Customer Reviews for

Skippy Dies

Average Rating 4
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Poor Skippy

Paul Murray must have labored hard to write a 661 page novel. The story is intricate, colorful characters have been created, and a variety of things happen to them. In the beginning, the reader is filled with optimism that the story will turn out to be a good one- after...
Paul Murray must have labored hard to write a 661 page novel. The story is intricate, colorful characters have been created, and a variety of things happen to them. In the beginning, the reader is filled with optimism that the story will turn out to be a good one- after all, the author has filled up 661 pages! But it is not to be, as, in my opinion, the story takes turns that are simply not credible, written more for the shock value than any attempt to be real. The twists in the tale end up even more bizarrely, and, sad to say, knowing from the beginning that Skippy Dies, there is not much reason to keep reading. I give it four stars, though, because it is a work that includes some really good scenes, just not the sum of the parts.

posted by KenCady on September 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

IS IT GOOD???????

ok so everybodys talkin about how badly its priced..... iis it a good book or no?!?!?!?!

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    IS IT GOOD???????

    ok so everybodys talkin about how badly its priced..... iis it a good book or no?!?!?!?!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Poor Skippy

    Paul Murray must have labored hard to write a 661 page novel. The story is intricate, colorful characters have been created, and a variety of things happen to them. In the beginning, the reader is filled with optimism that the story will turn out to be a good one- after all, the author has filled up 661 pages! But it is not to be, as, in my opinion, the story takes turns that are simply not credible, written more for the shock value than any attempt to be real. The twists in the tale end up even more bizarrely, and, sad to say, knowing from the beginning that Skippy Dies, there is not much reason to keep reading. I give it four stars, though, because it is a work that includes some really good scenes, just not the sum of the parts.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2011

    Great Read, Great Job, Great Story

    The closest familiar story I can think of to compare this to would be Dead Poet's Society; but in my opinion Skippy Dies is even better. Masterful craftsmanship, very creative and these characters really live as they change with the events taking place around them. This is the kind of book you'll want to read again and perhaps even study from different perspectives. This book will make you think in more than one direction, on more than one level and somewhere among the characters you will see parts of yourself and people who were once a big part of your life. A great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    Extraordinary Novel

    Rare is the book that speaks to your soul, reinforces interpretations of life events, justifies personal frustrations and entertains while simultaneously proving sensitive but brutally honest. Paul Murray's Skippy Dies does just that.

    Everyone (over 16) should read this novel. I read 40-50 books a year, I was an English major (so I read a lot then, too) and I honestly believe Skippy Dies is one of the top three most moving and insightful books I've ever read. No other book, fiction or nonfiction, ever put me in a bad mood the next day, as Skippy Dies did when certain plot events occurred. That's how invested I became in this title and its characters. I don't know that there's any higher compliment for a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    Far exceeded all expectations

    I received this book as a gift and, honestly, was ambivalent about reading it based on the plot summary. Glad I went for it because I absolutely loved it. I was hooked as the story expertly drew me in as it built up to the crossroads in each main character's life. Skippy is central to the story, but there is much more. While many of the most poignant scenes led me to reflect on my own life, just as many made me laugh out loud. "Skippy Dies" is high on my list of books that I've read over the past couple years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    I did not enjoy this book at all. I'm 21 years old so the concep

    I did not enjoy this book at all. I'm 21 years old so the concept of drugs and sex doesn't offend me at all..but this book just couldn't even keep my attention. I was very disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2011

    Very dsrk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2011

    Disturbing but good!

    I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked this up. Wow. What a story. It was disturbing, but heartfelt. This is such a well told story that you can look beyond the disturbing parts. I actually found myself buying into the mysticism but it never goes too far off course. It's a long book, but you won't be able to put it down! Even though it's about teens at a prep school, I don't think it's appropriate for kids that age to read. A word of warning: As a Catholic, it may make you angry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    Absolutely the worst book I have read in a very long time!

    I too do not care how much a book costs when I go to reviews, or to review a book. This could have been free and still it s simply dreadful. The plot involves a bunch of dumb Brit kids, mastrubating and looking for a lay, using drugs, and then one dies, and I say, Who cares? Boring, meaningless, plotless, dribble. And, I might add, also free! I can read about this in the newspapers or watch TV or think back to my own youth. Yikes - what a waste of paper and ink.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Love love love it!

    The kind of book that leaves a hole in your day after you finish it. Amazing characters; I could crawl into the skin of all of them. Even the drugged up, sex-addicted 17 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Entertaining...

    Interesting characters and plot lines. Kinda spread-out, though, since it is over 650 pages. Characters come and go, age, die, move away - and just when they're getting interesting! Kept my interest, however, right to the end. Great background stuff in a contemprary genteel Dublin setting. Pops a few baloons this way, not your typical dark Irish Novel, notwithstanding the title. I'd like to read more of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    Six Stars - Out of Five...

    Just finished SKIPPY DIES, and I feel like I just got back from a night at the Pub with Holden Caulfield,Sebastian Dangerfield, Ken Bruen, and Kurt Vonnegut. Funny, brutal, accurate and intricate - Paul Murray cannot lie. It could be any Catholic Boy's School, and Catholic Girl's school, but Skippy's placement in Dublin is even more hilarious and charming.The cast of characters, though huge, is thrillingly drawn.This book is a remarkable achievement. I await his next effort...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    STOP!

    Stop reviewing books based on price! It makes star-based review systems irrelevant. If you disagree with the price, don't buy it! Check it out from the library or buy it used. This is a BOOK review section not a PRICE review section. Take it up with the publisher or Barnes and Noble if you want to whine about price. Don't take it out on customers who want to see what other people think about the actual book. It doesn't make me not buy the book. It doesn't make the publisher or Barnes and Noble suffer through lack of sales. If it did, the price would already be lower! This is a problem here, on Amazon, and anywhere else books with an ebook version are sold. Anywhere irritating, inconsiderate people are allowed to post are filled with these things.

    I know I may appear hypocritical for posting this having not read the book but I felt like I should rate the book 5-stars if only to counteract the 1-star reviews from these obnoxious price-based "reviews." I've said my piece.

    STOP!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    $14.99???

    No way it's worth $14.99.. B & N get it together! iBooks is selling it for $9.99

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    hated it...

    seriously

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2010

    Unacceptable pricing

    This price is ridiculously unacceptable and can jeoperdize the future of ebooks. I bet the author barely gets a dollar out of it!

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Trilogy

    This is 600 pages, and appears to be a trilogy. That explains the price. All you have to do is check the New York Times review provided here and you will see that.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 95 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5