Customer Reviews for

Sky Jumpers: Book 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2013

    I was immediately drawn in by the interesting world that Peggy E

    I was immediately drawn in by the interesting world that Peggy Eddleman created. The story takes place in a settlement that contains survivors of the Green Bombs of WWIII (what a cool idea!). Next, I was thrilled that the town values invention and ingenuity as they try to rebuild their lives (I LOVE inventions!).

    The characters are likable. Hope Toriella, the MC, is a spunky and courageous 12 year old misfit who finally finds her strengths. Despite obstacles, she is unwilling to give up on her family and her town. I love her tenacity!

    The whole book is wholesome and fun and Ms Eddleman has some great conflict that keeps you turning the pages!

    Constructive Critiques: The tone at the beginning seemed a little too happy and optimistic. Having gone through WWIII just 40 years ago and having bandits, I thought there should be a few ominous tones.

    I did have a little bit of a hard time believing that Hope would be able to fight the bandits (and climb trees and jump off cliffs) after her long, exhaustive journey, but I still enjoyed the book.

    Overall: The book is adventurous and kids will enjoy reading it! What kids doesn't want to save the day?

    And as a parent, I loved the book's themes:
    "finding yourself"
    "believing in yourself"
    "you are special"
    Everyone is unique and has special qualities --This is a much needed message for kids today. Each person has something special to give the world. Thank you, Peggy, for weaving this throughout your story!

    I look forward to Peggy Eddleman's next book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sky Jumpers is a captivating read with beautiful story-telling,

    Sky Jumpers is a captivating read with beautiful story-telling, strong world building, and compelling characters.




    Hope's story is reminiscent of Shannon Hale's Princess Academy in that both feature a strong female lead with vulnerabilities who grow into strong girls with the courage and power to save their people. I've always felt that characters like Hope and Miri are the most relatable to girls because we all have something we're working to deal with. For Hope, it's the feeling of inadequacy because she can't invent like everyone else. Sky Jumpers is about her growth as she comes to realize that she has her own strengths, ones that may save her town when no one else can.




    The characters are fun and quirky. Hope is an incredibly brave, clever, and feisty heroine, one that will charm readers of all ages. I love how she's quick to take charge in situations, and no one challenges her. She's the leader in her group of friends—guys and girls alike. And there's no questioning her gender or how her behavior isn't like that of a young lady. Her friends are equally admirable, though they don't really show growth over the course of the novel. I especially love Aaren, Brock, and Brenna, and hope to see more of them in book two.




    The plot is interesting and filled with fun twists. There were some occasions when the pacing was off or some details were introduced someplace when it would have been better warranted elsewhere, but these didn't take away from my overall enjoyment of the novel. The only thing that really hindered my reading was that I didn't really get a clear picture of the Bomb's Breath. It may have been that I was reading too quickly at the beginning of the novel when it's introduced, but I was confused about its layout and where it stands in relation to other geographical points. A diagram or clearer explanation early on could have helped. But again, it may have been that I wasn't paying enough attention when it is first introduced.




    Overall, Sky Jumpers introduces a powerful new voice in MG lit. I appreciate how Sky Jumpers can stand alone as a novel though I am definitely not opposed to it being a series. There is a lot of potential for expanding Hope's world, and I look forward to reading The Forbidden Flats, book two in the Sky Jumpers series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    Although Sky Jumpers is clearly a book for younger readers, I en

    Although Sky Jumpers is clearly a book for younger readers, I enjoyed it as much as I would have when I was twelve. In a world mostly destroyed by the green bombs of World War III, all known technology is gone. The strength and properties of most metals have been changed and magnets can no longer be created. Progress and survival lies in agriculture and inventions. Apart from the dangerous, ruthless bandits roaming the plains between towns and settlements, the ever present Bomb's Breath at high altitudes is the main threat. Could said Bomb's Breath be used to benefit the remainder of mankind as either a weapon or as part of an invention?

