Customer Reviews for

Skipping Christmas

Average Rating 4
( 376 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(186)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(27)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

lighthearted entertaining reprint

After celebrating Christmas for years with their daughter, Luther and Nora Krank decide a holiday change is what they ought to do while their offspring is serving in South America with the Peace Corps. Neither of the Kranks particularly enjoys the holidays due to crass...
After celebrating Christmas for years with their daughter, Luther and Nora Krank decide a holiday change is what they ought to do while their offspring is serving in South America with the Peace Corps. Neither of the Kranks particularly enjoys the holidays due to crassness and the frenzies of late shopping amidst a horde. They agree to Skipping Christmas this year by going on ten day cruise with the money they didn't spend on the holiday.

They ignore charities and their neighbors who insist the lights and Frosty must go up. This year, they will be dining on a luxury ship rather than hosting a gala as they have done for years. However, the Kranks are about to learn an American lesson when it comes to Skipping Christmas as plans of mice and bah humbugs often go astray in late December.

This is a lighthearted entertaining reprint of John Grisham's satirizing a capitalist Christmas. The story line is fun, but not anywhere near the excitement of the author's legal thrillers. Still with a eggnog nod to It's A Wonderful Life, fans who enjoy a warm holiday stocking yarn will want to learn how hard it is to simply skip Christmas.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Skipping Christmas

This is the 3rd year I've read this book and I'm still not tired of it. Skipping Christmas is a light, quick read that always reaffirms my love for the holiday and reminds me not to take it too seriously.


Now normally I don't read this book and come away with and m...
This is the 3rd year I've read this book and I'm still not tired of it. Skipping Christmas is a light, quick read that always reaffirms my love for the holiday and reminds me not to take it too seriously.


Now normally I don't read this book and come away with and moral questions about the meaning of Christmas and I'm still not doing that, but one question that does come to mind is, would a family who makes this decision really get ridiculed by their friends and neighbors this much? Now I live in the city, not the suburbs, and I'm almost positive that a family going on a cruise for Christmas would be envied not looked down upon. Maybe it's different in the suburbs or small towns. Maybe the neighbors there really would harasses and condemn someone wanting to take it easy a particular year. I hope that's not the case but I could easily see it happening.


As much as I love the book I still haven't seen the movie version, Christmas With the Kranks, and probably will not any time soon. While I love Jaime Lee Curtis, Tim Allen is not one of my favorites and I tend to get annoyed when I see him on screen. There are a lot of you out there that love this movie though and I'm sure I would as well if someone else were in it.

posted by Ryan_G on December 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    A delightful read!

    If you want to get away from the holiday rush and have a smile or two pick up John Grisham's newest book 'Skipping Christmas'. I loved it and had it read in no time at all. Happy hoidays to all.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2012

    Wonderful Christmas Read!

    I loved this book and the movie, Christmas with the Kranks! I would highly recommend both. The book is better than the normal hokey Christmas books and has several delightful twists and turns. My husband and I could truly relate. We have one child, a daughter. We have gone through the empty nest syndrome. We have had to adjust our holidays around different family scenarios through the years. One year, we made a decision to fly to Orlando before Thanksgiving and spent Thanksgiving day at Disney World! We felt the pangs of guilt being away from family and friends...even though it was very enjoyable being in Orlando in November and taking a cruise a week later. This is a great book! I have read almost all of John Grisham's books and appreciate this one even though it is totally different from his normal style of writing. Thank you for a treasure!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    WAS VERY FUNNY KEPT ME LAUGHING AND THINKING THE SAME THOUGHTS

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Holiday Tradition...

    I read this book and watch the movie version called "Christmas with the the Kranks" ever year right after Thanksgiving. This book gets me into the holiday spirit because it reminds me how important family is!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Most of us can┬┐t help avoiding the yearly Christmas frenzy. Alt

    Most of us can’t help avoiding the yearly Christmas frenzy. Although we dream about coming into the holiday season with calm serenity, invariably we are caught up in the endless sea of parties, Christmas shopping, gift wrapping, and decorating. What if our dreams for a quiet holiday actually became a reality?
    That’s what happens to Luther and Nora Krank. After sending their daughter, Blair, off to the Peace Corps, the couple realizes there is no longer the need to put on a big Christmas extravaganza! They refuse to put up a Christmas tree and theirs is the only house on Hemlock Street without a lighted plastic snowman precariously clinging to the front of their chimney. This year, there will be no Christmas Eve party at the Krank household, either. Even buying gifts is put on the back burner. In place of their typical Christmas traditions, Luther books a Caribbean cruise for his wife and himself.
    However, the Kranks’ plans suddenly go awry when Blair surprises her parents by returning to the states – and with a fiancé doctor in tow, too! Frantically, Nora Krank attempts to assemble a delicious Christmas dinner out of basically nothing and manages to come up with little better than smoked trout. Luther pleads with his neighbor to borrow their Christmas tree while they’re out of town and nearly slides off the roof attempting to wrestle the plastic Frosty onto his slippery roof.
    Nevertheless, the true Christmas spirit is revealed when Luther decides to donate the tickets for their Christmas cruise to his neighbor and wife, who is dying of cancer. Despite their differences, the Kranks’ neighbors ban together to help assemble a Christmas Blair will be proud of.
    We are a part of our traditions and they define us in a thousand tiny ways. In shedding them, we lose a little of ourselves. By celebrating and remembering them, however, we achieve everything we ever wanted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My all time favorite book! So funny and I really connected since

    My all time favorite book! So funny and I really connected since I have often wanted to skip Christmas myself. Grisham does take the traditions to the extreme but that only makes the book funnier! I never tire of reading it.....December or July!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Grishan just having fun

    Fun time and a good read. Nothing to strain your intellect.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    A humorous story with a serious theme. Perfect to read during the time of holiday stress.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    One of my all time faves!

