Customer Reviews for

Sky on Fire (Monument 14 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Only twelve days have passed since the apocalyptic hailstorm and

    Only twelve days have passed since the apocalyptic hailstorm and earthquake that devastated Monument, Colorado. While other parts of the country were experiencing their own horrific events, Monument and the surrounding area was hit by not only what mother nature handed out, but also by a man-made disaster when a crippling warfare compound was leaked from the nearby NORAD facility.


    Fourteen children were stranded in a Greenway superstore in Monument and forced to survive on their own. Now after holding things together for just short of two weeks, the group has decided to split up. Their faithful leader Niko is taking part of the group and heading for Denver International Airport in hopes of finding family members and arriving in time to participate in the evacuation program. Dean, who has bravely written an account of their adventure so far, decides it is best to remain behind with Astrid, Chloe, and the McKinley twins. Since Dean, Astrid, and Chloe have blood type O which causes them to react violently if exposed to the compound, they hope by staying behind, the rest of the group will have a better chance of reaching the evacuation site safely.


    SKY ON FIRE is the second book in the MONUMENT 14 series by Emmy Laybourne. With the fourteen kids separating into two groups, the story continues in alternating chapters narrated by Dean and his brother Alex. Dean continues to relate the adventures at the Greenway store including someone's attempt to break into the store and the arrival of a group of thugs who threaten to take over and endanger the small group of survivors.


    Alex relates the events that unfold as the rest of the group boards the ravaged school bus and heads toward the airport. They must face the frightening, deserted landscape, the dangerous effects of the compounds, and a few other refugees out to get their hands on anything of value to prolong their own lives. A journey that in ordinary circumstances would take barely over an hour becomes the longest, most dangerous trip of their lives.


    SKY ON FIRE is an all-too-real tale of determination and survival. Fans of Laybourne's first novel MONUMENT 14 will be thrilled to rejoin the kids to learn what happens next.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Finished in 1 day

    I love these series!!! Hopefully a 3rd book of Josies resque!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    This Book is amazing! I went through Monument 14 and Sky on fire

    This Book is amazing! I went through Monument 14 and Sky on fire within 2 days! I loved it!
    Can't Wait For #3!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sky on Fire was definitely more intense than the first book in t

    Sky on Fire was definitely more intense than the first book in this series and there was a lot less humor.  I mean, there was plenty of snark and bitterness coming from Alex that was kind of funny, but for the most part it was one non-stop nail-biter. It felt like I was really living through the end of the world because of the little practical details like how they could eat with gas masks on, how they would deal with the chemicals in the air etc.  And as I’m living this experience with the characters, I’m crossing my fingers that the worst won’t happen.  But of course it does like something from your nightmares.




    The writing felt like reading a movie script (which I think really worked for this story).  The plot is driven a lot by the dialogue of the characters.  I love the characters.  They have very distinct personalities that makes this story all the more chilling because I really care about all of them – even that bratty girl.  Part of what makes this book truly terrifying for me was the fact that the end of the world is being shown through the eyes of kids.  Max (who is one of my favorite characters) is a young boy who brings toy cars with him on the road to probable death and is playing with them and making car noises. Like my boys do daily.  That little detail brought the story very close to home for me. Don’t cry, don’t cry.




    The one thing that didn’t work for me was Josie’s story line.  I found it to be too out-of-tune with the world that the author created for me to believe it.  What happens to Josie just felt a little too convenient.  It’s not a major part of the story line, so it didn’t bother me too much.




    The ending felt strange to me.  The story felt like it could be finished after this book.  There’s really only one storyline left open and I wonder if it’s enough to keep the whole next book going.  I’m stil going to read the next one because I’m curious what could happen next.  If anyone can pull it off, it’s Emmy!




