Customer Reviews for

Skipped Parts

Average Rating 3.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I did not put this book down--literally

I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the st...
I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the store and bought Sorrow Floats. I finished that in twenty hours. READ THIS TRILOGY

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Worst Book EVER!

I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a...
I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a child having a child. Unbelievable.

posted by RetiredSup on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2002

    I did not put this book down--literally

    I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the store and bought Sorrow Floats. I finished that in twenty hours. READ THIS TRILOGY

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    Worst Book EVER!

    I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a child having a child. Unbelievable.

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    I loved it!

    First of all, this is an ADULT book. I thought from reading the description, it might be something my daughter might like. Not unless she's over 18! A lot of sexual situations (teenage sex- minors with minors)
    But since I'm an adult, I thought it was hilarious and parts brought tears to my eyes! I want to read the two follow up books, to find out what happends to Maurey and Sam! I loved it and would recommend to all of the ADULTS out there who would like to read the funny side of growing up, from a 13 yr old boy's perspective!
    Definately recommend this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    strange book

    Though I enjoyed reading this book, the storyline was a bit bizarre. The fact that Sam's mother taught him to have sex and how to satisfy a woman at such an early age was slightly inappropriate, especially if a younger reader picks this up. Perhaps a warning as to what age a person should read this.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Not for me..

    Due to language and overall crudeness, I was unwilling to read beyond the first 10 or so pages. I've discovered enjoyable stories and new authors through the Free Friday program,but alas this wasn't one of them.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    It was great

    Thirteen year old Sam Callahan is smart and curious about the world around him. A bit too curious I'd say. It's not a smart thing to experment with sex because it leads to consiquences. His mother Lydia is a bit over the top with the smoking and drinking and all but she proves her worth. Good book some parts not suitable for children under the eight grade. This book is a very good lesson for almost everyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Funny and made me laugh out loud!

    I liked the story line to this and reminded me of my younger days. Sometimes it was hard to believe the ages of these kids for what they were doing and getting away with. I look forward to reading the other 2 books in the trilogy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    AWESOME!

    It got my attention from the start! It has a lot of interesting plot twists and immerses you into the story of Sam and Maurey. I loved every second of reading it.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2001

    Sandlin is a GEM to discover!

    I highly recommend all of Tim Sandlins wonderfully amusing books. He has a style that is a charming and refreshing break from the norm.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended

    Tim Sandlin is by far my favorite author, I own every book he has ever written...you can't go wrong with this author.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Way over the top trash--don't bother.

    I couldn't get passed the first couple chapters--author finds a way to be as raunchy and disgusting as possible with his teenage protagonist. There was no need for this trash. Don't. waste your time

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Weird

    I skipped parts and skipped ahead on this one. A bit too x rated for me. And I thought it to be completely unbelievable. However, it was well written with a few chuckles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    No, No, No!

    A mother teaching her 13 year old son how to have sex with a 13 year old girl who gets pregnant! That is sooo wrong! Im not a prude and a good romance or coming to age story is fun... But NOT 13 year olds! This was a "free book Friday book". I'm glad it was free... now I'm deleting it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Couldn't get into it

    I could only read a few pages. It just did not make any sense.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Skip It

    Didn't make it a third of the way through. The basic storyline might have been interesting, but I'm not into adolescent sex scenes. Deserve 0 stars.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    Dull and boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    This book is mean

    This book has evil elephants in it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    great story!

    I thoroughly enjoyed this story - it seemed so realistic to a possible teenage experience.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    looks good

    haven't read yet

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A GREAT read!

    While not a book for the squeamish or those who tend to be judgmental about the morals of others (even fictional characters), the rest of us can find in Skipped Parts a graphic depiction of what it like to be a 13 year old boy from North Carolina who has been banished to Wyoming. A "coming of age" story of epic proportion.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 344 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18