BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slam

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    Great Story

    This ia a wonderful book. I love the way Nick Hornby writes. This is a book that every teenager should read, whether sexually active or not. Makes you think twice about decisions in life.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    Slam review SMP

    I am doing this review on the book Slam by Nick Hornby. I think the book Slam was a very good book. It was a serious book but also a funny book with good humor. Hornby is a great writer. The main character in this book is Sam. He is a teenage boy. His mom gave birth to him at a very early age, and she made sure that Sam knew that teenage pregnancy's get in the way of being a young adult. Sam has a girlfriend named Alicia. And one day, Alicia drops a huge bombshell on Sam...she's pregnant. Sam knows that he is not ready to be a father. This book is about the struggles Sam has being a teenage dad. This book taught me a lot about making good choices so I can have the best opportunity's for myself when I get older. I really recommend this book for anybody, it's a great read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    SLAM

    I've always looked for literature that I can really relate to so I can be able to understand the story and theme that much better. Nick Hornby wrote something that honestly made an impact on my life.

    I am 17 years old and I also have been skateboarding for quite some time. When I started to read this book, I saw something in the main character I saw in myself and that most teenagers, if not most people see in themselves. Sam is someone of individuality but at the same time is lost and needs guidance. He didn't really realize that until things started to get hectic and change drastically.

    I can relate to this book almost exactly, except for the pregnancy lol. This is a very good book if you interested in realism, theme-orientated books (teaches a good lesson), and in the unexpected. I could have read the book in one sitting if I had had the time. You definitely get wrapped up in the conflict and the realism of the book. This is a definite must-have for teenagers and parents of teenagers.

    The only thing is that it may seem like kind of a grade school level book but I think that was done on purpose by the author to come from the perspective of a teenager.

    Overall, 5 out of 5.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    My opionion

    I was on vacation with my family and found this book in one of the bedrooms of where we were staying at I examined the book and said to myself I havent read a book of my choice for a while so while I'm here I'll set a goal for myself and see how this book is showing its point of being on the shelf in this bedroom and I thought man I would like what had happened to end up in a diffrent way for Sam and everyone else but see the thing is it woudnt be this book Slam it would be a totally diffrent story and it has it pros and its cons and my opinion its a bitter sweet story and I do agree on other peaples views on it this very story. And I have run out of how I would love to make my point of view stand out to show how I feel at the very least

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Mariah to whoever told me to come here

    Buhbye.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    austin

    Who wants to fuq

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    To me the writing didn't seem up to par with the reviews . I cou

    To me the writing didn't seem up to par with the reviews . I couldn't
    get that into the story, but maybe that's because i couldn't relate that
    well to the character. I was able to finish the book with out giving up
    on it. Sorry if this review seems lack luster, but that's how the book
    was to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Really great

    I loved that it was told by the guys point of view, excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, A Must Read!

    I just happened to find this book in a bargain section of a store recently and had wanted to read it for a while. Nick Hornby is an excellent writer. Mr. Hornby has given us a realistic story about becoming and being a teenage father. Slam was a witty and serious story all in one. The book was written as if the main character was telling you the story of his life, yet at the same time you felt as if you were living his life. Once you pick up this book, you will have a hard time putting it down. And just the way the ending is written, it will leave you with a smile on your face.

    I would definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for something to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    Nice observations on fatherhood

    As a new, two time dad, I appreciated the protagonist's fresh observations about fatherhood. The book flows well and is full of characteristic Hornby wit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Nuts?

    im crAzy about this book (i didnt read it)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2010

    A Wonderfully "true" story

    Nick Hornby's books are usually an easy read which get me hooked quickly. Then, just as quickly as you're hooked, you realize the depth of his characters hidden underneath all the humor and witty dialogue. Mr. Hornby writes with respect and I never felt like he was belittling any of the characters yet at the same time glorifying any of their actions. I'd read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    reality slam presents to you

    The book shows the struggle and hard decisions that young teenagers go through when they are on the verge of a pregnancy. The book starts out with Sam, a 15 year old boy telling you about his life. He is a boy that loves to skateboard and idolizes tony hawk. He talks to a poster in his room for advice. His mother, like him, got into the pregnancy issue at a very young age of 16. The book shows the affects of a teenage pregnancy from the eyes of a teenage father. The book incorporated skater language or lingo, it may be an interesting extension activity to have teens compile a dictionary of skater terms to help define the various tricks, etc. With all this teen related activities and such the reader, if a teenager, can easily relate to the story as his own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    The best book for young adults.

