Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 995 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(746)

4 Star

(161)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a great read by any means

I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like so...
I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

posted by 777265 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    I so enjoyed this book. It felt insanely short though. I was abl

    I so enjoyed this book. It felt insanely short though. I was able to read it after everyone went to bed in just a couple hours.

    Lately I haven't been reading the synopsis before starting a book. I just check and see how many starts my friends on here give it and just go in blind. I was totally surprised by the big twist at the beginning! I don't know why I hadn't thought of that being an option. It surprised me and I loved watching it play out.

    There are some heavy issues in this as well, but it's done so well that it's not SUPER full of angst like some of the other books in this genre. It's heavy at times, but not draining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    18 and 21 year old........?

    Okay imma sap so does it count that I was boo hoo crying...? Story line awesome just one thing, when was the last time u were on fb or has anyone ever seen the Jersey Shore cuz I don't know any 18 year olds like her......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Enjoyable...

    I don't read a lot of YA, but decided to read this because of all the great reviews. All of the characters here are believable a likable. Good things do happen to those who have lived through hard times. I will continue this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    I love Colleens writing style. It is so easy to read! I really e

    I love Colleens writing style. It is so easy to read! I really enjoyed this book. The slams added a new element that is so new and different from anything I've read. I loved the characters and the story. I just wish it would've lasted longer!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Great

    Their love was a little quick but I really enjoyed this book read in one sitting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Pretty good

    This book was alright & I'm about to start the second- I think where I messed up was reading Hopeless first...Hopeless was amazing! Sorry for the 4 stars but if I had a bazillion to give I would give them all to Hope ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    A Different Kind Of Love Story

    I fell in love with this book and the storyline. Despite the fact that this book takes you on an emotional rollercoaster ride, it's a true love story from all aspects of life. It shows how there are different types of love and each one should be appreciated. I would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    Not that bad

    I read the reviews and decided to purchase this book. Thought it was lame in the beginning... thinking it was a teen book. Yes, it is rather young, but after reading it all the way through- I found it enjoyable. I liked the plot a lot and found the characters identifiable. I was rooting for them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    TiWi

    Sweet Short Love Story. Loved the Characters ''Lake & Will''. Can't wait to read the sequel....Point of Reatreat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    Good

    More for teenagers, but I still really liked it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Great Book!

    I was pleasantly surprised at this book. Great ready!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Slammed

    Cute story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Pretty good

    {>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Loved!!!

    I really loved this book and how the characters were created so vividly! You wanted to laugh, cry, and even be angry at various times in this story. A really good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I so enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2012

    Very good!

    This book is the first of two... a very good story about two unique families! It kept me interested all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Better than I expected!

    I had never heard of a slam before I read this book. Not what I expected, but I thought it was great. I would love to see the story of the characters in this book continue!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    I really liked this book.

    It is a long book but it was hard to put down. So it really didnt seem as long once i started reading. It will make you think bouthow short life is and show you that drama takes up to much time in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2012

    SLAMMED is undoubtedly one of my favorite books this year. I wen

    SLAMMED is undoubtedly one of my favorite books this year. I went in reading it as a self-published e-book, and that soon after it was picked up by Simon & Schuster. This book had me laughing, cringing, crying and raising my fist in appreciation. It also introduced me to poetry slams, which I was ignorant of. I am now dying to go to one!

    Layken Cohen and her family (sans deceased father) have left Texas and moved up north to Ypsilanti, Michigan. Upon arriving at the rental house, Kel has met a boy his age and Layken has met a guy. He just happens to be the hunky brother of the 9 yo.

    Will Cooper is dreamy. I mean, Will Cooper is a great character and has a lot of heartache and secrets that Lake will soon find out. The two of them become closer within a few short days and the two younger brothers become fast friends. Layken's mother takes an instant like to Will and encourages Lake to give him a chance.

    Will takes Lake out on a date a few days after arriving and brings her to a poetry slam. Lake is amazed by what she is seeing and listening to. She's never done anything like this before and is mesmerized. Will agrees to perform one of his poems. It's there that she finds out that Will's mother and father were killed in a horrible car accident three years ago and he has been raising his little brother ever since. Lake is moved to tears and finds herself actually falling for Will.

    That is until Monday rolls around. Lake's first day of school is interesting. She meets Eddie (a girl) her boyfriend, Gavin. And her English elective teacher, one Mr.Will Cooper. Will realizing that he cannot jeopardize his job, informs Layken that they can no longer see each other because it will cause problems and taking care of his brother is the most important thing right now. Lake is torn between what is right and what she wants.

    As much as the two try to stay away from each other, they find it more and more difficult. The pull to bring them closer grows stronger. It also becomes more stronger when Layken finds out the reason why they moved to Michigan. Julia Cohen has been diagnosed with Stage four lung cancer and before her father passed, they had decided to move to Michigan for Julia's treatment. Lake is horrified to realize that she'll be left alone and that her mother wants a family friend to care for Kel.

    Because Lake is losing her mother and Will and Caulder (Will's brother) have grown close to the Cohen's, Will takes in Lake to work through her feelings. Lake is angry at her mother, well more like pissed. But she feels safe with Will as well. As much as those two try to hide their feelings, they just can't. Pretty much everything comes to a head when Lake is being accosted by a classmate at the poetry slam, and Will punches out his student. He immediately resigns from the school and is transferred to another school district.

    You would think that it would work out for Will and Lake to get together, but it sort of does the opposite. Because he is so busy with traveling and relying on the Cohen's to help with Caulder, Will and Lake don't see enough of each other.

    However Will realizes that he cannot live in a world without Lake and after she comes clean in a poetry slam, he does the same declaring his love for her.

    I have no clue who the Avett Brothers are, but they are quoted at the beginning of each chapter. Lake and Will's favorite group is the Avnett Brothers and they fall in love over their words of wisdom. This book opened up so many emotions for me. And I cried, boy did I cry when I read this. I was literally pulled into the story, the poems, the little one's halloween costume. Will and Lake's romance was so brittle and beautiful. When he realizes that he doesn't want the ocean, but the lake, you can't help but sigh because you know that he is finally coming to terms with his feelings. When he kisses her in the laundry room, when she carves pumpkins because she can't deal with what is going on around her. Even when she organizes and alphabetizes everything because she can't stop the stress, Will is falling for her.

    If there is one book you read this year, I suggest you read this one. It will leave you breathless and happy and sad, and amazed. Colleen Hoover wrote a fantastic book and thankfully there is a wonderful sequel as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Really Good!

    I loved this book! It was a quick read but very interesting. I bought the second one right after and read it as well. I would definitely recommend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 161 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 9