Customer Reviews for

Sky of Stone: A Memoir

Average Rating 5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

After Rocket Boys aka October Sky this is a must read.

This book was an excellent read. After the second book in Hickam's triology seemed mostly to be recycled edited sections from the first book, I was concerned that this book would also fail to live up to the first book's promise. I should not have feared. This book was...
This book was an excellent read. After the second book in Hickam's triology seemed mostly to be recycled edited sections from the first book, I was concerned that this book would also fail to live up to the first book's promise. I should not have feared. This book was an exceptional look at the development of a young man and the sometimes painful disconnect from the places that once defined you that occurs when you leave home for college is handled very well. My only concern is that as a memoire this reads almost too perfectly as a mystery novel.

posted by Camgee on March 15, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dragonstar

She sat

posted by mutestar on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Phoenixheart

    I am a red tabby tom with ginger paws & flaming orange paws. I would like to be the deputy & also your mate, Dragonstar.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended-Well Worth the Read

    Sonny Hickam is looking forward to spending his summer with his mother at sunny Myrtle Beach. However the elusive Elsie Hickam insists he spend the three months with his father, a mine superintendant accused of involvement in the death of a prominent foreman. As Sonny works to clear his father's name he discovers shocking secrets buried beneath the very foundation of Coalwood. Summer brings new changes and challenges as Sonny's experiences help him grow into a man. He explores the bonds between his family and lessons about love and letting go. He emerges with a stronger personality though a firsthand experience of acceptance and loss. This autobiography expands on timeless themes.
    Sonny learns about equality through his friend Rita and Floretta, the Club House manager. Rita, a female engineer, challenges the social inequality between men and women. Her summer revolves around a dream to go inside the mine, a hope harshly opposed by superstitious mine workers. His respect for Floretta and other African Americans in the community lead him to a longstanding hatred for racism. The experiences in this novel lead him to evaluate his personal family relations and realize the ties that exist between them. The death of a beloved companion bring him and his brother together through mutual grief and portrays the bond between brothers.
    Sky of Stone maintains a great sense of humor throughout the novel, often at the expense of the author. It has an engaging, well-developed plot with twists that establish a great page-turner. The messages make a profound impact and are more genuine because the events happened in real-life. The characters are well-developed and complex with believable personalities. The characters and writing help readers relate to the story and the situations Sonny faces.
    Sky of Stone is definitely worth the read because of its inspiring message. The lessons of this true story can help readers view their world through a different perspective because it analyzes timeless concerns of society. Sonny faces the confusion of total independence and faces the consequences of his actions alone for the first time in his life. Without his parents holding his hands, Sonny explores new aspects of society and viewpoint his parents do not necessarily approve of. But this learning experience helps him to discover his own personality and strengthen his beliefs.
    Other books I would recommend are Rocket Boys, the prequel to Sky of Stone, and The Coalwood Way. October Sky is very well-done movie adaption of Rocket Boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    After Rocket Boys aka October Sky this is a must read.

    This book was an excellent read. After the second book in Hickam's triology seemed mostly to be recycled edited sections from the first book, I was concerned that this book would also fail to live up to the first book's promise. I should not have feared. This book was an exceptional look at the development of a young man and the sometimes painful disconnect from the places that once defined you that occurs when you leave home for college is handled very well. My only concern is that as a memoire this reads almost too perfectly as a mystery novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sky of Stone book review

    This is Devin W, from West Virginia and this is my book review on sky of stone by Homer Hickman. He is a collage boy and just got out for the summer he is on his way to Myrtle Beach South Carolina. But on his way he gut's a phone call from his mom that live down there and she tell him to go back home to Coal wood, West Virginia. And pay for his dad's car that he masked up the lasted time he diver it so he had to go and work in the coal mind wear his dad is a super vizier him and his dad never really had a farther and son real ship like they should has but when sonny was ill he said,
    Would never go back to work in the minds but that is his only way he can pay for the car masked up. But the is really all about him growing up and if he makes right or wrong and fix his mistakes and it has a lot of family issues in it but there was some roman's to that to and it has a good end to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Shadowcat

    I may be a cat created from Warrior Cats, yet I would like to join. I am a pure black cat with a white, upside down flame over my left, which glows. I am an aggressive she yet is desperate for a strong warrior mate. Has an adopted daughter name Genuine (JEN- yoo- EEN- ay)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    StormedEyes

    "Greetings, May I Join?" He mewed. A Dark Tom Kit was behind him. (( post post pst ))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Yellowstar of the rppd

    Ok so I saw an ad that you were goning to get raided so i came as soon as i could

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Flowerfern a med cat

    A herd u needed a medcat!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Ancientstones

    He sigha ( sorry i havent been active. The lag makes it difficult to post anything. And im also locked from res three. Can we move camp to res 4?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Clawfang

    Padded in. "May I join?" He mewed gruffly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Sootpaw

    Has anyboody seen my mentor!!?!?!?!?!?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    To jetstar

    Can i rp a kit?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Go to cloud res one

    Defeat tigerstrike and silverfang we are short on cats new clan they are bloodclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    Luna

    Checks clawfang for scratchs or wounds

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Silversky

    ((Creepy.....)) Silversky yawned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    She cat

    I spy at you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    Snowfur

    Groomed her fur

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    To jetstar

    Can i rp a kit?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    URGENT WARNING TO ALL

    REVENGECLAN IS BACK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3