Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 995 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(746)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a great read by any means

I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like so...
I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

posted by 777265 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 995 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

    I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
    Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
    I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
    I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

    77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    It's true... Best book I have ever read!

    I am the friend the reviewer below is talking about! I read Slammed and the follow up book Point of Retreat in 24 hours!If you are contemplating buying this book, BUY IT.... You definitely won't be sorry. I never ever do reviews on any books or other products that I buy, but this book must be shared with fellow book lovers!

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    When you start this book. You feel a little iffy. But once you g

    When you start this book. You feel a little iffy. But once you get into this you have no idea how far your in until you look at the clock. From the first piece of poetry in this story to the last bit of lyrics I was hooked I have never cried while listening to poetry and I'm happy to say I have during this story. This is such a heart wrenching book that I would definitely recommend to every and anyone. I laughed, I cried and I tapped to the heart beat of this book all I've got to say is it's a MUST READ!!!

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    I loved this book! It is funny, and sad, and frustrating, and j

    I loved this book! It is funny, and sad, and frustrating, and joyful all rolled into one. Some of the funny parts had me laughing out loud...and it takes a lot to make me laugh out loud. I read it over 24 hours and couldn't put it down. I loved the main characters, Will and Layken. They are so relatable. If you buy this book, you won't be disappointed!

    15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Best Book I ever Read

    First of all let me start by saying that I read ALOT! And I'm not picky I read all sorts of genre. After reading Slammed and Point of Retreat, I'm in love with the series and the new author! I have to say this is the best series I have ever read! Colleen Hoover is my new favorite author and I instantly fell in love with the characters Will and Lake! You would too! I'm so hooked and obsessed that I want to read more! Colleen Hoover wrote this book in only 30 days! It's well written, the plot is realistic, it will have you laughing, crying and feel like you are a part of the book!

    Must Must Must Read!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Rating Clarification 10 Stars

    Top Rank for my 2012 Favorite

    "Push your boundaries…that’s what they’re there for."

    There’s no way you can convince me that Slammed is Colleen Hoover’s debut novel. Impossible! This book is amazing, incredible and just dripping with emotional power that a rookie author launching this as her first novel is absolutely awe-inspiring. It’s no secret, with the exception of a select few books, I’m slipping away from mainstream fiction. Looking for something creative, unique and different just doesn’t seem likely with the hugely hyped releases out there as of late. So I’ve resorted to self-published, not so widely known releases to get my fix and Slammed is a perfect reason why.

    In this captivating novel, we meet Layken who is forced to move cross country after the death of her dad, so her mom can find some way to survive in the aftermath of his absence. Lake meets Will and these two form a strong connection. They have a few things in common, but most of all they just get each other in all the right ways. Just when the move begins to prove a possibility of new and exciting beginnings, Layken soon finds out that what she hoped for most is the one thing she has the least possibility of obtaining. What ensues is a constant emotional pull in just about every direction imaginable.

    I loved.loved.loved Hoover’s writing! I mean to the level where I think I might have a crush on this book. I never thought poetry and heartbreak could be so perfectly blended to send me on an emotional ride that left me absolutely worthless for the hours this book held me captive. I read it from eCover to eCover and was pretty much entranced until I finished this story. Why this book wasn’t picked up by a well known publisher? I have no clue, but I’m glad it’s picking up traction from readers that know gems are among the self-published crowd. Great story!

    Quotes I don’t want to forget:

    "You know a band has true talent when their imperfection define perfection."

    "Despite my objections I realize, almost pathetically, that I have just experienced the most passionate kiss I’ve her received from a guy - and it was on the freaking forehead!"

    "If I live the life I’m given, I won’t be afraid to die."

    "You owe me fifty cents… I owe you my heart."

    "So keep your ocean. I’ll take the Lake…"

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    when i picked up this book i didnt know what to expect but after

    when i picked up this book i didnt know what to expect but after the first chapter I was hooked. I just wanted to read faster to see what was next. The obstacles these characters go through keeps you on your toes. I love love love this book. Its a must read ! About to start the second one now .

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    By far the best book I've read all year!