    Overall, this was a book that I couldn’t put down ( I read it in one day).  It was intense and chilling with characters that I loved.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sky on Fire is the much awaited sequel to Monument 14 by Emmy La

    Sky on Fire is the much awaited sequel to Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne. Ever since I finished Monument 14, I've been dying to get my hands on Sky on Fire. I have to say, I wasn't disappointed in the least when it came to the sequel. My only minor complaint is that the book was a bit too short, at 213 pages. The sequel continues from the ending of Monument 14 and this time it is told from two POVs, Dean and Alex, who are brothers. I would recommend anyone who hasn't read Monument 14 to not continue with this review because it might contain minor spoilers for it. This book has a dual POV because there are two different settings, one in the greenway store with Dean and Astrid along with three other kids, and the other is Alex on the bus with 5+ others trying to drive 60 miles to the Denver International Airport where it seems to be a sort of safe house meet up for the surviving people. To say that this book didn't keep me on the edge of my seat is a lie. I was frantically flipping the pages trying to find out what happens next in the greenway store then back at the bus. The ending of each chapter is like a mini cliffhanger that makes you read the next chapter (which is told from the other POV) as fast as possible.. and the cycle continued. It was a vicious one that wouldn't let me put down the book at all. While some may think the greenway mall POV is repetitive, since that was the setting of the first book, but it really isn't since the circumstances changed. As for Alex and the rest of the gang, boy, did they get into a lot of crap. I felt so sorry for them at times and prayed that they would all make it back safe to the DIA. I know many people who read Monument 14 thought Dean was a bit too whiny and lovestruck to be a pleasant narrator, but I believe he has redeemed himself in this book. Also, I am sure people will really enjoy the chapters told from Alex's POV. Those were very thrilling! As for the way this book ended, I am not sure if there will be a sequel, the way Laybourne finished the book hints at another possible book, but if she doesn't write one, readers do get a good satisfying ending. All in all, I do recommend this series to fans of post apocalyptic and survival novels, especially fans of male POVs! Though I am not fond of male POVs, I have to say that I really enjoyed this series. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. Loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Exciting

    I wanted to know what happened at the end so i kept reading faster and faster. Wish it was longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was in love with author Emmy Laybourne┬┐s novel Monument 14. I

    I was in love with author Emmy Laybourne’s novel Monument 14. I remember that I’d read the novel and had been dying from all the unexpected turns that the novel would take and of course there was the ending that set up for a sequel. I’ve been eagerly awaiting Sky on Fire and from a first glance at the cover all I could think was: “You’ve gotta be kidding me! Is that bus broken down again!?” Fans of Monument 14 are gonna love Sky on Fire. Why? Because the suspense never stops. Never.

    Sky on Fire takes starts where Monument 14 ends. The group has split, one side trying to get to the Denver International Airport the other (mostly consisting of people with type O blood) staying inside of the Greenway. Told between the journal entries of Dean’s younger brother Alex and Dean’s POV (point of view) we get to find out what happens next to the Monument 14 group inside of the town of Monument.

    For the rest of the group and Alex the world beyond the Greenway is filled with bandits, death and type O rage monsters. To make matters worse, one of the group’s most valuable members is revealed to be type O. As Alex and the group descend what’s left of the streets in their school bus they are attacked by a group of ex-army cadets. The cadets steal their supplies and leave the group to fend for themselves. The group is left with only one option: To get to the Denver International Airport before things go from bad to worse, but to do this they have to overcome obstacles that this new world has to hold.

    Dean, Astrid, the twins and Chloe are still inside of the Greenway. While inside of the Greenway Dean and Astrid begin to hear people outside of the Greenway trying to get in. The four inside of the Greenway have to deal with being type O and what they’ll do until they are rescued. Dean and Astrid fight and deny their attraction to each other. Just when things can’t get any more intense a past member from Monument 14 returns to the Greenway and the same cadets that stole the bus from Alex and the rest of Monument 14 show up at the Greenway. Their intentions: To take over.

    I’ve really loved reading Monument 14 all of the dystopia and watching the world outside die really had me falling because I hadn’t read anything like it before. Sky on Fire was, I felt, not as lengthy in plot as Monument 14 was but it did have something that I felt Monument 14 didn’t have and that is plot twists. Literally every chapter contained or ended with a cliff-hanger or plot twist. Just when I’d think that I knew everything about the novel BAM! Plot twist that changes everything. Right when I thought that I couldn’t be surprised any more there’d be a plot twist that forced me to read on until the novel concluded. Seriously, it was awesome.

