Customer Reviews for

Sky on Fire (Monument 14 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sky on Fire was definitely more intense than the first book in t

    Sky on Fire was definitely more intense than the first book in this series and there was a lot less humor.  I mean, there was plenty of snark and bitterness coming from Alex that was kind of funny, but for the most part it was one non-stop nail-biter. It felt like I was really living through the end of the world because of the little practical details like how they could eat with gas masks on, how they would deal with the chemicals in the air etc.  And as I’m living this experience with the characters, I’m crossing my fingers that the worst won’t happen.  But of course it does like something from your nightmares.




    The writing felt like reading a movie script (which I think really worked for this story).  The plot is driven a lot by the dialogue of the characters.  I love the characters.  They have very distinct personalities that makes this story all the more chilling because I really care about all of them – even that bratty girl.  Part of what makes this book truly terrifying for me was the fact that the end of the world is being shown through the eyes of kids.  Max (who is one of my favorite characters) is a young boy who brings toy cars with him on the road to probable death and is playing with them and making car noises. Like my boys do daily.  That little detail brought the story very close to home for me. Don’t cry, don’t cry.




    The one thing that didn’t work for me was Josie’s story line.  I found it to be too out-of-tune with the world that the author created for me to believe it.  What happens to Josie just felt a little too convenient.  It’s not a major part of the story line, so it didn’t bother me too much.




    The ending felt strange to me.  The story felt like it could be finished after this book.  There’s really only one storyline left open and I wonder if it’s enough to keep the whole next book going.  I’m stil going to read the next one because I’m curious what could happen next.  If anyone can pull it off, it’s Emmy!




    Overall, this was a book that I couldn’t put down ( I read it in one day).  It was intense and chilling with characters that I loved.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Exciting

    I wanted to know what happened at the end so i kept reading faster and faster. Wish it was longer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sequel Lives Up to the First Book in the Series If you haven't

    Sequel Lives Up to the First Book in the Series


    If you haven't read the novella that falls between books one and two, <em>Jake and the Other Girl</em>
    , I strongly advise reading it before starting in on book two of the trilogy. It will give you more insight regarding the triangle between Jake, Astrid, and Dean. 

    Goodreads Blurb:
    <blockquote>Trapped in a superstore by a series of escalating disasters, including a monster hailstorm and terrifying chemical weapons spill, brothers Dean and Alex learned how to survive and worked together with twelve other kids to build a refuge from the chaos. But then strangers appeared, destroying their fragile peace, and bringing both fresh disaster and a glimmer of hope. 

    Knowing that the chemical weapons saturating the air outside will turn him into a bloodthirsty rage monster, Dean decides to stay in the safety of the store with Astrid and some of the younger kids. But their sanctuary has already been breached once. . . .

    Meanwhile, Alex, determined to find their parents, heads out into the darkness and devastation with Niko and some others in a recently repaired school bus. If they can get to Denver International Airport, they might be evacuated to safety. But the outside world is even worse than they expected. . . .</blockquote>



    After the disaster with Mr. Appleton and Robbie the group decides they can't trust any of the information they got from the two men that betrayed them. So they load up the repaired bus with the intent being to get Brayden to a hospital or doctor. For the Type Os the plan is to knock them out with sleeping pills and tie them up to prevent them from harming anyone.

    But like many plans, this one doesn't work out as anticipated. In the end Dean and Astrid argue they are too much of a liability being Type Os. Niko agrees, much to Alex's anger, and then end up offloading the drugged Chloe as well. At the last possible minute Caroline and Henry, the twins, decide  that they will stay at the Greenways because it's just too scary out &quot;there.&quot; So Niko, Josie, Alex, Sahalia, Max, Batiste, Ulysses, and Brayden set out for Denver on the bus. From this point on it is as if there are two separate stories being told, one for those braving the outside, hoping for rescue and to send rescue back for the rest, and the rest who feel they must stay to protect the others, or are too young to really grasp what is going on.

    Niko does his best to lead his group, but they are beset by one problem after another, culminating in their losing the bus and risking their friends they left behind by potentially sending it straight back to them. But the bus that returns would be loaded with the enemy, and they have no way to warn them. As they make their way towards the Denver International Airport for the evacuation they've pinned all their hopes on, Niko and Josie develop a close bond, one that eventually blossoms into a romantic relationship. But something happens that stuns them all, and has one member sacrificing themself to protect the rest of the group. 

    Back at the Greenways things aren't going as well as they'd hoped. They were discovered shortly after they'd finished resealing the riot gates. They do what they can by dropping food off the roof, but while all this is going on they'd forgotten about their power, and the lights have suddenly gone out, leaving them in total darkness. Thank goodness they have all those supplies at hand. A few more attacks are weathered, and then they get a huge surprise. Jake is back, telling Astrid he returned for her. While Jake's return increases the tension, it turns out to be a good thing he arrived when he did. 

    Each of the kids matures in some way, with the young ones proving just how resilient youth can be. Each of them learn things about themselves, things they can be proud of as well as things they wish they'd never discovered. The trick will be taking the things they don't like about themselves and turning them into something to be proud of. Not all of them are as successful as others, but then some have the advantage of family to support them, or have extremely strong motivation to make the smart choice(s) going forward.

    Old friends are found, new friends are made, and some miracles take place. It seems as if all is over for the group, but then a missing piece of information is discovered. It looks as if the older kids may be up for one more heart pounding journey to rescue a friend. The only question that remains is who will be going and who will be staying behind?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2014

    "Monument 14" is a great series and this book is a gre

    &quot;Monument 14&quot; is a great series and this book is a great addition to that series. This is book 2. Exciting, scary, sad, and gross. There are even some &quot;Ahhhhhh&quot; moments. Good reading for adults as well as teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1