Customer Reviews for

Skylight Confessions

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    ....

    I got this book while ready to leave barnes and noble. i usually read YA books and i hadnt found anything good that day. Before leaving, my mom saw it and saw the price (bargain book...yup thats how she picks her books) feeling discuraged and wanting a book, i got it. but when i got home all i did was store it in my bookcase, it wasnt until like 7 months later that i had nothing to read and found it again. i had half the book in an hour. This is one of the most amazing, touching, scary novels i have ever read. it was so heart wrenching that i couldnt finish it. It is an amazing book. you see all the changes that happen and the you find yourself lost and feeling empty at the departure of the characters as the story goes by. this book will prove to be amazing for adults. But i felt really really depressed by the middle.like life was being shown to me, and it was really hard to see that all happening in the story could be so true in real life. it could happen to me. i couldnt finish it. i felt like crying and really sad. i know i will finish it one day. i have not read any book so...amzingly crafted. so i trully recomend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2009

    Good read

    This was my second Alice Hoffman novel; I bought it while out of town to keep me busy in the hotel room at night. It did the job and I was intrigued to see that it followed the same pattern as the firt I read, Third Angel. It was three stories in one whose main characters had soem connection. I enjoyed it very much. I am curious if more of her novels follow the same format. I look forward to reading more of her work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic

    With the death of her dad, seventeen years old Arlie Singer feels all alone, her mother having died years ago. She vows that the first male she meets is her true love whom she will marry. Yale student John Moody stops to ask Arlie for directions, but instead of continuing his journey she seduces him as her true love. John returns to school, but Arlie follows. They marry, she gives birth to Sam, and when his parents retire, the couple moves into the Glass Slipper, an all glass home.----------------- John ignores his troubled offspring and has even less time for his wife. Arlie knows she made a mistake when she meets George Snow, who cleans her home¿s windows. Though she has a baby by George she will not leave her son for him. Not even ten years into their dysfunctional marriage Arlie dies from breast cancer.------------------ Sam is an angry man who hates his father and his stepmother as John remarried almost to the day of Arlie's death. Sam vanishes while his younger sister Blanca feels like an outsider since Cynthia became her stepmother. When she has a chance she flees to open up a bookstore in London though her nanny Meredith, who along with John see Arlie's ghost, has another offspring to raise as Cynthia gives John a third offspring.--------------- The key cast members seem so real in their dysfunctional relationships and their overall destructive personal behavior that in turn the story line is depressing yet there is twinkling of possible redemption if one accepts responsibility for errors. The key to this somewhat morbid tale is the characters as the sins of the parents (including the stepmother) are replayed by the children. The paranormal element seems too Hamlet-like, but still fans of deep family dramas will want to follow the seemingly ill-fated obliteration of people who fear the truth when that is the only means of salvation from one¿s destructive genes.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Gorgeously grippin g Gorgeously gripping.

    Worth reading. I loved 'Practical Magic' so much (I still like it better) but this was totally different and seperate and I was not dissapointed. The characters still stay with me and I was emerged in the book start to finish. I was caught off by how much I really loved this. Thankyou Alice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Another wonderful Hoffman novel.

    Every time I pick up an unread Hoffman novel I am amazed by her skill with the written word. The way she can form a sentence, twist it into something ethereal and beautiful, it always leaves me breathless. I always feel cleansed and well-read after a Hoffman novel, as though the books I finished leading up to her works were trivial and here is something of worth to spend my time on.

    Following four generations of the Moody family who live in the Glass Slipper in suburban Connecticut, Skylight Confessions begins with Arlyn Singer and John Moody as they meet under strange circumstances and form a bond that will affect their children and their grandchildren to come. Under the glass roof and clear walls of their house, secrets are kept and hidden. Mysterious occurrences are swept under the rug, and lives are forever changed by the decisions of others. Following the Moody children into their separate lives as they're drawn back to the Glass Slipper, Hoffman tells a truly character driven story, so intent are we upon Arlyn and John, and the residents of the glass house that we easily forget there's a world beyond them.

    Skylight Confessions contains the usual hint of magic that Hoffman is known for, but the writing is a little less sad than the previous works I've read by her. Or maybe I'm just accustomed to her tone now. The story of the Moody children is beautiful and touching, and in such a short book it's amazing that we come to know them as well as we do.

    Another remarkable Hoffman with all my favorite trademarks, empathetic with a hint of magical realism. All in all, a fabulous book and another great addition to my library. Highly recommended to those who have not read an Alice Hoffman novel yet.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    Excellent read

    The characters really capture the imagination and you can see the book open up like a movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2008

    Best of Alice

    This was the best novel I have read of Ms. Hoffman's to date. It was a grave and ensightful view into life and beyond. Love and loss, and human beauty that never dies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2007

    Great book for a weekend read

    I have been reading Alice Hoffman for many years and always enjoy her style of writing. I particularly enjoyed this book and really felt that she brought the characters alive. I really cared about them and didn't want the book to end. Though the book is sad, I think it gives the reader hope at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No one is better at the art of writing than Alice Hoffman. She

    No one is better at the art of writing than Alice Hoffman. She is magical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2013

    Great book

    Mystical, thought-provoking, and very well-written

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Great book

    One of my favorite alice hoffman books, a wonderful journey through different generations of a familh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    SKYCLAN CLEARING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am very disappointed in this book, my first Alice Hoffman nove

    I am very disappointed in this book, my first Alice Hoffman novel and it just didn't hold my attention. I'm not giving up, however, plan to try and try again as the descriptons of her other books do look intriguing !!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Read this

    Enthralling, mesmerising, heartbreaking. I bawled my eyes out. Read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    Depressing

    When I first started reading the book I couldn't stay with it. I didn't know if anything would actually happen. I almost didn't bother to finish it. It was kind of interesting enough to keep me reading til the end. I guess I had some hope for it, but not really. This was the first novel I've read by Alice Hoffman. I didn't like this one well enough to read any of her others. Good thing I only paid $3 for it at Dollar General.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    one of my favorites

    I love Alice Hoffman and have read most of her books, but this was a standout for me. Truly enjoyed it. I kept thinking about the characters. It is not necessarily an easy read, so if you are looking for fluff, turn elsewhere. But it is realistic and truly engaging. I kept thinking about it weeks after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not likely to keep you up at night

    The book started off horribly. The initial premise was so far-fetched that it was hard to take seriously. The writing was horrendous and jumped from idea to idea with little cohesiveness. If you stick with it, it does get better. The characters that started off dry and detached became more interesting when forced to face their own character flaws. The book in the end left a better impression than its individual parts. If you like a little romance/family intrigue and a little exploration of the supernatural, it would be a good quick read. Beyond that, there's not much to offer that you haven't seen before.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Not recommended

    I could not even get halfway through reading this book. The characters were flat, story was confusing and writing style was boring.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    MY FAVORITE MOST DEFINITELY

    I read The Third Angel first. I thought it was the most touching, haunting and memorable Alice Hoffman book I'd ever read until I read Skylight Confessions. The story is sad but realistic. The characters are well-defined and easy to identify with. I was also going through a rough emotional period when I read it. It served its purpose as source of entertainment and as a means of therapy. I recommend this book to anyone who is interested in reading anyone of her novels, but, I warn those who do that her others may pale in comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of my top 10 faves.

    This was a book I finished last week and cannot stop thinking about. The characters were like none other and the plot is so fantastic that words don't describe it. Very meloncholy and bittersweet- not a light- hearted read at all. Wonderful- Alice Hoffman is genius.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3