    I found Sky on Fire to be a lot more dramatic than the novel before it. Dean’s chapters were more rage-filled with him being pushed to his limits like a character straight out of the Walking Dead (the show… definitely not the comics). Alex on the other hand was being forced to come past events that a kid his age shouldn’t have to undergo. I honestly preferred Alex’s chapters because I liked seeing the outside world in the Monument 14 universe. I thought that Alex’s chapters were ones that were more heartfelt and astonishing compared to Dean who is constantly getting chapters filled with action (and once you read the novel you’ll get that that was a pun).

    The ending in Sky on Fire is awesome. The last few dozen pages were fast-paced and had me flipping pages to find out what happens next. I have to admit that I was glad for the ending, but am at the same time a little bit shocked at the choices of a certain character. Do I think there will be a sequel? Oh yeah. What do I think that sequel will hold? I’m unsure and want to leave it at that. I’d recommend Sky on Fire to the readers that finished Monument 14 and to readers that are looking for a new dystopia series like no other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!! Great continuation of the last book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I got it

    I got it!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Awesome

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Sky On Fire

    This was, in my opinion, the best book in the series. Sky On Fire was filled with action and kept me reading. I wanted to know what happened next. I did not stop reading this, I read it straight through to the very finish in one day.
    It's interesting following two different points of view throughout the story: brothers Dean and Alex. Alex has gone ahead with most of the kids in the superstore to try to drive to Denver, where they believe they'll find their parents. Dean has chosen to stay behind in the Greenway with three little kids and his crush, Astrid, because of his O blood type that causes him to turn into a murderer when exposed to a certain chemical compound. Both groups have thrilling adventures.
    There is a lot of character development in this book, particularly concerning Dean, Alex, Josie, and Sahalia. Sky On Fire is, all in all, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sequel Lives Up to the First Book in the Series If you haven't

    Sequel Lives Up to the First Book in the Series


    If you haven't read the novella that falls between books one and two, <em>Jake and the Other Girl</em>
    , I strongly advise reading it before starting in on book two of the trilogy. It will give you more insight regarding the triangle between Jake, Astrid, and Dean. 

    Goodreads Blurb:
    <blockquote>Trapped in a superstore by a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and terrifying chemical weapons spill, brothers Dean and Alex learned how to survive and worked together with twelve other kids to build a refuge from the chaos. But then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, and bringing both fresh disaster and a glimmer of hope. 

    Knowing that the chemical weapons saturating the air outside will turn him into a bloodthirsty rage monster, Dean decides to stay in the safety of the store with Astrid and some of the younger kids. But their sanctuary has already been breached once. . . .

    Meanwhile, Alex, determined to find their parents, heads out into the darkness and devastation with Niko and some others in a recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety. But the outside world is even worse than they expected. . . .</blockquote>



    After the disaster with Mr. Appleton and Robbie the group decides they can't trust any of the information they got from the two men that betrayed them. So they load up the repaired bus with the intent being to get Brayden to a hospital or doctor. For the Type Os the plan is to knock them out with sleeping pills and tie them up to prevent them from harming anyone.

    But like many plans, this one doesn't work out as anticipated. In the end Dean and Astrid argue they are too much of a liability being Type Os. Niko agrees, much to Alex's anger, and then end up offloading the drugged Chloe as well. At the last possible minute Caroline and Henry, the twins, decide  that they will stay at the Greenways because it's just too scary out &quot;there.&quot; So Niko, Josie, Alex, Sahalia, Max, Batiste, Ulysses, and Brayden set out for Denver on the bus. From this point on it is as if there are two separate stories being told, one for those braving the outside, hoping for rescue and to send rescue back for the rest, and the rest who feel they must stay to protect the others, or are too young to really grasp what is going on.

    Niko does his best to lead his group, but they are beset by one problem after another, culminating in their losing the bus and risking their friends they left behind by potentially sending it straight back to them. But the bus that returns would be loaded with the enemy, and they have no way to warn them. As they make their way towards the Denver International Airport for the evacuation they've pinned all their hopes on, Niko and Josie develop a close bond, one that eventually blossoms into a romantic relationship. But something happens that stuns them all, and has one member sacrificing themself to protect the rest of the group. 

