Customer Reviews for

Skyship Academy: Crimson Rising

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great book

    I would recomend this book for many people. It is one of the best books i have ever read.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Action-Packed & Perfectly Crafted - A Phenomenal Debut

    What do you get when you mix a little sci-fi with a smidge dystopian, and top it all off with some incredible world-building? You get Skyship Academy: The Pearl Wars, that's what. And it is one phenomenally written and executed book, with plenty of action and a plot that only thickens.

    Nick James has created this vast world that is still our Earth, but so different. The three different factions - Skyship, the Unified Party, and the Fringers - have these politics that govern them and it's complicated, but James explains it in ways that make it interesting and easy to get. His descriptions of air ships, the broiling Surface, and the Chosen Cities are vivid. The reader will be right there, alongside Jesse or Cassius.

    That brings me to the main character: Jesse Fisher. How can the reader not love Jesse? He's this uncoordinated, scrawny kid with a lot to live up to. Without any family, he always feels alone. He knows he's not going to be the best Pearl agent - or even a decent one at that - but he strives to do well, despite it all.

    Cassius, like Jesse, is alone; but unlike Jesse, Cassius succeeds in everything he does. The two boys are on opposite sides of an imposing war, fighting to find the Pearls that power most of their planet. Their struggle to discover who they are, in the wake of bristling new powers, drives the story. Secondary characters like Avery, Alkine, Madame, and Jesse's teammates Eva and Skandar all add some extra depth to the story.

    The Pearl Wars is a rare gem of a book that will keep readers on the edge of their seat and blow their minds with the startling conclusion. There was very little that I saw coming in this book and the one thing I did see coming, was miniscule in comparison to the bigger picture. I'm insisting that you read this one yourself. The world-building is astonishingly well-thought out, the characters are fully developed, and everything about the Pearls left me in shock. Nick James is an author to watch and now that I've started this series, I know I'll be unable to ever put it down. I need the next one now!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    A lovely weekend read?? A lovely weekend read...

    An easy read with a fun and interesting plot. Great for a relaxing weekend read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2012

    A great read!

    Skyship Academy drew me in and kept me hooked through the whole read. Nick James created an amazing world in this novel and set the stage for an action packed series. I'm definitely looking forward to the sequel.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    LOVED LOVED LOVED!

    The writing had me hooked from the first page . I just flew threw the book & the entricate plot intrigued me to no end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE! I know when many peo

    BEST BOOK I HAVE EVER READ IN MY LIFE!
    I know when many people finish a book, they jump around and say, "wow, this is my favorite book of all time!" And then the next book they read is suddenly the best, and so on. For Shyskip Academy, this book has been my all-time favorite for five years. There is pure action, breath-taking adventure, laugh-your-ass-off comedy (from Skander and Jesse) and suspense that will have you pulling your hair out! I fell in love with this book from the author, Nick James, who is one of my favorite authors, from the action and adventure, from all the characters, from all the plot-twists, and most of all, Jesse Fisher. Please, read this book. You truly won't regret it. (ps: the third book is the best in this whole series) (pps: it's called 'Strikeforce')

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    To below

    Thats awesome!! What was he like?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No joke

    Nivk James subbed as a teacher in my math class... badazz right?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Pearls

    An enjoyable read from beginning to end. I saw this book at a schoolastic book fair and was recomended by a friend who said it was hard to follow but in reality it is a simple book to follow. I can tell there will be a second book just as action packed if not more than this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    Book 2 was as good as Book 1 IMO!! My Opinion: My opinion is ver

    Book 2 was as good as Book 1 IMO!!
    My Opinion: My opinion is very simple: I loved it!! What an awesome installment in what is becoming one of my favorite series! This book blends action, suspense, and science fiction perfectly!




    In the Pearl Wars, we're introduced to a post-apocalyptic/dystopian society where sources of energy, or Pearls, are desperately needed, so when one comes down from space, the race is on to see who will find it first. Enter Jesse and Cassius, one working for the Skyship Academy and the other working for the Unified Party, who find out that they are brothers. We also find out that they are aliens, which really intrigued me. Now they are both trying to learn how to use their powers (Cassius burns from the inside and has a bad habit of catching rooms on fire without meaning to, and Jesse can open Pearls, which comes in handy in this destitute world where they are in such demand). They are both also on the run and separated from each other, so they each have their own exciting adventures in the book before they come together for what turns out to be a big showdown. 




    I often find that sequels to books that I absolutely fall in love with aren't as good as the first, but that's not the case here. The writing was just as exciting, and the twists and turns that the story takes kept me on the edge of my seat! The characters, good and bad, are all well written, and the pacing is perfect. I honestly can't say who I like better, Jesse or Cassius, since I go back and forth all through the book, but I think that makes it all the more exciting! 




    In summary, I absolutely loved this installment in the Skyship Academy series and recommend it to fans of action packed YA sci-fi stories. I'm giving it a very enthusiastic 5 stars :D




    I received a copy of this book free of charge from NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Great read, kept me interested.

    I saw it on the shelf at the library, and now I'm glad I did. I didn't lose interest as the plot moved from on twist to the next. I need to look up when the next is coming out (or if it already did) and get it!

    One warning: it does stop at a bit of a cliffhanger ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    Chesterfield Academy

    Art Class

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 17 of 18 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1