Customer Reviews for

The Skystone: The Dream of Eagles Vol. 1

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    If you are a reader of King Arthur, this is a must read. Fascina

    If you are a reader of King Arthur, this is a must read. Fascinating account of what may have been the true story, with historical facts, people and geography as context. This book will get you started on the Camulod Chronicles in their entirety, and will lead to many hours of exciting and rewarding reading in your future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    I just completed this book for my second time and for the first time moved on to book two. I read this the first time round many years ago and wanted to refresh myself before preceeding and it was certainly worth my while. Jack Whyte has done a remarkable job at beginning this series and without a doubt this was a well constructed book. The characters in these pages have depth and there are times when you will laugh at a quirck a character has and unless you had not had some much depth with the character the statement would have not had humor. It takes a large amount of skill as a author to be able to develope characters in this manner and Whyte has managed to write as few other author I have encountered have. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Incredible series

    Of all the arthurian authors i have read, jack whyte is one of, if not the best. These books are just fantastic and you will not regret purchasing them. The characters are so well developed you will read these more than once. You will care deeply for the characters in every book. Get this book and enjoy the read. It will be very hard to put down, i guarantee. If you like reading books about king arthur or this genre this whole series is a must read.
    Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    First book in a great series about Britain after the Romans left.

    Gave each of my men a copy of this first book for Christmas. Jack Whyte is one of the best authors I've read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    LOVE this book and series

    i read Skystone every couple of years and am currently re-reading it. each time, i find something new. the characters are so well drawn that even when considerable time passes, and sometimes the characters themselves, you're just as invested in the new generation because you love the forefathers so much.

    never thought i would be effortlessly reading and thoroughly enjoying passages that describe metallurgy. love the author's voice regardless of which character is speaking/writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    One of my favorite books ever

    An enjoyable, filling, satisfying read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2008

    This Book Was Good, I Guess...

    Here is the thing. He knows his history, thats for sure. His knowledge of Romanized Britain in the 4th-5th century is remarkable. He goes into great detail about what life was like back then, and even more about how the Celtic and Roman way of living intertwined. The story got bogged down at times, which was tough, I just did not get enough of what I was buying the book for in the 1st place - King Arthur. Now granted you have to read them all to get there, but it was just not happening. He also was trying way too hard when the story shifted to sex. If I buy a book because I think its about King Arthur - do I reall want to read about how 'he could still smell her juices on his upper lip'? the answer is NO NO NO A THOUSAND TIMES NO. Way too much described sex, too much of Rome, too much boredom. I would not bother with this one my friends...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Great escape!

    This is historical fiction at its finest. I rank Jack up there with Bernard Cornwell as tops in his skill as a storyteller and attentiveness to historical details. This series is armchair time-traveling at its very best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2006

    Engaging but not quite there

    A good read, but some characters need development. The plot lines are quite decently sketched but sometimes predictable. Warrants a re-read after a couple of years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Different Take on Arthurian Legend

    A great story, The Skystone suggests that the origins of legendary Camelot could have been a colony of Roman/Britons determined to save all that was best about the ideals of the now-crumbling Roman Empire. Arthur's grandfather is the hero of this tale. He is a metalworker who finally manages to smelt a substance out of a meteorite, which when combined with iron creates a beautiful and powerful metal, which I suspect is a type of steel. This we know will probably become the blade of Excalibur. But to find out, I look forward to reading the next book in the series. There's plenty of action in this yarn, but also lots of conversation. The characters talk and talk. And talk. Just leaving a room is a chance to expound at length, for no character says anything in 25 words that can be said in 250. Otherwise, an enjoyable tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2005

    Fascinating Retelling of the Arthurian Legend

    The idea behind this book is marvelous. Mr. Whyte has created unforgettable characters. One is Publius Varrus, the narrator, but the most fascinating character is Caius Britannicus. A man of sound moral, a man straight as an arrow, a bright, clever man with a magnetic personality. It is so beautiful that his name is Britannicus. The idea of the forming of the future Camelot is masterful. I loved this book. It is among my very favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2005

    Fascinating re-telling of pre-Arthur time

    My second reading of this book proves that my first impression still stands. The idea behind this book is marvelous. Mr. Whyte has created unforgettable characters. One is Publius Varrus, the narrator, but the most fascinating character is Caius Britannicus. A man of sound moral, a man straight as an arrow, a bright, clever man with a magnetic personality. It is so beautiful that his name is Britannicus. The idea of the forming of the future Camelot is masterful. I loved this book. It is among my very favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2003

    Couldn't believe how wonderful this story is!!

