Customer Reviews for

Skipping Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

lighthearted entertaining reprint

After celebrating Christmas for years with their daughter, Luther and Nora Krank decide a holiday change is what they ought to do while their offspring is serving in South America with the Peace Corps. Neither of the Kranks particularly enjoys the holidays due to crass...
After celebrating Christmas for years with their daughter, Luther and Nora Krank decide a holiday change is what they ought to do while their offspring is serving in South America with the Peace Corps. Neither of the Kranks particularly enjoys the holidays due to crassness and the frenzies of late shopping amidst a horde. They agree to Skipping Christmas this year by going on ten day cruise with the money they didn't spend on the holiday.

They ignore charities and their neighbors who insist the lights and Frosty must go up. This year, they will be dining on a luxury ship rather than hosting a gala as they have done for years. However, the Kranks are about to learn an American lesson when it comes to Skipping Christmas as plans of mice and bah humbugs often go astray in late December.

This is a lighthearted entertaining reprint of John Grisham's satirizing a capitalist Christmas. The story line is fun, but not anywhere near the excitement of the author's legal thrillers. Still with a eggnog nod to It's A Wonderful Life, fans who enjoy a warm holiday stocking yarn will want to learn how hard it is to simply skip Christmas.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skipping Christmas

This is the 3rd year I've read this book and I'm still not tired of it. Skipping Christmas is a light, quick read that always reaffirms my love for the holiday and reminds me not to take it too seriously.


Now normally I don't read this book and come away with and m...
This is the 3rd year I've read this book and I'm still not tired of it. Skipping Christmas is a light, quick read that always reaffirms my love for the holiday and reminds me not to take it too seriously.


Now normally I don't read this book and come away with and moral questions about the meaning of Christmas and I'm still not doing that, but one question that does come to mind is, would a family who makes this decision really get ridiculed by their friends and neighbors this much? Now I live in the city, not the suburbs, and I'm almost positive that a family going on a cruise for Christmas would be envied not looked down upon. Maybe it's different in the suburbs or small towns. Maybe the neighbors there really would harasses and condemn someone wanting to take it easy a particular year. I hope that's not the case but I could easily see it happening.


As much as I love the book I still haven't seen the movie version, Christmas With the Kranks, and probably will not any time soon. While I love Jaime Lee Curtis, Tim Allen is not one of my favorites and I tend to get annoyed when I see him on screen. There are a lot of you out there that love this movie though and I'm sure I would as well if someone else were in it.

posted by Ryan_G on December 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    lighthearted entertaining reprint

    After celebrating Christmas for years with their daughter, Luther and Nora Krank decide a holiday change is what they ought to do while their offspring is serving in South America with the Peace Corps. Neither of the Kranks particularly enjoys the holidays due to crassness and the frenzies of late shopping amidst a horde. They agree to Skipping Christmas this year by going on ten day cruise with the money they didn't spend on the holiday.

    They ignore charities and their neighbors who insist the lights and Frosty must go up. This year, they will be dining on a luxury ship rather than hosting a gala as they have done for years. However, the Kranks are about to learn an American lesson when it comes to Skipping Christmas as plans of mice and bah humbugs often go astray in late December.

    This is a lighthearted entertaining reprint of John Grisham's satirizing a capitalist Christmas. The story line is fun, but not anywhere near the excitement of the author's legal thrillers. Still with a eggnog nod to It's A Wonderful Life, fans who enjoy a warm holiday stocking yarn will want to learn how hard it is to simply skip Christmas.

    Harriet Klausner

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    A delightful read!

    If you want to get away from the holiday rush and have a smile or two pick up John Grisham's newest book 'Skipping Christmas'. I loved it and had it read in no time at all. Happy hoidays to all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Wonderful Christmas Read!

    I loved this book and the movie, Christmas with the Kranks! I would highly recommend both. The book is better than the normal hokey Christmas books and has several delightful twists and turns. My husband and I could truly relate. We have one child, a daughter. We have gone through the empty nest syndrome. We have had to adjust our holidays around different family scenarios through the years. One year, we made a decision to fly to Orlando before Thanksgiving and spent Thanksgiving day at Disney World! We felt the pangs of guilt being away from family and friends...even though it was very enjoyable being in Orlando in November and taking a cruise a week later. This is a great book! I have read almost all of John Grisham's books and appreciate this one even though it is totally different from his normal style of writing. Thank you for a treasure!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Skipping Christmas

    This is the 3rd year I've read this book and I'm still not tired of it. Skipping Christmas is a light, quick read that always reaffirms my love for the holiday and reminds me not to take it too seriously.