    Back at the Greenways things aren't going as well as they'd hoped. They were discovered shortly after they'd finished resealing the riot gates. They do what they can by dropping food off the roof, but while all this is going on they'd forgotten about their power, and the lights have suddenly gone out, leaving them in total darkness. Thank goodness they have all those supplies at hand. A few more attacks are weathered, and then they get a huge surprise. Jake is back, telling Astrid he returned for her. While Jake's return increases the tension, it turns out to be a good thing he arrived when he did. 

    Each of the kids matures in some way, with the young ones proving just how resilient youth can be. Each of them learn things about themselves, things they can be proud of as well as things they wish they'd never discovered. The trick will be taking the things they don't like about themselves and turning them into something to be proud of. Not all of them are as successful as others, but then some have the advantage of family to support them, or have extremely strong motivation to make the smart choice(s) going forward.

    Old friends are found, new friends are made, and some miracles take place. It seems as if all is over for the group, but then a missing piece of information is discovered. It looks as if the older kids may be up for one more heart pounding journey to rescue a friend. The only question that remains is who will be going and who will be staying behind?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    "Monument 14" is a great series and this book is a gre

    &quot;Monument 14&quot; is a great series and this book is a great addition to that series. This is book 2. Exciting, scary, sad, and gross. There are even some &quot;Ahhhhhh&quot; moments. Good reading for adults as well as teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely adored the first novel in this series, and while th

    I absolutely adored the first novel in this series, and while this second novel is very well written, it just didn’t grab me like the first. While part of this has to do with needing to rekindle my relationships with the characters, and thankfully Laybourne gives readers all the reminders they need to get back on track, the main issue for me was the font. Normally, I don’t discuss layout or font when critiquing a novel, especially since it generally has no barring on the story itself—the author doesn’t control font in a big publishing house—but I just can’t get over it. The novel is split between two characters, Dean and Alex, as they branch off from one another and tell their stories as the days unfold. Dean and just a few young survivors are staying behind at the Greenway Superstore due to blood toxin issues, and so events unfolding there are told through his eyes, in a normal, every day font. On the other hand, Alex, Dean’s brother, and the rest of the young survivors have taken the bus and are driving 60+ miles to the airport in attempts to bring people to help rescue Dean and the other survivors who can’t weather the toxins in the air. And here is where the story lost me—I had trouble reading Alex’s point of view because the font changed, and it wasn’t a normal easy font for me to read. It was lighter than normal font, with the letters elongated and spaced out, and it really impacted my reading. One can’t enjoy something they struggle to read, and while I get the idea behind different fonts, I think it was a not so great move on the part of the publishers. I just couldn’t get into Alex’s story because I struggled so much to follow it.

    This novel is actually rather short in the realm of things, sitting at 213 pages, and truthfully, not a whole lot happened. There were a few issues that arose, but our heroes and heroines were able to smooth things over quite quickly, which is good, but doesn’t leave much in terms of excitement. Don’t get me wrong, I did like the story, and I’m excited to see what happens next for the characters, but I hope there is just a little more substance and, of course, a normal font throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Absolutly Amazing

    This is a truely terrific book. It was pretty dark sometimes, but the suspence was perfect. It kept you at the edge of your seat, all of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    WOW!!!

    I have waited for this sequel to come out and it did not disappoint! It was a fantastic, edge-of-my-seat read that I couldn't put down until the end. My only complaint is that I read through it in 12 hours but I can't fault the author for that. I am hoping there's a 3rd book coming in the future and if there is I will definitely be reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Opinion Anyone?

    This book was really captivating in a sense that makes you realise that time goes by quickly and you must take chances and spend time wisely.Being the reader yoy see the characters grow and watch as you learn that the worst things can bring out the best in people,or the worst.It really does surprise me that more people have'nt commented yet,but anyway toodles!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Fantastic

    I loved every word.
    You are a great story writer. Dont ever stop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Kate

    It atoned for the last book's ending that made me so furious. But i likd this one a lot more. The chainsaw action was awsome. :D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2