    This book was very moving--the life lessons one could take from this book are endless! I found it to be so inspirational and food for my soul! I plan to also purchase it in paperback form to add to my personal library. I am going to recommend all my friends read it!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Wow!

    I just finished this book in less than 24 hrs! I COULD NOTput this book down. It was so refreshingly different. One minute I was laughing, the next I was crying. I cannot say enough about this book!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Really Good

    A little predictable in some parts but overall a very good book that was very moving.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Great for inspiration.

    Easy to read,great for a book club,it makes you re-think our views on life,love and ourselfs.I was planing to take my sweet time reading it but I just could NOT stop;Now that's the sign of a good book.Just got the second one and I'll start it tonight and I'm so happy that their beautiful love story it's not over yet.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    Intense & Powerful! Highly Recommend!

    If I could rate this book higher, I would probably give it 10 stars! Slammed is a powerful, intense and emotional story about life, love and loss. The author did an excellent job with not only the writing, but did an exceptional job in developing the plot and characters. It was easy to fall in love with the character's and connect with them in a way where you could relate to and feel what they were experiencing. I am usually a very fast reader but this book definitely slowed me down big time. I think I cried/teared for at least the last 5 to 8 chapters, making it extremely difficult for me to see the words and finish…no exaggeration! Excellent book that will not disappoint!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    This is a riveting story if you are emotionally 13 years old. Ot

    This is a riveting story if you are emotionally 13 years old. Otherwise, the sophomoric story line is lame... You kissed me so I love you blah blah blah...You kissed me so I hate you blah blah blah. Dads and Moms die without any true exploration of what that means to survivors. This story line had potential but it was wasted on the love story, if you want to call it that. The main characters should have been in sixth grade in order to be believable. It's a Harlequin Romance with dead parents. Don't bother.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Not a great read by any means

    I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2012

    This book was spectacular. It follows a romance between Wil and

    This book was spectacular. It follows a romance between Wil and Layken who find each and begin to fall in love before life begins to "Slam" them from all directions. Wil is not only sexy but is raising his young 9 year old brother every since his parents were killed in a car accident. His job and responsibilities to his brother come first but this is just a part of what makes Wil so special. He is kind, strong, and loves to write Slam poetry. Layken has just moved in across the street when she meets Wil. Having lost her Dad to a heartattack 6 months before, the two immediately identify with each other. Their little brothers are fast to become best friends which continues to have them running into each other. Wil and Layken's first date is awesome. Wil takes her to a poetry slam where he preforms a touching poem about his parents death.

    There are some many twists and turns in the plot that I really want you to experience so I won't write much more about the story. This is story with real characters that get battered by life but continue on through strength of character. Many things stand in the way of Wil and Lake's relationship but they continually push through. If you enjoy love stories that have real life characters, this is a book for you. You will not find silly high school drama in this book but incredibly real life situations that will etch this story on your heart. This is definitely one for the keeper shelf.

    The second book, Point Of Retreat, is out and is from Wil's point of view. I was so relieved and excited that I could immediately read it. It was so nice that this book was from Lake's POV and the next is from Wil's to give you a chance to get inside both their heads.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    For very young, very romantic readers

    You get what you pay for. I was so distracted by the grammatical errors throughout the book that it made it hard for me to give it credibility. As I said in the caption, this story is for very young romantics. I won't be looking for any more books from Ms. Hoover.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Shallow story

    Predictable, shallow, and actually silly. Would not recommend at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Silly read.

    Story was shallow. Characters unbelievable. Overly dramatic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    It's all about young love and yearning....

    This book, IMHO, lacked depth. It was the typical story of a high school girl falling in love for the first time, the challenges she faced in the process and family situations that caused further challenges. As I said, it lacked depth and was a formula-written book for the young or for those who have not yet matured and dealt with the realities of life. It was a waste of my time and money.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Nothing special

    I don't understand all the awesome reviews this book is getting... it has to be some sort of spam. The book wasn't horrible, but it was just a basic, run-of-the-mill Young Adult novel. Nothing really heart-wrenching about it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 995 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 50