Customer Reviews for

Skippyjon Jones in Mummy Trouble

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

We love Skippito!

This whole series is amazing. It is SO much fun to read with your children. My kids, who are taking Spanish in K and 5th grade, like learning a few new words in each book and laugh at what they call "Grandpa Spanish" which is my dad, knowing no Spanish, and adding an "o...
This whole series is amazing. It is SO much fun to read with your children. My kids, who are taking Spanish in K and 5th grade, like learning a few new words in each book and laugh at what they call "Grandpa Spanish" which is my dad, knowing no Spanish, and adding an "o" to the end of a word to make it Spanish. My 5 year old son repeats the story daily. It did start a real conversation on Egypt. Fun Fun Fun

posted by Maconga on December 19, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Skippito is a funny Dude

Skippito is a funny Dude

posted by moregrit on September 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    We love Skippito!

    This whole series is amazing. It is SO much fun to read with your children. My kids, who are taking Spanish in K and 5th grade, like learning a few new words in each book and laugh at what they call "Grandpa Spanish" which is my dad, knowing no Spanish, and adding an "o" to the end of a word to make it Spanish. My 5 year old son repeats the story daily. It did start a real conversation on Egypt. Fun Fun Fun

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Very Cute

    My family owns this entire series they are a great read for the entire family. Interactive and a great laugh

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    Skippyjon is a star in our house!

    My 6-yr-old daughter just loves Skippyjon and reading about his adventures. She especially likes to listen to the included CD, because the author reads it in a very entertaining way, with varied voicings. We take this in the car and we hear it MULTIPLE times during a trip. But we, as parents, don't get tired of it either! We just find ourselves reciting the story and trying to be as clever as Skippyjon.
    I especially like the many names that Mama Junebug Jones uses to address Skippjon. It makes me want to be more creative with the "terms of affection" that I use with my daughter.
    Go ahead and get it. You'll love it!!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    My six year old son loves this book! It ispired him to find out more about pyramids, cat mummies and Egypt. We read this book together daily.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2011

    I loved it

    I loved it

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    My son and I love Skippy

    My son is five and we havy many of the Skippyjon Jones books. They are very funny and he loves that Skippy gets in trouble.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    Great book, but...

    I found it too difficult to read on my Nook. The pages are big so have have to expand the print to read it to my children. The story itself is fantastic (like all the other Skippyjon Jones books).

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    Very Funny

    Skippyjon is a very funny book that is loved by my 9 yr. old son and 5 yr. old daughter. It is especially funny when read by the author. Would highly recommend to all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2009

    Great as always

    Skippyjon Jones never fails to deliver. He's funny and entertaining for both the child and the adult reading the book. Other adults in the room will stop to listen and laugh. Great series of books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    Love It!!

    I think these books are the most fun my kids and I have had with story reading. We do the different voices with each character and we have so much fun with these books. We love and bought them all.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    Happy Mummy, happy kids...

    This is the first Skippyjon Jones book I purchased for my kids (two boys 5 and 7), and they just can't stop talking about it!!! I am ordering the entire collection today.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Skippito is a funny Dude

    Skippito is a funny Dude

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Skippyjon Jones in Mummy Trouble by Judy Schachner is a hilariou

    Skippyjon Jones in Mummy Trouble by Judy Schachner is a hilarious introduction to bilingual education. It provides support to limited English proficiency students, and makes amusing fun of mixing up word meanings from Spanish to English. With its fascinating rhymes and illustrations, it’s a great way to introduce to both bilingual students and at-risk readers. There are many lessons to bring to your family night! This book provides an audio CD of the author reading this book. It can help you touch up on your Spanish, or even introduce you to a language of another culture. This book is a great way to introduce Spanish words and bring Mexico to life within your own home.
    Here is a quote that illustrates entertaining word play and voice: “He rocketed through the vault like a fur-covered comet. Until suddenly, SMACK-iTO! Skippito hit a wall and knocked himself out cold.”
    Teaching effectively, whether you are a teacher or parent, requires us to build on what students already have as the basis in order for new skills and for learning new understanding to take place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Best ever, fun to read

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love This Series!

    We love these books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Skippyjon Jones

    I love all the Skippyjon Jones books!!! I hope that there will be more to read and laugh at with my children! They are so much fun to read aloud, the stories are silly and engaging.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2008

    Outstanding!!!

    Once again Schachner made it happen with a another excellent read. Son loves this little cats antics and giggles through the whole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    This book is a mummy's treasure!

    I am a huge fan of the original, and just as much of a fan of this book. I have read the Skippyjon books to 1st, 3rd, 5th, and 6th graders and they all LOVE it. I use the original to introduce myself to my class because it's a favorite. These books provide a great example of how to be a fluent reader by creating different voices and using different rates to read. There are always Spanish words and context clues to decipher those words. I used this book as an introduction to a unit on Ancient Egypt. It definetely helped to create excitement.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    Love it, so funny!!!

    We will be buying more of this series for sure! Love his imagination!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2