    If you only want to read one book by Nick Hornby, it's "Slam." Admittedly it has less in common with his other works than "High Fidelity" and "About a Boy" do, but it actually stands alone very well. It's his most recent novel, and reflects not the culmination of his literary technique, but also the effects that other novels such as "The Pigman" have had on his writing style.
    The book is about a teen couple (Sam and Alicia), who become parents due to an unplanned child (Roof). The book is both unique and easily relatable; Hornby is different in as much as he narrates from Sam's (the father's) perspective, but tells a story centered around a fairly prevalent issue.
    There is a small dose of pure fiction I didn't expect, when Sam is "whisked" to the future a few times by his poster of Tony Hawk (his role model). However, it IS a symbol that solidifies several aspects of the novel: Sam's innocence; his interest in skating; forshadowing (Hawk was a teen father as well); and a father/advice-giver for Sam, who is being raised solely by his mom. This parallelism is also seen in Sam's mother, who had Sam when she was 16 years old, and even gets a new boyfriend later and has another child about the same time that Sam and Alicia have Roof.
    Because of Sam's and his mom's plight, this book applies to anyone interested in seeing an every-day account of what parenthood is like, no matter how old the mom or dad. It portrays a life-changing event, as well as common strains in a life such as that led by the characters. It is truly insightful for anybody and everybody; it is one of the best contemporary novels I've read so far!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Nick Hornby for teens

    I love Horby's books, and Slam is not far from his usual style. My grudge with this book was that although Hornby has an unique style that transformed books like A long way down and Fever Pitch favorites, it just didn't work as well with Slam. The characters were not easy to fall for as much as his other characters in different books, and I got tired of reading it. I'd rather read any of his other books instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Slam Is Excellent and Realistic

    I really enjoyed this book. The protagonist, Sam, is very easy to identify with and I could imagine doing the things he does in the situation he is faced with. When his girlfriend gets pregnant, he runs away from home to avoid his baby and I feel like that is a very big problem these days. His friends and family are real and this book shows that nobody is perfect. His girlfriend's parents are judgmental and rude but he finds a way to ignore them (for ex: When they are deciding what the baby's last name will be, The parents want it to be the girlfriend's so that he will have a 'better future' because they are more successful. Sam is appalled but just sits back and stays calm.) He is a very serious skater and he often chats with his poster of Tony Hawk and the poster talks back with excerpts form his book. His relationship with the poster is quirky and weird but the poster always gives good advice. This book is very well-written and realistic.
    Reviewed By: Logan Awesomely

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    Hornby never disappoints.

    Definitely one of my favorite writers. Incredible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by The Compulsive Reader for TeensReadToo.com

    Sam figures that his life is going pretty well. He's doing all right in school, he gets along with his mom, he has a great girlfriend, and is getting good at skateboarding. He has aspirations of attending college, unlike his mom, who had to drop out of school when she became pregnant with him. <BR/><BR/>But all of his dreams come crashing down when his girlfriend, Alicia, tells him that she's pregnant. And she has no intention of getting rid of the baby. <BR/><BR/>Sam spooks. He goes into denial. When that doesn't work, he tries running away, physically and emotionally. And then, an unexplainable thing happens...while he dreams at night, he gets whizzed into the future and is shown an unexpected life that will force him to face the facts and take responsibility for his actions. <BR/><BR/>SLAM is a frank, vivid, and highly realistic take on teenage pregnancy from a point of view that is completely different from what many are accustomed to. Hornby doesn't waste time by working in lectures of the consequences of premarital sex, but instead gives us Sam, who is a little selfish, very scared, a bit ashamed, but ultimately a strong character who, through many trials and despite his own feelings, manages to pull himself together and attempt to be the best dad he can be -- and is surprisingly good at it. <BR/><BR/>The more unbelievable element of the story, Sam's visits to the future, gives the story just the right dash of unique appeal without seeming too implausible. Hornby does more than just give us an intriguing account of teen parenthood; he reveals each emotion, thought, and feeling with startling clarity and humor, until you understand and empathize with Sam. SLAM is a fascinating, compelling, and even poignant read that won't soon be forgotten.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book-down to earth, yet funny.

    I liked this book because it had a clear message: Life isn't perfect and teenagers mess up A LOT. Slam is a realistic story about a boy who gets a girl pregnant and suddenly his skating boarding-teen-world takes a big turn. This happens every day. It's just that most people don't want to talk about teen pregnancies. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2008

    Uh... not so good.

    Well, i picked up this book and i thought it was going to be a good read, because i read a LOT. but i read through the first three chapters and i wasn't hooked. thats the time when the book is supposed to capture the readers attention. needless to say, it didn't. i just skipped around and got the story. its not as great as i thought it was going to be. Dissapointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4