Customer Reviews for

Sky on Fire (Monument 14 Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Only twelve days have passed since the apocalyptic hailstorm and

    Only twelve days have passed since the apocalyptic hailstorm and earthquake that devastated Monument, Colorado. While other parts of the country were experiencing their own horrific events, Monument and the surrounding area was hit by not only what mother nature handed out, but also by a man-made disaster when a crippling warfare compound was leaked from the nearby NORAD facility.


    Fourteen children were stranded in a Greenway superstore in Monument and forced to survive on their own. Now after holding things together for just short of two weeks, the group has decided to split up. Their faithful leader Niko is taking part of the group and heading for Denver International Airport in hopes of finding family members and arriving in time to participate in the evacuation program. Dean, who has bravely written an account of their adventure so far, decides it is best to remain behind with Astrid, Chloe, and the McKinley twins. Since Dean, Astrid, and Chloe have blood type O which causes them to react violently if exposed to the compound, they hope by staying behind, the rest of the group will have a better chance of reaching the evacuation site safely.


    SKY ON FIRE is the second book in the MONUMENT 14 series by Emmy Laybourne. With the fourteen kids separating into two groups, the story continues in alternating chapters narrated by Dean and his brother Alex. Dean continues to relate the adventures at the Greenway store including someone's attempt to break into the store and the arrival of a group of thugs who threaten to take over and endanger the small group of survivors.


    Alex relates the events that unfold as the rest of the group boards the ravaged school bus and heads toward the airport. They must face the frightening, deserted landscape, the dangerous effects of the compounds, and a few other refugees out to get their hands on anything of value to prolong their own lives. A journey that in ordinary circumstances would take barely over an hour becomes the longest, most dangerous trip of their lives.


    SKY ON FIRE is an all-too-real tale of determination and survival. Fans of Laybourne's first novel MONUMENT 14 will be thrilled to rejoin the kids to learn what happens next.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    Finished in 1 day

    I love these series!!! Hopefully a 3rd book of Josies resque!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    This Book is amazing! I went through Monument 14 and Sky on fire

    This Book is amazing! I went through Monument 14 and Sky on fire within 2 days! I loved it!
    Can't Wait For #3!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sky on Fire is the much awaited sequel to Monument 14 by Emmy La

    Sky on Fire is the much awaited sequel to Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne. Ever since I finished Monument 14, I've been dying to get my hands on Sky on Fire. I have to say, I wasn't disappointed in the least when it came to the sequel. My only minor complaint is that the book was a bit too short, at 213 pages. The sequel continues from the ending of Monument 14 and this time it is told from two POVs, Dean and Alex, who are brothers. I would recommend anyone who hasn't read Monument 14 to not continue with this review because it might contain minor spoilers for it. This book has a dual POV because there are two different settings, one in the greenway store with Dean and Astrid along with three other kids, and the other is Alex on the bus with 5+ others trying to drive 60 miles to the Denver International Airport where it seems to be a sort of safe house meet up for the surviving people. To say that this book didn't keep me on the edge of my seat is a lie. I was frantically flipping the pages trying to find out what happens next in the greenway store then back at the bus. The ending of each chapter is like a mini cliffhanger that makes you read the next chapter (which is told from the other POV) as fast as possible.. and the cycle continued. It was a vicious one that wouldn't let me put down the book at all. While some may think the greenway mall POV is repetitive, since that was the setting of the first book, but it really isn't since the circumstances changed. As for Alex and the rest of the gang, boy, did they get into a lot of crap. I felt so sorry for them at times and prayed that they would all make it back safe to the DIA. I know many people who read Monument 14 thought Dean was a bit too whiny and lovestruck to be a pleasant narrator, but I believe he has redeemed himself in this book. Also, I am sure people will really enjoy the chapters told from Alex's POV. Those were very thrilling! As for the way this book ended, I am not sure if there will be a sequel, the way Laybourne finished the book hints at another possible book, but if she doesn't write one, readers do get a good satisfying ending. All in all, I do recommend this series to fans of post apocalyptic and survival novels, especially fans of male POVs! Though I am not fond of male POVs, I have to say that I really enjoyed this series. 

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book kept me on the edge of my seat. Loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was in love with author Emmy Laybourne┬┐s novel Monument 14. I

    I was in love with author Emmy Laybourne’s novel Monument 14. I remember that I’d read the novel and had been dying from all the unexpected turns that the novel would take and of course there was the ending that set up for a sequel. I’ve been eagerly awaiting Sky on Fire and from a first glance at the cover all I could think was: “You’ve gotta be kidding me! Is that bus broken down again!?” Fans of Monument 14 are gonna love Sky on Fire. Why? Because the suspense never stops. Never.

