Customer Reviews for

Skipped Parts

Average Rating 3.5
( 343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(78)

2 Star

(43)

1 Star

(51)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

I did not put this book down--literally

I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the st...
I picked up Skipped Parts by accident and I finished it in twenty four hours. I read the last two pages at the red light in front of my house and glanced at the about the author to my utmost exitement i learned it was a trilogy i skipped class and headed right to the store and bought Sorrow Floats. I finished that in twenty hours. READ THIS TRILOGY

posted by Anonymous on November 28, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Worst Book EVER!

I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a...
I cannot understand how anyone could find anything redeeming about this book. How an author could write about an inmature mother encouraging two 13 year olds on how to have sex is beyond my comprehension - and to top it off with the girl getting pregnant - now that is a child having a child. Unbelievable.

posted by RetiredSup on December 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    I loved it!

    First of all, this is an ADULT book. I thought from reading the description, it might be something my daughter might like. Not unless she's over 18! A lot of sexual situations (teenage sex- minors with minors)
    But since I'm an adult, I thought it was hilarious and parts brought tears to my eyes! I want to read the two follow up books, to find out what happends to Maurey and Sam! I loved it and would recommend to all of the ADULTS out there who would like to read the funny side of growing up, from a 13 yr old boy's perspective!
    Definately recommend this book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    It was great

    Thirteen year old Sam Callahan is smart and curious about the world around him. A bit too curious I'd say. It's not a smart thing to experment with sex because it leads to consiquences. His mother Lydia is a bit over the top with the smoking and drinking and all but she proves her worth. Good book some parts not suitable for children under the eight grade. This book is a very good lesson for almost everyone.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Funny and made me laugh out loud!

    I liked the story line to this and reminded me of my younger days. Sometimes it was hard to believe the ages of these kids for what they were doing and getting away with. I look forward to reading the other 2 books in the trilogy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Fun read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Not your typical "coming of age" tale.

    Poignant, frightening and thought provoking. Parenting slightly skewed, not exactly "June Cleaver", yet very loving, in her way, Lydia Callahan, is simply a flawed human stumbling through life raising a son, Sam. Through it all Sam is able to survive the twisted guidance and experience very much in a very condensed time period. A 13 year old is positioned as a man in many situations & at times is the mature "adult".

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2012

    Very Good read!

    I enjoyed the book. It was a little surprising to find out that it was about young children and sex, but the subject was handled well and with humor. The story was compelling and the characters drove the situations. All in all I reccomend Skipped Parts to anyone who likes to remember what it was like to be young. By the way I was raised in Wyoming during that time and all the details fit nicely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    An All-Everything Book

    I really enjoyed reading this book. It had a little bit of everything in it. Humor, sadness, love, drama, unexpected events, et al. The author did a good job of allowing us to see the world through 13 yr old Sam's eyes. The characters in this book evoke a different emotion in nearly every chapter. It was a very entertaining book and I look forward to reading the other three books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2012

    Coming of Age Novel for ADULTS

    I found this story about an adolescent boy and his mom somewhat shocking at times. Set in the 1960s, Sam and his mom are banished by Sam's grandfather who was not equipped to raise her rebellious daughter and her unplanned son. They are a dysfunctional pair. Sam is more the adult than his mother, who is fighting her own demons through alcohol, drugs and men. The story is told through Sam's eyes. He meets girl and falls in love for the first time, but she only wants to be friends. The kids go to Sam's mom for advice about sex. Her advice leads to the two children to another unplanned pregnancy. I found myself rooting for all the characters to find a way through their personal turmoil, while being completely appalled at their behavior. I do not recommend this for teens.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    Great read!

    Loved this book from beginning to end. Loved the development of the main characters loss of innocence. Cant wait to read another one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Coming of age on steroids

    A little weird, but a great red

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    I recommend this book.

    I't is quarky read. Nothing conservative about Tim Sandlin. I've read some of his earlier books and I really liked them. So Skipped Parts was no surprise. I like reading books that take place in small western towns. A lot of unusual people in those small towns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Very good!

    Kinda racey sometimes but a very interesting perspective on growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Coming of age alone

    Sam leads a life almost completely independent of his mother while his mother leads a life almost completely independent of reality. Because of his mother's alcoholism and irresponsibility, Sam is forced to make his own way through his puberty with no moral compass and little if no guidance. This is a book that will really make you appreciate the family you have despite all their flaws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly enterataining

    I found this well written and entertaining with many laugh out loud moments! The writer has a great grasp on his subject matter and great writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Well written

    Although not my cup of tea book was very well wrtten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2012

    Definatly worth Reading

    The story takes a bit to develop but once it does it captures the readers interest. It is a bit risque and won't appeal to everyone, but to those of us that grew up in small towns in the early 60's it was a time machine back to those days of teen innocence and curiousity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Great Read!!

    Loved the book!! Was happy to see that it was one of a few in a series -- I would like to get to know the characters better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Very good

    Once I got into it I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Different, but in a good way :)

    This book caught me off guard with all the open honesty between the adult characters and children characters. It was kind of shocking at times and made me laugh at other times. Over all I thoroughly enjoyed the story and would recommend it to anyone with an open mind :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5