Customer Reviews for

Skipping Towards Gomorrah

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Sunningfern...

    Is new medicine cat...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    PROPHACY

    At result 21. By willowpath. Of starclan.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Twistingpool

    Grabs some herbs.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    provocative

    This book can be laugh out loud funny but also chilling in the way that few books I have read are. Trying to commit all the seven deadly sins doesn't seem hard when we take a look at our own culture and the practices within it. This is a great summer reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2003

    An Insightful Look At Morality In American Culture

    While trying to skip away from the seven deadly sins personally, I found the book offers a glimpse into how the American dream and happiness have eroded. While the book doesn't suggest one should embrace the seven deadly sins, it offers a insight into how Americans have used the sins for happiness and gain. It also serves as a barometer on how the moralistic and valuistic core of the American culture has drifted (perhaps even collapsed entirely). No wonder the Muslim countries see America as the great satan. Even with the book portraying an amusing side, there is a deep and dark message as an undercurrent. Skipping toward Gomorrah should be titled racing toward Gomorrah. The next question should be once we reach Gomorrah, what do we do and is there a way out once the seven deadly sins become our new value system? I recently read a book on embracing values, this book makes an interesting comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2003

    Finally, a voice for the PEOPLE!

    Excellent book! Thought provoking and entertaining! A must read for any who is concerned with the morality clash in America!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    As a "Sinner" I Recommend this Book

    I agree with Savage's views in this book. As an ethical school teacher in the bible belt south, if I was ever caught in the act of the "pursuit of happiness" my mug shot would be all over the media and my career ruined. I am a swinger, yet I do nothing illegal. But what I do is considered "bad" and "immoral" according to the conservative, religious, righteous population of my community. They would be shocked to find out that one of the best teachers in the system lives an alternative lifestyle, but how I behave at work and how I behave the rest of the time are totally separate. I am glad to finally read someone who does not condemn me for my pursuit of happines, but celebrates it. This book is a good read for anyone who is in the percentage of the population who "sins" according to the conservatives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2002

    We need Savage now more than ever

    I just reviewed the book for a gay literary and culture review, but that's preaching to the choir. I hope this book catches on. With the Republicans now in control, this country is in deep trouble. Savage knows how to point out hypocrisy, intelligently argue against the 'virtuecrats' and 'scolds,' and write with humor, balance (mostly), and consistency. I'll be teaching an essay or two in my expository writing college courses.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2002

    Congrats Dan!

    Right after your appearance on "The Factor" with Bill O'Reilly I ran out and got your book...what a GREAT JOB! Keep on keeping on!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2002

    Savage does it again!

    This book is brilliant...and I am not just saying this because I am a Dan Savage fan! Just the concept of the idea attracted me from the beginning. But how can you not love the idea of defending the 7 deadly sins after trying to commit them? We, as humans, are all sinners. And Savage's message is simply: We all sin and there is nothing wrong with it, so deal. Nobody does satire better than Savage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1