    Sky on Fire takes starts where Monument 14 ends. The group has split, one side trying to get to the Denver International Airport the other (mostly consisting of people with type O blood) staying inside of the Greenway. Told between the journal entries of Dean’s younger brother Alex and Dean’s POV (point of view) we get to find out what happens next to the Monument 14 group inside of the town of Monument.

    For the rest of the group and Alex the world beyond the Greenway is filled with bandits, death and type O rage monsters. To make matters worse, one of the group’s most valuable members is revealed to be type O. As Alex and the group descend what’s left of the streets in their school bus they are attacked by a group of ex-army cadets. The cadets steal their supplies and leave the group to fend for themselves. The group is left with only one option: To get to the Denver International Airport before things go from bad to worse, but to do this they have to overcome obstacles that this new world has to hold.

    Dean, Astrid, the twins and Chloe are still inside of the Greenway. While inside of the Greenway Dean and Astrid begin to hear people outside of the Greenway trying to get in. The four inside of the Greenway have to deal with being type O and what they’ll do until they are rescued. Dean and Astrid fight and deny their attraction to each other. Just when things can’t get any more intense a past member from Monument 14 returns to the Greenway and the same cadets that stole the bus from Alex and the rest of Monument 14 show up at the Greenway. Their intentions: To take over.

    I’ve really loved reading Monument 14 all of the dystopia and watching the world outside die really had me falling because I hadn’t read anything like it before. Sky on Fire was, I felt, not as lengthy in plot as Monument 14 was but it did have something that I felt Monument 14 didn’t have and that is plot twists. Literally every chapter contained or ended with a cliff-hanger or plot twist. Just when I’d think that I knew everything about the novel BAM! Plot twist that changes everything. Right when I thought that I couldn’t be surprised any more there’d be a plot twist that forced me to read on until the novel concluded. Seriously, it was awesome.

    I found Sky on Fire to be a lot more dramatic than the novel before it. Dean’s chapters were more rage-filled with him being pushed to his limits like a character straight out of the Walking Dead (the show… definitely not the comics). Alex on the other hand was being forced to come past events that a kid his age shouldn’t have to undergo. I honestly preferred Alex’s chapters because I liked seeing the outside world in the Monument 14 universe. I thought that Alex’s chapters were ones that were more heartfelt and astonishing compared to Dean who is constantly getting chapters filled with action (and once you read the novel you’ll get that that was a pun).

    The ending in Sky on Fire is awesome. The last few dozen pages were fast-paced and had me flipping pages to find out what happens next. I have to admit that I was glad for the ending, but am at the same time a little bit shocked at the choices of a certain character. Do I think there will be a sequel? Oh yeah. What do I think that sequel will hold? I’m unsure and want to leave it at that. I’d recommend Sky on Fire to the readers that finished Monument 14 and to readers that are looking for a new dystopia series like no other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    Loved it!! Great continuation of the last book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    I got it

    I got it!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2015

    Fantastic

    This book is a page turner, keeps you def on your toes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Awesome

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Sky On Fire

    This was, in my opinion, the best book in the series. Sky On Fire was filled with action and kept me reading. I wanted to know what happened next. I did not stop reading this, I read it straight through to the very finish in one day.
    It's interesting following two different points of view throughout the story: brothers Dean and Alex. Alex has gone ahead with most of the kids in the superstore to try to drive to Denver, where they believe they'll find their parents. Dean has chosen to stay behind in the Greenway with three little kids and his crush, Astrid, because of his O blood type that causes him to turn into a murderer when exposed to a certain chemical compound. Both groups have thrilling adventures.
    There is a lot of character development in this book, particularly concerning Dean, Alex, Josie, and Sahalia. Sky On Fire is, all in all, a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2014

    Absolutly Amazing

    This is a truely terrific book. It was pretty dark sometimes, but the suspence was perfect. It kept you at the edge of your seat, all of the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    WOW!!!

    I have waited for this sequel to come out and it did not disappoint! It was a fantastic, edge-of-my-seat read that I couldn't put down until the end. My only complaint is that I read through it in 12 hours but I can't fault the author for that. I am hoping there's a 3rd book coming in the future and if there is I will definitely be reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Opinion Anyone?

    This book was really captivating in a sense that makes you realise that time goes by quickly and you must take chances and spend time wisely.Being the reader yoy see the characters grow and watch as you learn that the worst things can bring out the best in people,or the worst.It really does surprise me that more people have'nt commented yet,but anyway toodles!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Fantastic

    I loved every word.
    You are a great story writer. Dont ever stop.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Kate

    It atoned for the last book's ending that made me so furious. But i likd this one a lot more. The chainsaw action was awsome. :D

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2