    I was introduced to these stories while on a deployment with the military, much to my chagrin! I finished the first book in about 14 hours, and then had to wait for 2 months to get the next Camulod tale. I have recommended these books to 7 people, and all have given glowing praise. Cannot recommend these highly enough.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous pre┬┐Arthurian tale that reads more like a historical fiction

    By the latter half of the fourth century, anyone with a fraction of intelligence could see the pending apocalypse as the Roman Empire is collapsing. Places on the outer rim are becoming increasingly dangerous as civilization nears collapse. Many of the nobles flee for the sanctuary of Rome, but those who remain behind in places like Britain struggle to survive. <P>Gaius Publius Varrus recognizes the imminent collapse and worries about the future of Britain. With his closest friend General Caius Cornelius Britannicus, Publius decides it is time for Britain to begin its own heritage that breaks away from Rome into something greater before his land descends into an age of darkness. Honor over betrayal and justice over unfairness is his goal symbolized by the forging of a special sword made from the rock that fell from the heavens so that his great-grandchildren can thrive in a wondrous world. <P> THE SKYSTONE, book one of Jack Whyte¿s Camulod Chronicles, is a fabulous pre¿Arthurian tale that reads more like a historical fiction due to the inclusion of the mundane everyday life especially that of the soldier. Done in a first person narrative that is told in retrospect by Publius looking back over seven decades, the engaging story line is loaded with historical tidbits that make this book a must read for the Camelot crowd and the ancient historical buffs. Though the women are not quite as developed as the men, readers will want to obtain book 2 THE SINGING SWORD that continues to chronicle the pre-legend days of yore. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2001

    Read these books!!!

    As the first in a series of six books, with a seventh on the way, 'The Skystone' introduces you to a time and place long since past. Collectively known as 'The Camulod Chronicles', each book will leave you longing for the next. You will come to know the characters as if you knew them personally, feeling every emotion like it was your own. Whyte makes the legend of King Author so believable, you'll forget it is just a legend, or is it...........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2000

    I'd give this one a hundred stars!

    A completely original, beautifully written, poingant, and sometimes humorous first installment to an Arthur epic. This is a story of the struggle to anticipate and survive an apocalypse: the fall of the Roman Empire. This book creates a beleivable historical world and lays the foundation for subsequent titles in this series. It contains meticulous historical detail without being dry, believable and well-developed characters, and sumptuous descriptions. It grips the reader from the very first page and it just gets better and better. A yummy read! Reader beware: You will want to read all of this series after you finish this first installment. I loved every page of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2000

    A wonderful read...

    This book is great! Once I finished it I could not wait to get my hands on the subsequent novels. This series of novels by Jack Whyte is my first real exposure to the legend of Arthur and Merlin. What I appreciate most about Whyte's treatment is that he makes it all seem possible--that these two men actually did exist (as some say). I cannot wait until Metamophosis comes out in paper back! And...I plan on reading more about Arthur. I'm really hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2000

    The best book ever written

    This is the best book ive ever read about the Arthurian tales. And then Jack Whyte, the author, involved realism with blending in facts about the Roman Army and the history of Rome was just brilliant!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2000

    If you are interested in ancient Rome, or Arthurian England, this is the book for you...

    If you think history is dry, then let me recommend that you try historic novels. And in that genre, Jack Whyte is a master. This is a great story.<P> As well, I have read The Singing Sword, and will next read the other three books in the series.<P> These books, the Camulod series, are based on history--the history of that period just before the demise of the Roman Empire, when it had been occupying England for 500 years.<P> The author has obviously spent a great deal of time and effort researching every phase of the period, and as well is a great story teller.<P> If you like stories (and who doesn't) and you enjoy good writing, you will like these books.<P>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2