book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2002

    Tim Sandlin

    This is one of the best books i've read in a very, very long time. Every page pulls an emotion out of you in someway, if you're not laughing, you're disgusted. I didn't want for this book to end. Good thing that it's part of a trilogy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Skipped Parts┬┐ a phrase indicating missing elements, whose impor

    Skipped Parts” a phrase indicating missing elements, whose importance is not noticed until well after they are needed, at which time the problem created by said parts being skipped is well established, of near overwhelming mass and cause for potential general panic when the void becomes widely known. For Sam Callahan, the untrustworthy narrator of this often hilarious, then by turn profane, novel, Skipped Parts refers to those moments in the fiction writing of pre-1960’s that are left to the reader’s imagination. For a 13 year-old on the brink of discovering adulthood, those parts are vital, he is curiosity about them boundless, in his pursuit of learning of these things, the fun ensues.  The fun lasts until he learns why those missing parts were so important and why they were needed before he got to this point in life.
    Sam and his mother, Lydia age “less than 30,” have been banished to Jackson Hole, Wyoming. The reason for their exile from Greensboro, N.C., by the hand of his Grandfather, Casper – the Carbon Paper King of America (the year being 1963, carbon paper is still in high demand but the seeds of its demise have been sown by Xerox and IBM) is a mystery to Sam. When the two had been expelled previously, it was always to more “civilized” places; “(Jackson Hole) was a mockery. Mars. Inside a vacuum cleaner bag. (p.10)” The world Sam will see a year from that observation is eons away from those early experiences. In that year he has seen enough to have returned to a safe, familiar home and found it to be enough.
    The book follows Sam on his journey from May ‘63 to June ’64. That year huge changes Sam and the World. Both grow up, losing significant parts of their innocence, getting eyes blackened and their hearts broken, while gaining perspective and, in Sam’s case at least, a family.  In all such journeys, this one is full of pain and discovery. Sam learns that not all things pleasurable bring pleasure and that just because something is difficult doesn’t mean he cannot accomplish it.  
    Much of this learning occurs with Maurey, the Blue-eyed (“eyes like Hitler” p.12) beautiful girl in his class. Lydia and Maurey are cut from the same cloth – smart, rebellious, unafraid, impulsive and mature beyond their abilities.  As much as Sam comes of age in the time the reader spends with him, Lydia grows up. She and Maurey step into their appropriate roles, accepting their choices and embracing the life set before them. Sam often gets dragged into the slip stream of these two juggernauts but managing to stay upright in their wake. 
    Sam, Lydia, Casper, Maurey – everyone – has skipped parts that are of large value in and to life.  While this is a book about children growing up in a far different time it is NOT a book for children. The book ends with the suggestion that what is skipped is vital, it will find a way to be known. May God help us all when those parts reveal themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    What did I just read?

    That was the most disturbing book I've ever read. It keeps you on your toes, but the story is gross. Anyone who enjoyed this is seriously sick

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Just Sad....

    So sad to think some people would find this entertaining... I did finish reading it and really wish I didn't.... Glad it was free.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    HOW CAN THIS BOOK BE TEN BUCKS????

    ?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    Hated this book. I could't finish it. The start was building a p

    Hated this book. I could't finish it. The start was building a picture of a very "odd" mother son relationship. Yuck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Way more than I expected!

    I only read this book because it was "free." Well, I'm looking for more Tim Sandlin books now because I couldn't put this down. I hope his other works live up to this one. Great story from the perspective of a teenage boy. May even rent the movie! Yes, there is a movie based on it. I'm hoping to find a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    SO REAL

    I had this book for over 6 months in my Nook Library and finally opened it. What a fantastic story of simply a hard but true life situation. At times I cried. Most times I just couldn't stop laughing at the picture being painted. The lives involved were so stupid and so real at the same time. Loved all the charactures. I loved the style and the truth of it all. Thanks for a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    Horrible!!!

    I couldn't read past the first two chapters. Didn't make any sense to me and it was very crude writing. Not impressed at all. Thankful it was a Free friday book. But the person who assigns these books apparently didn't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Very Good read!

    I enjoyed the book. It was a little surprising to find out that it was about young children and sex, but the subject was handled well and with humor. The story was compelling and the characters drove the situations. All in all I reccomend Skipped Parts to anyone who likes to remember what it was like to be young. By the way I was raised in Wyoming during that time and all the details fit nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Not what I expected.

    I understand coming of age and dealing with grown-up things before you're ready to deal with them, but 13 is a little too young to deal with sex and teenage pregnancy. I think I would have liked it more had the antagonist been a bit older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    An All-Everything Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It had a little bit of everything in it. Humor, sadness, love, drama, unexpected events, et al. The author did a good job of allowing us to see the world through 13 yr old Sam's eyes. The characters in this book evoke a different emotion in nearly every chapter. It was a very entertaining book and I look forward to reading the other three books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 346 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 18