    Though not always quite as realistic as one would hope, Sky Jumpers is an exciting, suspenseful read. Starting with a couple of extremely adventurous kids cliff diving into the lethal Bomb's Breath, the story progresses to bandit attacks, journeys through vicious snow storms, and even some highly exciting stunt riding.  

    Hope, the main character, is rather useless at inventing but her bravery knows no bounds. Fortunately she is a born leader and proves her worth when bandits try to take the valuable Ameiphus antibiotic from the town of White Rock. The other two main characters, Aaren and Brock, are likable and probably even more realistically crafted than Hope. I particularly liked the silent Brock who accomplishes more than most without ever saying much.

    The whole book is a tale of adventure but the action gets particularly riveting towards the conclusion of the story. I recommend Sky Jumpers as a safe, clean and yet thrilling read for younger readers. (Ellen Fritz)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Great book!

    I love this book are you making it a series?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2014

    It is the difference of one that make the society of White Rock

    It is the difference of one that make the society of White Rock function in the post apocalyptic world of Sky Divers. A society of invention that is trying to change the world from with in, celebrating the individual who could invent the best way to live life. Hope is an orphan child adopted and cared for by her community, and family. But she feels she does not fit with in the society. She does not understand how to invent, although she tries it again and again, but could not seem to make anything work. But is her bravery, her leadership, and her ability to sky jump that saved her town, her father and her closest friends. This is a great book for the outcast, or the person who does not fit into society. Its is a great book for children and i hope it becomes a print novel to share in the school library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    Sky Jumpers should be a must-read for MG readers everywhere. Thi

    Sky Jumpers should be a must-read for MG readers everywhere. This book will leave a mark on your heart long after you finish it. Hope is a character we can all relate to and one we love to root for, as she struggles to help her community and discover herself in the process. The world-building, fast-paced adventure, and powerful characterization will draw you in and hold you until the end. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Good book, but i think that it isn't a good book for 7-9 year olds because it is postapocalistic, i'd say that its a good book for 10-13+

    Cool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    It's not often enough that we get to come across something tha

    It's not often enough that we get to come across something that makes a new level of awesomeness all of it's own - but this book does! It did not let me down in the least and I went in with high expectations. But its more than that! This book is even better than I imagined, and gives me all the things I want my kids to read... and then some! It's fun, brilliant, daring, and creative. This is a world that everyone needs to experience and shares such a wonderful, touching message, that I'd love to pass on to my kids and students. Don't miss out on this extraordinarily epic story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    High Adventure, Coming of Age!

    I am a HUGE believer in the power of books, especially for younger readers, but a book must open up a whole new world and fuel the imagination. Sky Jumpers by Peggy Eddleman is a powerful read and acts like rocket fuel for the brain! World War III has surpassed all previous wars with its ‘advanced’ warfare methods and destroyed most of the world’s population in the process. Chemicals released by the bombs that were dropped chemically altered the atmosphere, creating much denser pockets of air that poisonous to anyone who breathes it in. Everyone is warned not to go near its vapors which play a protective role for a small town deep in a small valley. So what happens when a daring young girl and her friends hear this edict? They test their daring by holding their breath and jumping down through the cloud!

    Hope doesn’t think she has many useful strengths to share in her community, she isn’t the smartest, isn’t good at inventing things that can help replace what was lost in the war, trouble seems to just find her, no matter what! When her small town is threatened by outsiders and everyone’s lives are at risk, not only does Hope risk her life to save those around her, but she discovers the unique talents and strengths she does possess!

    Sky Jumpers by Peggy Eddleman has created a world full of rich detail and the exuberance of youth in a time when the world is struggling to re-build. She has achieved a remarkable feat by giving us a young heroine who finds her purpose in life and learns to embrace the uniqueness that is her. From page one the adventure is off and running, the perfect magnet to draw middle grade readers in, finding a character they can identify with is like the icing on the cake. Ms. Eddleman gives her readers something to cheer about and characters to root for all of the way as she feeds their minds with the reality that if you believe in yourself, anything can happen. If this book isn't in your children's library, it should be!

    An ARC edition was provided by NetGalley and Random House Children's in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1