    Now normally I don't read this book and come away with and moral questions about the meaning of Christmas and I'm still not doing that, but one question that does come to mind is, would a family who makes this decision really get ridiculed by their friends and neighbors this much? Now I live in the city, not the suburbs, and I'm almost positive that a family going on a cruise for Christmas would be envied not looked down upon. Maybe it's different in the suburbs or small towns. Maybe the neighbors there really would harasses and condemn someone wanting to take it easy a particular year. I hope that's not the case but I could easily see it happening.


    As much as I love the book I still haven't seen the movie version, Christmas With the Kranks, and probably will not any time soon. While I love Jaime Lee Curtis, Tim Allen is not one of my favorites and I tend to get annoyed when I see him on screen. There are a lot of you out there that love this movie though and I'm sure I would as well if someone else were in it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    silly and comical...

    Skipping Christmas is a fun little Christmas tale surrounding the Krank family and their attempts to forgo the holidays for a tropical cruise. After Thanksgiving, Luther and Nora Krank's only daughter joins the Peace Corp and is off to Peru for a year. The holidays just won't be the same without her. Luther, an accountant, sees that last Christmas they spent over $6,000 on the annual party, tree, gifts, cards and everything else that encompasses the Krank family Christmas. He and Nora decide to forgo everything related to the holiday and instead leave on Christmas day for a 10 day cruise in the tropics. If only it were that easy! The neighbors harass them to put up the decorations so the street can win the neighborhood Christmas contest. The Fire and Police Departments want to sell them their annual calenders and fruitcakes. Everybody is talking about them behind their backs and calling them Scrooges. Then on Christmas Eve, their daughter calls from Miami and is coming home for Christmas! The Kranks then have about 10 hours to figure out how to acquire a tree, string the lights, hang the decorations, get a turkey, plan a party and buy gifts. Mayhem, chaos and laughs ensue. Skipping Christmas is entertaining, amusing, and at times a little over the top. Although this book is silly and comical, the ending is truly heartwarming.<BR/><BR/>As a side note: Skipping Christmas was made into a movie called Christmas with the Kranks starring Tim Allen, Jamie Lee Curtis and Dan Aykroyd.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    WAS VERY FUNNY KEPT ME LAUGHING AND THINKING THE SAME THOUGHTS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Holiday Tradition...

    I read this book and watch the movie version called "Christmas with the the Kranks" ever year right after Thanksgiving. This book gets me into the holiday spirit because it reminds me how important family is!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2008

    Good Chritmas Book

    The title of this book is Skipping Christmas by John Grisham. I recommend the book to the readers who like to read books based on holidays. Its a very well written book, Mr. Grisham gives the reader a sense of how hectic but also how joyful the Christmas season is. Characters in the book include Blair Krank, who is not a main character in the book, but changes the plot of the story dramatically from the beginning to when she makes another appearance in the end. Mr. Krank,who is Blair's father, he is a businessman who is fed up with the hectic routine of every Christmas. Mrs. Krank, who is Blair's mother, she is the tradition keeper of the family,she doesn't like all the hectic mess of Christmas but loves the parties, decorations, traditions and the family gatherings of Christmas. The setting of the book is Hemlock Street. The people of Hemlock loved the Christmas traditions. Every year the street of Hemlock would compete against other streets for the most decorated street. They did the same thing year after year of putting hundreds of lights up and an identical Frost the Snowman on every roof of the houses. No one had ever broken this tradition on Hemlock until the Kranks did. Blair who was in her early 20's had just graduated off of college, a friend of hers and joined the Peace Corps who was stationed in Peru. So, she wanted to join her friend there, so she took a flight to Peru, which left Mr. and Mrs. Krank in disbelief and tears. Days after Blair left, Mr. Krank ran into a travel agent who convinced Mr. Krank into leaving the Christmas tradition behing and take a boat trip to the Caribbeans. Mr. Krank then told his wife about his plan and soon after she was also convince, but would the rest of Hemlock agree with their decision. As the year got closer to Christmas Day, Mr. Krank got more in depth with his plan by getting tan sessions for him and his wife and saving money. Which meant no celebrating of Christmas whatsoever. No decorations, presents, Frosty, which added up to Hemlock not being able to win since not all the houses were decorated. This action fill Hemlock with confusion, especially from the neighborhood's most active resident, Vic Frohmeyer. He was the man behind the idea of Frosty and almost everything about Christmas on Hemlock. All the neighbors questioned the Kranks for their actions. Since Blair was gone, what was the point of celebrating Christmas, for this one year, it was all about Mr. and Mrs. Krank treating themselves. Christmas Eve came around and they were starting to pack for their trip when they got the most dramatic news. To find out the news they got you will have to read the book. You will not be disappointed if you read the book. It was a very good and truthful book about the traditions of Christmas.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Most of us can┬┐t help avoiding the yearly Christmas frenzy. Alt

