Customer Reviews for

Skipping a Beat

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    After meeting the author and discussing the book at book club at One More Page bookstore, I can now say I love this author and this book even more. A story set near my home with two characters that throughout the book, I both loved and hated. Julia, a woman who grew up in a volatile household and was always trying to ensure that her future was better than her past. Michael, a hardworking guy who as time has passed spends more time at his office than at his home. Their communication was basically absent and their relationship was more like roommates than lovers.

    I adored this story and I will absolutely refrain from spoiling such a good ending - so this may be short and sweet. At this time in my life this was a perfect read as I have recently grown accustomed to the boy being away and I have learned to fill the time with more of the hobbies that I enjoy. When our journey ends which is soon, I will have to relearn how our lives mesh and we will be able to reestablish our relationship. As Julia has done, I have learned to lean on a close friend for companionship during the week (and the pup of course). I understood Julia's struggle to try to understand how to be back in a relationship and learn to trust her feelings with him.

    I can't say more because I loved this book and I want everyone to go find it and read away. The writing was easy for a day at the pool or curled up indoors. It was definitely one where you sit down to read and then hours just easily pass by. A great reflection on the relationship we have and the value we must hold in building and nurturing each relationship from friends to husbands to family.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Orginial and emotionally addicting!

    On the outside Julia seems to have it all, on the inside Julia is broken; her marriage has seemingly dissolved into a façade though Julia tries to convince herself it will pass. Once married to her best friend, Julia now looks at her husband and sees a stranger. When her world as she knows it changes in an instant, the four minutes and eight seconds following her husband collapse from cardiac arrest solidifies the change in motion. When Michael is revived, he emerges a changed man, eager to right his wrongs and reconnect with the one woman he has always loved. The question is will Julia be able to forgive, heal and trust the new man her husband has suddenly become when he has been a stranger for so long?

    Skipping a Beat amazed me. Sarah is a skillfully creative writer. Reading her novel was like sitting down with my best friend as she tearfully recaps a momentous occasion in her life. Her writing pierces the soul as you deeply become connected to Julia. I felt myself on the edge of my seat, patiently waiting as Julia told her story the way she needed to tell it. My emotions hung on every word as the novel twist and turns, exploring the complications of life, marriage, friendship and money. It was truly remarkable with an ending that left me in awe and completely satisfied. Julia's story is full of love, heartache and confusion as her hearts dilemma is displayed across the pages.

    I loved The Opposite of Me, Sarah's first novel, but Skipping a Beat has stolen my heart and brought about a whole new appreciation of women's fiction. Sarah simply raises the bar for authors with this simple yet complex look at one woman's marriage, as it slips away from her and is then given a second chance. It was realistic, emotional and dashed with humor to ease some of the intensity. I simply couldn't put this book down. I honestly wouldn't change a thing about this novel. I loved the writing style. I enjoyed reading Julia's story as if she tells it in the aftermath, intermixed with present and past details. It was like she was sharing the story with a future friend or a confidant and I felt as if I was the only one in the room with Julia as she told her story with raw emotion and honesty. It is truly a highly original, emotionally addictive novel that will leave you read for more from Sarah.

    Recommendation: Pre-order!
    Reviewed for acozyreaderscorner.blogspot

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Skipping a Beat! ...... What a great book! This author makes yo

    Skipping a Beat! ...... What a great book! This author makes you laugh, cry, etc. Story line was sooo very different. I really, really enjoyed it and highly recommend anything she writes. You feel like you're right there with the characters. This had the perfect ending for the whole story line - although still sad! Can't wait to read another one of her books! Hard to find such a good author. I read The Best of Us and loved that book also. Thanks for writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    One of the best books I've read in a long time

    This book was so much more than the average "chick" book, and it had me crying in the last three chapters. The heartbreaking reality of couples drifting apart or replacing each other with things is very real amongst our modern culture, and this is a look into the not-so-perfect lives of a rich couple that have a missed connection. The way Michael turned his life, and Julia's, in a completely different direction to find each other before he left earth for the last time is bittersweet, yet ever so romantic. A must read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Spectacular!

    Skipping a Beat is a book that caught my eye the first time I heard about it, because not only was the cover stunning but the premise sounded intriguing as well as promising. Thankfully enough Sarah Pekkanen's Skipping a Beat was a book that took a hold of my heart with its very first sentence and didn't let go until the very last.

    This novel was so fantastic that I don't even know where to begin, though I guess I'll start where I always do...with the characters.

    One of the things I love most about adult fiction is the layers and layers of development and time the writers put into their main characters and the lives and relationships at hand and the same rang true with Skipping a Beat.

