Customer Reviews for

Skyward

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Book was great!

    I thought this book was a wonderful read.please don't read harriet klausner's review. She always writes more than is necessary and i have stopped reading her reviews because she has ruined many a book for me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Mary Alice Monroe writes so well. Shares my concern for our environment and all living things. Always look for anything she writes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fell under the spell of this book

    I absolutely could not put down this book. I fell in love with nearly all the characters, and found myself going back to re-read passages while I was still in the middle of the book.

    I loved some passages so much that I read them out loud to my (somewhat reluctant) husband, some while sitting on the beach where I'm sure other beach-goers thought I was crazy. I spent an entire vacation referring back to things I'd learned in the book, or points that were especially moving to me.

    Every time I thought the story line was going to go one way, the author surprised me by doing something completely different with the plot. The characters were not just believable, but entirely plausible.

    I highly recommend this book to fellow animal lovers, and people who will not tolerate reading bad prose, no matter how good the story is. This book will not disappoint.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for all

    I enjoyed this book very much. It had romance, sadness and family struggles of every day living. I am a bird lover and learned a lot about the raptors that was presented in an interesting way as part of this story. Mary Alice Monroe is a new author for me and I have enjoyed every book I have read so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Interesting, romantic, touching, and exciting all in one.

    I really enjoyed this book from beginning to end. The characters are believable and likeable, and the author's descriptions so clear that I could picture each of them in my mind. And I learned things about birds that I found very interesting. The last few chapters are very thrilling and I found myself reading very quickly to see what happens! I will look for more books by Mary Alice Monroe.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2007

    Unexpected Joy

    At first I didnt know if this book was going to be any good.(With the birds n all)..but soon after reading i was just hooked on it. The Characters were so believable and loveable. I dont know how she did it but i loved the way she used the birds in this book. It made it for an even more interesting read. I have to say that this was my favorite read of the summer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2004

    Soaring Read!

    I loved THE BEACH HOUSE, Monroe's earlier work, because of her finely drawn relationships and also because of her obvious love for and knowledge of wildlife. In SKYWARD, once again I was caught up in her characters, and I learned so much about eagles, hawks--even vultures! The book brings you to a new world and leaves you both inspired and more aware of the world we inhabit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Fine elationship drama

    Harris Henderson is in shock from the medical report that informs him that his beloved five-year-old daughter Marion suffers from the worst type of juvenile diabetes. Desperate he advertises for a caregiver, hoping to have someone apply to live in his isolated bird sanctuary and rehabilitation center in the wilderness in the South Carolina Low Country. However, he feels lucky when a registered pediatric nurse answers his ad. Weary Ella Majors feels burned out helplessly watching children die after a decade in the ER; she feels the change from Vermont to Carolina will rejuvenate her. The two agree on a one-year contract after a one-month trial period.<P> Harris soon finds himself surrounded by two-legged prey. Besides his new employee, a teen is sentenced to giving community time at the center for shooting a bird. Marian¿s druggie mother arrives causing havoc for one all. However, amidst these intruders, Harris and Ella fall in love even while the nurse also loves her patient.<P> This strong contemporary romance stays above the soap opera level that the plot could have become because the big three members of the cast seems very real as they reach out to one another. The birds and their home provide an atypical background so that the audience will appreciate the way Mary Alice Monroe spins it into the tale. The teen enables the reader to see how much the adults care, but the mother is too pathetic too matter except in adding unnecessary tension to a powerful human drama.<P> Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Wonderful Nature Story

    Excellent book. I read it twice before buying for my Nook so it will always be at hand. This is a book that you will probably read over and over. It is a must for anyone interested in our avian friends, conservation, and nature. Good storyline, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2012

    Outstanding story and plot lines. Well worth reading a second time.

    The nurse is dedicated but burned out. She comes to take care of his diabetic daughter but comes to love both her and her father. The father is dedicated to his birds of prey sancuary/hospital. Amid turmoil he comes to love and depend on his daughter's nurse. A very moving story of birds and people and their needs for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1