    Most of us can’t help avoiding the yearly Christmas frenzy. Although we dream about coming into the holiday season with calm serenity, invariably we are caught up in the endless sea of parties, Christmas shopping, gift wrapping, and decorating. What if our dreams for a quiet holiday actually became a reality?
    That’s what happens to Luther and Nora Krank. After sending their daughter, Blair, off to the Peace Corps, the couple realizes there is no longer the need to put on a big Christmas extravaganza! They refuse to put up a Christmas tree and theirs is the only house on Hemlock Street without a lighted plastic snowman precariously clinging to the front of their chimney. This year, there will be no Christmas Eve party at the Krank household, either. Even buying gifts is put on the back burner. In place of their typical Christmas traditions, Luther books a Caribbean cruise for his wife and himself.
    However, the Kranks’ plans suddenly go awry when Blair surprises her parents by returning to the states – and with a fiancé doctor in tow, too! Frantically, Nora Krank attempts to assemble a delicious Christmas dinner out of basically nothing and manages to come up with little better than smoked trout. Luther pleads with his neighbor to borrow their Christmas tree while they’re out of town and nearly slides off the roof attempting to wrestle the plastic Frosty onto his slippery roof.
    Nevertheless, the true Christmas spirit is revealed when Luther decides to donate the tickets for their Christmas cruise to his neighbor and wife, who is dying of cancer. Despite their differences, the Kranks’ neighbors ban together to help assemble a Christmas Blair will be proud of.
    We are a part of our traditions and they define us in a thousand tiny ways. In shedding them, we lose a little of ourselves. By celebrating and remembering them, however, we achieve everything we ever wanted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My all time favorite book! So funny and I really connected since

    My all time favorite book! So funny and I really connected since I have often wanted to skip Christmas myself. Grisham does take the traditions to the extreme but that only makes the book funnier! I never tire of reading it.....December or July!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Grishan just having fun

    Fun time and a good read. Nothing to strain your intellect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    a must read..every christmas season

    this book is a short book and easy reading...it is soooo funny and the author makes a good point about commercialism at christmas time.
    we, in our family, have joked many times about forgetting the traditional christmas and going skiing or something...again..this is a must read book..i enjoyed it thoroughly as i am a 'John Grisham'
    fan anyway.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A humorous story with a serious theme. Perfect to read during the time of holiday stress.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    One of my all time faves!

    Love this book! Will have you laughing out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Gets you in the christmas spirit...

    Awesome read, never gets boring. One of the best christmas books I have ever put my hands on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We love this book!

    I read this book years ago and laughed all the way through it. I now read it with my kids. They think it is hillarious. What a great reminder of what is really important about Christmas.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read for the holidays!

    Every Christmas season I try to read a Christmas novel of some sort. There are a lot of very heart wrenching stories out there...I pass those up. Christmas to me is a time of optimism, faith, love, thoughtfulness but also just plain fun. I read this novel by Mr. Grisham when it first came out and I loved it. It is just hilarious but it also has a very good sense of Christmas - love for family and thoughtfulness of others. I plan on reading it again soon. Please Mr. Grisham write another great story like this. You have a talent for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wacky, Very Funny!

    While reading this book I laughed out loud more then once. I laughed so hard at one point in the book I cried.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    "Skipping Christmas" is a must read for the Holiday!

    This is an excellent book. Similar to the movie but much better! I'm a slow reader and I was able to finish this in a day. Definitely addictive! So many "situations" to deal with. And you thought that planning a family get together was hard. Try going through what this family does! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    FUNNY !! Loved it !

    Funny, fresh, easy to read, lighthearted, laughed from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 376 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19