    For one, I adored Julia. She was a character who I never failed to root for, even when she did some pretty silly things, because she just felt so real to me. She made mistakes, she wasn't the perfect wife or friend at times but that didn't stop her from being someone I completely admired as as person, and the same was true about her husband Michael. Michael is that typical sweet and nerdy kid in high school that turns out to be a fabulous and brilliant guy during adulthood. What I liked most about them, though, was their relationship. It was complicated beyond relief, filled with so many unsaid things, but yet I could easily see how much they loved each other even when they couldn't weren't able to. Better yet, I loved the questions Sarah brought about me with their relationship. Questions like, how far would I go to try to understand someone I used and still love? How much change is too much change? How far can a person go before loosing all faith in a person and calling it quits once and for all? How would I feel if someone asked me to rewrite the rules of my relationship? It was a thoughtproking read to say the least.

    I also enjoyed the plot in this once again because of the layers and layers of details and twists and turns that will have nearly any reader on the edge of their seat dying to know what will happen next. Best of all, when mixed with the characters and Sarah's excellent writing, this book was one I couldn't put down, not even for a second.

    Lastly, I have to say something about the ending in this, though I won't giveaway anything. It was heartbreaking to say the least, though the impact it left on me as well as the characters it involved made it worth it in the end, and it also shows just how brilliant of a writer Ms. Pekkanen is.

    In all, readers of adult fiction, teen fiction, or a mix of both, you all must read this one! It's simply amazing, a heartbreaking and heartwarming book that I'm still thinking about even though I finished it several days ago.

    Grade: A+

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent!!! I LOVED it and forever will!

    Reviewer: Stephanie
    Sarah Pekkanen probes the intricacy and raw verity of affection and marriage in her new novel, as well as the power, and the greed, that envelopes the human conscience from within, ruining every last drop of happiness that one can maintain.

    The plot of Skipping a Beat is extremely original and intriguing. Julia's husband, Michael, is finally, after years of determination and self surrender, a part of the rich and respected social elite, thanks to his successful, multimillion-dollar health beverage company, DrinkUp. Julie and Mike can finally live the life they've always dreamed of from their poor slums of adolescence. Then one day, one seemingly perfect, normal day, Julia's life shatters when she discovers Michael entered cardiac arrest for four minutes and eight seconds. Her husband was dead for four minutes and eight seconds.

    His revival is nothing short of a miracle; after all, how many people get a second chance at life? Michael recognizes this a little too well, though -- once he's back in Julie's arms, he's intent on making his second time around focused on his love for his wife, not on his company, his life.

    I was a little disappointed at Julia's reaction at Michael's decision. You'd think a woman who nearly just lost her husband would be supportive of his afterlife crisis. You'd think the frustration she feels when learning her husband's company -- all the money he's worked hard for -- is going to charity, would dissipate after learning he was doing it all for her. But the largest, most stubborn conflict Julia experiences is ruling out whether or not she should leave Michael now that he no longer has his company. I found this incredibly selfish of Julia. Since she was raised by a gambling addict and never was able to live out the luxuries of life, I understand why Julia would be upset at first. But to drag it out during the entire length of the novel? That's a little shallow. Her outlook on Michael's abrupt, but still emotionally generous new purpose is: leave him and grab all the savings she can before they're all donated, or stay married and live a middle class life. Nearly dying gives Michael a new-found vision to his life; he apprehends that money isn't what matters. After you're gone, the one thing you'll regret most is not spending enough time with those you love, not what you could and couldn't purchase. Julia never seems to reach this discovery, which is when the reader realizes, maybe her marriage was doomed in the first place.

    The book flashes back to all of Julia's unhappy moments. The time when Michael missed their anniversary because he was on a business trip. The time when Michael promised to go with her to her favorite opera, but stood her up. The time when Julia found out about his affair, then went ahead to engage in one of her own. It is revealed that Julia and Michael's marriage isn't what it's hyped up to be, and that it was screwed up even before Michael's cardiac arrest.

    However, Michael is now a new person, one who doesn't care for the wealth or the power. And maybe, just maybe, this time, they can make it work out.

    The saddest part is, just when Julia deciphers this prominent message about true love and self renewal, she loses her chance to make it all better. Too deeply involved with her inner turmoils of concern over money, she loses the opportunity to start over again, in Skipping a Beat's unanticipated, provoking finish.

    I absolutely cannot believe how the b

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Highly (and Very Emotionally) Recommend This - Loved this book!

    I loved, loved this book. With characters I couldn't get enough of, from Julia's best friend Isabelle to the brilliant and quirky kid named Noah, this book was a treat from start to finish. And with it all, Julia's love of opera kept me even more entranced. I had forgotten how much those soaring tragedies can pierce right into you - it's because they so easily represent real life.

