Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1011 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(758)

4 Star

(165)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

This is a riveting story if you are emotionally 13 years old. Ot

This is a riveting story if you are emotionally 13 years old. Otherwise, the sophomoric story line is lame... You kissed me so I love you blah blah blah...You kissed me so I hate you blah blah blah. Dads and Moms die without any true exploration of what that means to su...
This is a riveting story if you are emotionally 13 years old. Otherwise, the sophomoric story line is lame... You kissed me so I love you blah blah blah...You kissed me so I hate you blah blah blah. Dads and Moms die without any true exploration of what that means to survivors. This story line had potential but it was wasted on the love story, if you want to call it that. The main characters should have been in sixth grade in order to be believable. It's a Harlequin Romance with dead parents. Don't bother.

posted by 3543546 on August 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    when i picked up this book i didnt know what to expect but after

    when i picked up this book i didnt know what to expect but after the first chapter I was hooked. I just wanted to read faster to see what was next. The obstacles these characters go through keeps you on your toes. I love love love this book. Its a must read ! About to start the second one now .

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Really Good

    A little predictable in some parts but overall a very good book that was very moving.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    Great for inspiration.

    Easy to read,great for a book club,it makes you re-think our views on life,love and ourselfs.I was planing to take my sweet time reading it but I just could NOT stop;Now that's the sign of a good book.Just got the second one and I'll start it tonight and I'm so happy that their beautiful love story it's not over yet.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Good emotional journey

    Colleen Hoover does a very impressive job of writing from a "new at love" perspective. The characters are so likeable and the way she develops thier love so effortlessly to be taken away so quickly really is refreshing.

    This book is about finding yourself and then finding that you can love someone even when you are going through a tough time. It also shows that love will not be denied, even when the concequences could be devestating.

    These two have to first realize what they want out of life and then incorporate each other in their lives and in their youth it is hard. It is good to see that Hoover really captures the issues these two families are facing and how with some effort and patience things can turn out for the best.

    I love reading true LOVE stories, not the happily every after as much as the journey getting thier in its good and bad phases.
    This is one of those books.

    I cannot wait to read book 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    my review

    A nice, easy, fast yet complicated twist that turns the two lovers into one. Slammed made true love come alive again. Between the two and their differences and mishaps, you can actually see yourself as laykens mom or her friend, or their neighbors, someone who's in their lives see their love come true. Instead of saying actions speak louder than words, their words are their actions. Or to them words speak louder than actions.I recommend this book. Really good weekend book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Loved It!!!

    Great, easy read. Just what I wanted while traveling.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Couldn't put it down.

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2014

    Adorable love story.

    Adorable love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2014

    Slammed (Slammed Series #1) by Colleen Hoover

    4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Story Line

    This was a great concept for a book. There are some unexpected turns that made this book a great read. I recommend this for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    Great quick read!

    Super book, Can't wait to read the rest of the series, certainly the sign of a worthy book. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    When I first started reading Slammed, I was pretty turned off. I

    When I first started reading Slammed, I was pretty turned off. I thought it was odd how Will and Lake moved so fast in their feelings for each other in those first three days. And then I considered putting the book down when “the thing” was revealed that required they terminate their relationship. But again, I trust the BOTM selections from my favorite goodreads group and I continued. I was relieved when it was evident the author’s intention was not to romanticize this particular subject. Slammed ended up being a beautiful, endearing story. I loved the addition of the Avett Brothers’ lyrics and the slam poetry. There are some really good life lessons to be learned in this book and I like that this book is spreading these lessons to all ages through it’s popularity. I also hear that a movie may be in the works for Slammed and its sequel. I have lots of favorite parts in this book but the moment that tugged at my heart the most was Eddie’s eighteenth birthday and the tear-jerking gesture by Eddie’s foster dad. Eddie was an exceptional character to complement Lake in this story. Will and Lake’s brothers were a riot. I just loved them. There are a few surprise plot twists/turns in this book that stir the emotions. I’m glad I read Slammed and I plan to continue the series.

    My favorite quotes:
    “There are three questions every woman should be able to answer yes to before they commit to a man. If you answer no to any of the three questions, run like hell."…"Does he treat you with respect at all times? That's the first question. The second question is, if he is the exact same person twenty years from now that he is today, would you still want to marry him? And finally, does he inspire to be a better person? You find someone you can answer yes to all three, then you've found a good man.”

