Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 985 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(738)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

74 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a great read by any means

I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like so...
I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

posted by 777265 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    w Ok book

    Fast read not my favorite by this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Not bad

    Nice, quick read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Very fast read

    It was an entertaining book. I thinks its a great book for teens...it went by really quick! I wish the book would have gone in detail more about the trials of helping her mom through her sickness. It actual didnt go into much details of any of the characters in the book. In fact the plot was so short it seems like i just read a summary of the book. It didnt catch my attention enough to read the second book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!!!

    Slammed was the first Colleen Hoover book I read and I thought it was great! If I had to put it down to do something, I was anxious to pick it back up to finish reading. I have since read all her books and I really recommend them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    puts

    I thought this book was going to be as good as hopeless but man it was not. honestly the book was a mess. all over the place and man what a coincedence that everybody dies somehow. The part where he leaves her and how they come back out of nothing has no explanation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Eh

    It was okay, I didn't really like how the main character handled certain situations, childish. The plot seemed very unreal and coincidental. The high ratings are actually very shocking! I loved her other book hopeless though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Slow start but a good read

    At first thought thus book was slow and not written all that well. However, as i kept reading i started to enjoy the characters more and became mire interested. Im still mot convinced uts the best wrutten book but i liked it enough to buy the second one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    An Excellent Read

    This book gives you characters to love, and a story line that could be your own family. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    So so

    So much drama in this book it was exhausting. Not realistic at all and got tired of reading the lyrics of songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Awesome

    Enjoyed both Slammed and Point of Retreat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    It a good short book, however predictable and predictable. I re

    It a good short book, however predictable and predictable. I read this and the sequel, just from me reading the first chapter, of the first book I already figured out the formula of what was going to happen. But like I said it a good short read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    It was quick and easy. I enjoyed the characters. I think she is self published, which you can tell. An editor might have asked for some changes. I was bothered by the brothers being 9... they act more like 6 or 7. Otherwise, good stuff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Decent, quick read.

    Interesting storyline and characters- wish they were a bit more developed, but I enjoyed it. Especially as a first novel from the author. She seems to have a great deal of potential. I would read her again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    Wonderfully written

    Enjoyed reading both Slammed and Point of Retreat. Looking forward to other books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2012

    Sentimental but not great.

    The author does a good job of weaving literary elements into the novel, but I have to disagree with the other reviews. It wasn't great or a page turner. It was very predictable from start to finish and the basic problem of the plot was downplayed, the climax overplayed and the ending was underwhelming. She did however develop her characters in a heart felt way. If you're looking for an okay read...read on, otherwise keep searching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    A So-So Book

    Slammed is written for the high school crowd. Written in first person, partially in present tense, and partially in past tense makes this short book hard to read. It has a choppy and broken writing style.

    The contents of the plot were actually really great. The story line flows well and is believable. The characters are genuine and lovable. The conclusion to the first book is quick. Slam poetry night ends, then it is Christmas a little more then a year later. I wanted to read the interim details.

    If your are 14-17 years old, or have nothing better to read or reread this should be your book choice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Great book

    I came across this book when looking for a different book. I was captured right away!! It takes a lot for me to really get into a book.. im a big reader and this book did it for me.. the cover confused me but when i found out why it was named slammed i just thought it was even better. AWESOME!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    High scool

    A good story for young adults/teens, especially if you like poetry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Unexpected, slightly hard to believe but nice

    My first Colleen Hoover was a slight disappointment. While a nice read overall in that it had family drama and kept my attention, many parts of the plot were not believable and other parts of the story way too predictable. A little too much tragedy for two neighboring familys made it just too hard to believe. However, for those who like teen relationships and the drama that goes with them, this might be a worthwhile read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Easy romantic read

    Reminded me a lot about Bella from Twilight in that both main characters are boy crazy after a day of meeting him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3