    Love this book! Will have you laughing out loud!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Gets you in the christmas spirit...

    Awesome read, never gets boring. One of the best christmas books I have ever put my hands on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great read for the holidays!

    Every Christmas season I try to read a Christmas novel of some sort. There are a lot of very heart wrenching stories out there...I pass those up. Christmas to me is a time of optimism, faith, love, thoughtfulness but also just plain fun. I read this novel by Mr. Grisham when it first came out and I loved it. It is just hilarious but it also has a very good sense of Christmas - love for family and thoughtfulness of others. I plan on reading it again soon. Please Mr. Grisham write another great story like this. You have a talent for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Wacky, Very Funny!

    While reading this book I laughed out loud more then once. I laughed so hard at one point in the book I cried.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    "Skipping Christmas" is a must read for the Holiday!

    This is an excellent book. Similar to the movie but much better! I'm a slow reader and I was able to finish this in a day. Definitely addictive! So many "situations" to deal with. And you thought that planning a family get together was hard. Try going through what this family does! A must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    FUNNY !! Loved it !

    Funny, fresh, easy to read, lighthearted, laughed from start to finish.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2007

    A Book Worth Sharing

    I read this book and fell in love with it. I am only 14 but I know a good book when I see one. I can also relate to this book because my father always talks about skippping christmas or doing Christmas a week later to avoid the high prices of things. This book is truely a work of art, that should be shared with people over the holidays, for a little laughs and the true spirit of Christmas. If you're looking for a little Christmas cheer to pass on, stop and try this book. I just know you'll fall in love with it too. Merry Christmas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Entertaining

    This was a great book and a quick read. After reading the book, I'm not so sure I want to see the movie¿I¿m afraid it will change the book for me! I now plan to read this book every Christmas. I didn't expect this from Grisham but change is good every now and then and he did very well on this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    Wonderful Book

    Out of all the books written by John Grisham, this is by far one of my favorites. This book made me think of my upcoming Christmas holiday and compare it to the life of the Kranks. How wonderful would it be to just skip the rush for one year? Take a nice break from the shopping, parties, and other nonsense. Then return from a nice warm beach to continue your life like nothing special had happened. The characters from the book reminded me so much of my crazy family. Come to think of it, not to much longer and I'll be gone from home just like the Krank's daughter. Hope my parents don¿t go to a beach without me! Even though this book has nothing to do with law like most of Grisham's books, it is a definite 'have to read' book. If you have seen the movie, the book is way better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    A Truly Funny And Great Book!

    Luther and Nora Krank live on a street where community and tradition are important. When their daughter Blair leaves for Peru and won't be back until next Christmas, Luther starts to calculate how much the family spent last Christmas. Luther calculates that they spent $6000 last Christmas for gifts, charities, ect. Luther books Nora and himself for a 10 day cruise. The neighbors are outraged because Luther refuses to give to any charities, buy any gifts, or have the Kranks Annual Christmas Party, and most importantly put up the neighborhood's decoration Frosty. On Christmas Eve, Blair calls up and says that she and her fiance' are coming home for Christmas, Nora and Luther about go crazy because they have 12 hours to plan a party, cook food and prepare everything. The neighbors decide to help and when Blair comes home her and her fiance never would have guessed that the most chaotic day in their neighborhood was that day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2005

    FAVORITE ALL-TIME BOOK!

    I really loved this book! It seems like it would be for adults, but I am much much much younger than an adult(email me in case you want to know a specific age). The book is wayy better than the movie, but you should see both! I couldn't put it down! Buy this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2005

    WOW THIS IS A GOOD BOOK

    Do you ever get tierd of the holidays.Wise you could just skip it for a year and go on a cruise to the caribbean.Well if you do than this is a book for you, or if you love the holidays this is still a good book to read. You well not be abel to put this book down.Luther and his wif Nora decide to skip christmasand go on a caribbean cruise because there daughter Blair is going to eastern Peru for the holidays. There world gets turned up side down when they fined out that Blair is coming home for Christmas. Now they have less than a day to get Christmas ready for there daughter and a friend from Peru who has never had Christmas. See if they can do it or will Blair come home to a house that was planning not to have Christmas. This is a wonderful story i could not put it down not even for a second. With some thing happening every 5 minutes to try to pervent Luther from his dream cruise,and Christmas with Blair. It kept me on the end of my seat the whole time. this was by far the best book i have ever read in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 186 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10