    “Don't take life too seriously. Punch it in the face when it needs a good hit. Laugh at it.”

    “So what if the heartaches you wrote last year isn't what you're feeling today. it may be exactly what the person in the front row is feeling. What you're feeling now, and the person you may reach with your words five years from now- that's why you write poetry.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2013

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2013

    Surprisingly thought-provoking

    Definitley young adult.....which I am glad I didn't know or else I wouldn't have bought it. But...it was really amazing. I wish I could go to a slam club right now. The quote "I'll take the lake" made my mouth drop (you'll get it once you read it). I wanted to start calling my friends and tell them all about it. I think I am going to pick this book for my bookclub next time I have the chance. Like many of the other reviews, I literally LOL several times. Definitley a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Wow

    Great story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    4.5/5 This is a new adult novel that really spoke to me. I rea

    4.5/5
    This is a new adult novel that really spoke to me. I read this during the time I was taking care of my grandma. She was home with hospice and she has passed, but this book really helped me cope with knowing any moment could be my last with her, and then also after the fact.

    It is a story of loss, of impending loss, and moving forward afterwards. Our character s struggle with it and learn their own ways of coping.

    Layken is our MC. She has just lost her father with the start of the book. She's figuring out how to keep going and suddenly she has another great obstacle that she is facing.

    Then we have Will. He lost both his parents tragically, and he had to learn to go on, and deal with what he's been handed. Will teaches Layken ways to cope and express her feelings with death and loss. (The poetry in this is AMAZING!)

    We have such amazing characters beside that of Will and Layken. They each touch your heart, and their stories will break it at times. I loved how much not only our main character grow, but how our sub characters do also.

    This is a great book. It really spoke to me and I think it would to anyone feeling with grief. This is only book one in the series, but doubt if I will ever read the next books. This felt like complete story, and felt like with the ending, that's all you really need. This is definitely a novel I would recommend to others!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 28, 2013

    Good Read! Another great book from Colleen Hoover.  This was a

    Good Read!

    Another great book from Colleen Hoover.  This was a great book from the beginning I was hooked. I liked how the 2 main characters meet right away rather than 50 pages into the book.  Will is a great guy and you can't help but fall for him and feel sad for him at the same time.  Definitely worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    This was a unique story, and it¿s one that I won¿t forget soon.

    This was a unique story, and it’s one that I won’t forget soon. The music lyrics and poetry incorporated into the story really ramped up the emotional experience for me as a reader. I love how realistically Will and Lake were portrayed, and I felt my heart aching along with them as they both faced incredibly difficult circumstances with their families. And the ups and downs of their romantic relationship were intense and gripping. Will was definitely swoon worthy --I have a weakness for boys who write poetry. I highly recommend Slammed to those looking for a different kind of love story. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Review: Slammed

    Slammed by Colleen Hoover

    My rating: 4 of 5 stars

    I really wanted to love this book. I really did. But, there were times Layken's very age appropriate behavior and reactions got on my nerves. The drama, however, made for an excellent story that I thoroughly enjoyed, but I really did just wanna slap her some times.

    Slammed by Colleen Hoover is a YA book about loss, love, life and death.

    Layken Cohen meets her hot new neighbor, Will Cooper, the first day they arrive in Ypsilanti, Michigan from Texas. The are immediately attracted to each other, and so the intricate plot begins. Not that I didn't successfully call some of the situations that happened, but I also missed some and got blind-sided.
    This was a very enjoyable book. I have every intention on finishing the series. If your sole focus is on steamy adult romance then this isn't for you. If you don't mind losing the explicit details in exchange for angsty romance then I recommend this book.

    Up Next...

    Slammed #2 - Point of Retreat

    Slammed #3 - This Girl

    An additional shout out to the AwEsOmE Miss Hoover...Thank you for the introduction to the music of The Avett Brothers. I do not know how I have never heard of them before now, but am glad I now have another band to enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is definitely not my preferred genre, but I love a great st

    This is definitely not my preferred genre, but I love a great story and this won't disappoint!  I read "Hopeless" by this author and thoroughly enjoyed the story.  This one certainly kept my interest.  If you don't shed a tear, I will be shocked.  Happy and sad tears await you in this interesting story.  I love when I can't really guess where a book is taking me, and this book kept me quessing.  Great story and worth your time!  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 165 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 9