Customer Reviews for

Skybreaker

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(70)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    You MUST read Kenneth Oppel's Airborn books!

    Oh my goodness! This is one amazing story. The second half had me gasping myself, and it was hardly possible to quit reading! As with the first book, Oppel writes with such clarity, and the images of the ghost ship and the air, and EVERYTHING just swirls around you! It's wonderful.

    Besides this, I am truly amazed at Kenneth Oppel's knowledge of animals. Everything is so realistic--I almost believe these creatures can exist somewhere!

    And I just adore Matt Cruse. A more lovable, complex main character I could not imagine. I absolutely love whenever Oppel takes his character around the "Airborn" concept. He IS the sky. The icarus resemblance sent a shiver down my spine. I always wait for that heart-stopping moment when Matt will throw himself out to the sky once more.

    Gosh, I love these books. I can't even get my mind around them!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Worth the time...

    It's worth the time to read. It was a great mix of adventure, romance, and suspense.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    very enjoyable

    good action. Keeps your interest! I will look for more by this author.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Best book ever

    Kenneth opel never makes a bbad bok you will love thia book his series are wonderfull there is third book coming out i love charactors of course matt and kate

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Original,Inventive

    Love this series. This series is original and inventive, you will fall in love with the characters and the adventure.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Anonymouse

    Yet another outstanding book. Kenneth oppel never stops amazing me. Hope that he continues this series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Ananomus

    BEST BOOK OF ALL TIME!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    This book is awesome

    Skybreaker is one of the best books I read in my life. The story plot of the book is well done because the author puts the squeals correctly and makes sense. Skybreaker is about a boy name Matt Cruse searching for the wealth of mysterious airship called Hyperion. The problem of getting to the place is that the Hyperion is on the altitude of 20,000ft which no airplane can get to. The main character is Matt, Kate, Nadira, and Hal. Matt is the only person who knows the Hyperion¿s coordinate and Hal have the ship that can go up to 20000ft. There is lots of events when getting to the Hyperion and there is a climax which happens on when they get in the Hyperion. The reason why Matt and other wants to get Hyperion is because it is said that Hyperion contain everlasting riches that will last 5 generations. So this is why I like this book very much.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    Intense

    This is a great second novel and is best experienced after reading Airborn.If anyone is looking for a great trio this is the place to go.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic Adventure- with a twist

    OH man. I devoured this book is a few hours depsite its rather large size. I was so absorbed and the pages (get ready for a pun) flew by.

    This book continues Matt Cruses saga. When it starts, he is serving as an intern on the airship Flotsam. The Flotsam gets blown off course and as it rises to heights untraveled, it discovers a 40-yr-old mystery: the location of the Hyperion, a ghost ship legended to have riches upon riches on board. Because of some complications, the Flotsam must end it's journey, but that doens't mean the journey ends for Matt Cruse. With the Hyperion's coordinates and thoughts of riches in mind, Matt Cruse along with the heiress Kate de Vries and a mysterious gypsy named Nadira, set out on a perilous journey.

    I think this book maybe even better than Airborn. It was filled with the same swashbuckling action and ripping good adventure, and the romance between a certain cabin boy and young heiress grew even tenser. Now there was even a love-quadrangle of sorts with some other new characters thrown it. I think the character development was considerably better this time around, and we finally got some emotion from Mr. Cruse.

    There is just something about these books I adore. They are fun and thrilling, and there is nothing about them that makes me groan in dismay. I think that why these books get five-stars. I'm sure they could be better, but there is nothing about them that I dislike. And the visuals are awesome. I've said it once and I'll say it again: these books would be GREAT movies.

    If you any reluctant male readers, recommened these books to them. They appeal to a wide audience. Easy enough for middle school readers, but older readers will love them too. Both boys and girls.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Awesome

    Absolutely an excellent choice for anyone to read. All of Oppel's books are great pieces of literature with amusing characters and a well planned plot. Please read, because you will be highly satisfied. This is a pleasing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    I loved Airborn, and this sequel exceeded my expectations. Filled with action, old-fashioned adventure, mystery, and romance, this is a book you wont be able to put down. Oppels style of writing is very descriptive, but not too complicated. Some airborn characters return(matt, kate, miss simpkins)along with a cast of brilliant new characters. If you havent read airborn, it is ok to read Skybreaker first. The stories are pretty seperate, it is not necassery to know the events in the first book.
    I cant wait to read the third book!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book By A Great Author.

    Kenneth Oppel is a great author. I have not read any book by him that I did not like. He knows how to draw you into the story. This is another great book by him.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Amazing

    I had to ead this for a book club at school and i loved it the most out of everybody. I loved it so much I bought the first oneand lived it too cant wait to read the third one, plus its co written by the co author of Goliath which i loved (read that series too)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Great Book

    Interesting plot and characters, definetly worth reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    very good

    This was one of the best books I ever read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A fantastic story that is sure to keep you begging for more!

    Skybreaker is the worth-while sequel to Kenneth Oppel's book Airborne. In these books a world is visited that would perhaps be modern day earth save for one thing, airplanes have not yet been invented, and the sky is ruled by massive and wondrous airships. If you have already read Airborne then you will be happy to hear that many of the same characters are present in Skybreaker and are accompanied by new and different people who all strive for the same thing. For those of you who have not yet adventured into this book's predecessor, I would undoubtedly recommend that you do because it holds many key story points.
    At the end of Airborne, Matt Cruse fought and defeated the dreaded pirate Vikram Spzirglas. Not long after this, he is given a reward for his part in exposing the pirate's secret lair; with this reward Matt achieves perhaps one of his more prominent dreams, to attend the Airship Academy. On a training trip from the academy Matt and the rest of the crew with him discover a long lost airship known as the Hyperion, and with this discovery comes the main plot of the story. While Matt and his friends seek to board the Hyperion and plunder its treasure, they are chased and hounded by pirates seeking to get in on the treasures that lay in wait upon the mysterious ghost ship.
    In conclusion I would undoubtedly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a good tale about love, adventure, and fighting from the bottom to get to the top.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Second Book In The Series

    Must read for anyone who is iffy about continuing the series. Exciting, suspenseful, and yes the two love birds are still around.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    A fantastic novel. I never wanted to put it down. I am 11 and read the first book, "Airborn" at camp this summer. I was so intrigued by the story that I wanted to get the sequel, "Skybreaker", right away when I got home. Can't wait to read the third.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Superb, an excellent book

    Skybreaker is my favorite book of all time. I have compared it to books like: Phillip Pullman¿s Dark Materials, Harry Potter, the City of Ember, Lord of The Rings, Narnia and Eldest, and this book is my favourite-by far. This book truly soars sky-high. Skybreaker is an excellent book it will leave you gripping the edges of your chair, anxiously waiting to turn the page. I experienced a very powerful mental bond between the book and I. Wherever I went, Skybreaker came along. My biggest fear is heights, and those of you that are acrophobic don¿t become intimidated, this book will truly have your eyes glued to the pages, from the first word. The story is very unpredictable and suspenseful. I often compare the thrill of this book to riding a rollercoaster- it twists and turns and truly leaves you mesmerized. I truly would award Skybreaker five stars, and would recommend it to anyone. The plot is well organized and very clever, boredom is not a factor of this book and basically, I have read many books, but I have never read anything as exciting or compelling as Skybreaker-bottom-line. Well done Mr. Oppel.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4