Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 997 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(748)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a great read by any means

I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like so...
I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

posted by 777265 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Shallow story

    Predictable, shallow, and actually silly. Would not recommend at all.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Silly read.

    Story was shallow. Characters unbelievable. Overly dramatic.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    UGH!

    The rave reviews this book received, proves the world is full of idiots. I would not recommend to a ten-year old, which is slightly older than the level of writing. I literally cringed in places; pedestrian; predictable; total garbage. It doesn't even reach the level of mediocrity.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Awful

    First, it should be mentioned somewhere that this a teen novel. It said the book was 1200 pages. It was not. There were so many spaces and formatting mistakes, it was silly. The font was large. What is worse, is that there were high school grammatical pronoun errors a few times in the book. I came to this site to review the book and realized it was (I think) a self published e-book. Does that mean there is no editor? I was worried initially when I saw the book was $3. I was proud of myself for finally finding a bargain. But as someone above mentioned, "you get what you pay for." I will not waste anymore time reviewing this book. Use your 3 dollars on something else.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Warning: teen book

    I cant understand the high ratings! I guess i failed to realize this book is meant for pre-teens and teens! Because i just cant imagine a mature adult who's experienced life, loss,love and friendships to buy into this RIDICULOUSNESS! Please be warned this story is meant for teens. And i was silly enough to Buy the second book at the same time as this one. I ended up reading it in hopes it would be better.....ITS SO MUCH WORSE.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Worse book ever!

    This book MIGHT be ok if you're in Junior High. I can't belive the reviews this book got. I'd like a refund!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Ughhh

    I purchased this today and cannot even get past the third chapter. What mind-numbing drivel. I dont believe i can fi ish this one and i hate not finishing a book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Boring

    A mind numbing story with no plot and dull characters. A waste of time and money.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Don't bother

    I noted the good reviews and thought it was worth a try for .99. I wish I could get a refund. I don't expect stellar writing for fan fiction knock-offs but this was beyond awful. I could tolerate marginal writing if the story was engaging but this mess had neither going for it. Cringe-worthy writing and a vapid storyline that was both ridiculous and unsatisfying. You get what you pay for!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Pure crap

    Absolute junk. Dreadful writing.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Haha

    Pi

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Terrible

    This book was an absolute fail. It was poorly written with confusing transitions which made the book unbearavle to read. After the first 100 pages I had to stop. The number of people who positively rated this book flaberghasts me. Do not waste your time and money on this book and go read something worth your time.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Very disappointed in the teacher-student relationship in this bo

    Very disappointed in the teacher-student relationship in this book, as a teacher it was very hard to believe that this could happen. Very poorly written.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    How many pages?

    I like the reviews that tell how many pages the book has. Im a slow reader and sometimes i dont want to start a book that is really long. Can someone tell me how long this book is please. Thankyou!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1