    And that is how I fell in love with it all. The book, the characters, the vision Michael had to draft a new marriage with Julia. I found myself clutching the book, hunkering down in my couch, turning the pages. My husband asked me if I was going to bed, and I could only weakly wave my hand to him over the back of the couch, as I prayed that he wouldn't walk around to see why I wasn't talking. Yep. I was a blubbering mess.

    Sarah Pekkanen has created a new lifelong fan in me. I'll be eagerly awaiting her next book and will get The Opposite of Me to tide me over. And also downloading opera to my computer like there is no tomorrow.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    BookHounds

    This is the most emotional book I have read in a long time. I actually had to take breaks while reading this since I was so drawn into the story and how real the whole thing seemed. Within pages, I felt like I had known Julia my whole life. I could feel her fear and how much she loved Michael, yet realize they had grown apart. Like most marriages they had forgotten those moments that create the relationship. The ending was exactly how it had to be, although I never saw it coming. I ended up in tears several times, but any author who can create that kind of connection is something special. This is in my top ten for the year!

    I really felt the author made Julia more accessible by taking great pains to detail her relationship with money and her father and how this history makes her responses to Michael quitting his job very realistic. She sees the money as the security she never had as a child and when Michael decides to give everything away without discussing it with her, that trust is broken.

    Julia tries to understand Michael and what happened between them and how they have grown apart. She reflects and makes correlations through the music and stories of opera that she has found as an escape. In a way, the story is an opera. Also, Julia meets someone who puts everything in perspective in the body of a boy. She introduces Noah to Michael and that child becomes the catalyst that rebuilds their relationship.

    This is probably one of the hardest reviews I have ever written. The story felt like it was ripped from my own life since my husband decided to quit his job on New Years Eve 1999, without much warning. They always say truth is stranger than fiction, but it is pretty hard to imagine someone else capturing my exact thoughts and feelings, but that is exactly what Sarah Pekkanen did. I received this book at no charge from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Amazing tear jerker!

    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Amazing

    Best book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Novel of Love and Forgiveness

    What a beautifully written novel about love, marriage, and loss. Sarah is such an incredible writer and accomplished author! I have recently read all of her books (with the exception of The Opposite of Me, which I am saving until last) and her three short stories – each are uniquely different and all 5 stars!

    Sarah does everything with feeling (you will laugh and cry)-she does not miss a beat. What I enjoy the most is the raw emotion, her writing style, and the way she describes every detail, making each setting so realistic. Each part of the story unfolded at just the right time.
    The real love of this couple as teens, and their heart breaking childhood, to their struggles coming from such a poor background, their tenacity and challenges to excel in the world – and finally achieving the money and success. However, it took a near death experience and giving up the money to make them truly happy.

    You will fall in love with each of the characters as each has a special place in this beautifully written story - have some Kleenex handy! A lesson for each of us in today's busy and demanding world –to demonstrate the meaning of love and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Prety good, did drag

    It made me tear :( overall i liked the plot and the characters throughout the book BUT she does talk a lot about opera...to much...it was a drag during those parts..if you're familiar with opera you'll enjoy it more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Great book

    This was our first Book Club book and what a way to start a Book Club! Sarah is the best

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Keep reading..it gets better! But sooo sad

    At first i hated it...she gave way too many details about insignificant events in the past and i almost gave up on finishing it but after Michael's heart attack it gets alot better! It hurts to see how hard hes trying despite her pushing him away, all the while sensing they have limited time together. I dont cry easily but i bawled my eyes out in the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    Best book I have read in a long time!

    This is the first book by Sarah P. that I have read and all I can say is WOW! She is excellent, she knows how to really make you feel like you are there and part of the charachters lives. I felt so many emotions, I literally laughed out loud, I cried, I felt pain. This book is a must read!! I am looking forward to reading her other book and for more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed this book. I was shocked by how much I thought about it when I wasn't reading it. I didn't want to put it down when I was reading it. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Okay Read

    I read so many great reviews about this book and really thought I would love it but didn't. A book about the age-old choice between love and money, the writing seemed forced and trite at times. I thought the ending was pretty good but all in all, it was simply okay. Read Pekkanen's The Opposite of Me for an excellent read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it!

    I absolutely loved this book! The book was so touching and heartfelt that I didn't want the story to end. I can't wait to read more of Sarah Pekkanen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2011

    Disappointing

    Much of this book, its characters, and plot progression is just plain unbelievable. I got on a cross country flight and read it on board, only because I had nothing else to do. I was truly a captive audience for this one! Will not buy this author's works again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    I loved this book and could not stop reading it. It was a delightful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5