Customer Reviews for

Slammed (Slammed Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1001 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(751)

4 Star

(162)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read

I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characte...
I was taken aback at how much I adored this book. I rarely read Romance (I am a jaded, bitter hag by nature), but Colleen Hoover twisted me in knots with her strong, young heroine and the various troubles she was forced to endure. There were several fantastic characters in this work, especially the best friend Eddie. Colleen has a wicked sense of humor and reading this book was like a road trip with old friends. A road trip to hell, maybe, but none the less...
Just when I thought things couldn't get gloomier and crazier, I turned the page and BAM!
I received many strange looks from my family while reading Slammed, because I would laugh and/or swear out loud, sometimes on the same page! A lot of heart and talent went into this book and I can assure you-I am NOT easily impressed.
I very much appreciated that the author took a very brazen and unconverntional turn when selecting the obstacles she chose to put in the path of her young lovers. Brava, Colleen!

posted by mishkapaceMP on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not a great read by any means

I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like so...
I'm really confused about this book. I liked a lot of the characters EXCEPT the main one. I found her to be unlikable and obnoxious. She wasn't funny at all. The romance between Layken and Will seemed unlikely as well. They were instantly attracted to each other like some unearthly magnetic pull was driving them together but you never felt them fall in love. There was no chemistry between them. Some parts were sweet but none that involved the main character. She was just awful. Thankfully it was a cheap read. Still a waste of a few bucks.

posted by 777265 on August 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 751 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 38
  • Posted November 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    My adult daughter told me to read this book; I borrowed it from

    My adult daughter told me to read this book; I borrowed it from her on nook books and it is 1200 pages long. It usually takes me weeks to read a book that many pages but this book I picked up and couldn't put down. It brings out so many emotions in you; I cried so much. I read it in one day; the whole thing. Loved it so much I am ordering a hard copy to keep in my library. Great read; great poetry in it. Deep!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Highly reccomended!

    A definite tear jerker,beautifully written story of love, lost and new beginings. I could not put my nook down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Slammed by Colleen Hoover

    Wonderful storyline! I recommend this novel if you are looking for a light and fast read! I will be starting the sequel next! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    Amazing

    This story was amazing, kept me thoroughly interested! Just when I thought I knew where it was going the story threw another curve ball at me! Would also highly recommend the sequel! Can't wait for part 3 of the series to come out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Its ok to laugh out loud and cry while reading!

    This has to be one of my most favorite books I've read thus far! This story had me glued for hours in the dark laughing and tearing up. This book brought so much prospective to my life as it is today. I too have experienced losing a parent to cancer and is currently supporting my mom through her cancer struggle today! Thanks Colleen for helping me through my situation through Will and Lakes lives. I am currently reading Point of Retreat and so far I love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    really good!!

    Emotional, funny, romantic, heart wrenching - i just loved this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    AN AMAZING READ!!

    A truly touching story...book 2 is also a must read!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2012

    Absolutely beautiful

    Words can't express how wonderful this book is. What a special story. What a beautiful journey of love, friendship and loss. There were moments that made me cry (and I don't cry easily), there were moments that made me laugh.. The love, friendship and loss in this book is something we can all relate to. This book, this beautiful journey, helps us realize that LIFE is so much more than what we allow it to be sometimes. Every moment is precious, every moment is special. Please don't hold back from reading this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Wow....

    Such a touching book that makes you fall in love with each of the people in the story and the second book is just as great

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Wow

    I read a lot and this is the most moving book i have ever read simply incredible.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Amazing

    Nough said

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    .

    .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Great

    I was surprised by how much i enjoyed this book.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    I loved it! At 3 am, my husband said to turn off the Nook and go

    I loved it! At 3 am, my husband said to turn off the Nook and go to bed! Excellent book!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    sweet story

    very nice story I laughed and wepped....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    The best story I have ever read!

    I would recommend this book to anyone. I heard about this book from my friend who read it within 24 hours. I thought that was crazy, but I did the same thing. I cannot wait to start on the second book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Beautiful LOVE Story

    Could not put this down. Loved it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    I am an avid reader and I have to say this is one of my favorite books!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2014

    Excellent

    Great romance and touching. Brought me to tears. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2014

    I know what you must be thinking┬┐ WHY did she wait so long to re

    I know what you must be thinking… WHY did she wait so long to read Slammed? Honestly, I’m not sure why. When I first heard about the awesomness that is Colleen Hoover, it was with all of the hype over Hopeless. I read Hopeless. I LOVED Hopeless. I purchased the audio of Slammed. From there, I’m not really sure what happened. I don’t know why I never got around to reading it before now. I read Losing Hope, Maybe Someday, Finding Cinderella… and I adored every single one! I was going through my Audible library and I saw it sitting there, so patiently… and that was all I needed. I read (listened to) the entire book in one day. It was so cute, so endearing, so sweet and wonderful, I just couldn’t put it down.




    While reading Slammed I was discussing it with Nick and Brooke. Nick stated this was her favorite series of all of Colleen’s books, and I can see why. Though it wasn’t my favorite, I did LOVE it. Brooke is just now reading it herself. (Great minds think alike, obviously.  :D ) so I’m eager to see what she thinks once it’s finished. As I was discussing with her, it’s funny how it’s totally obvious that this was one of Colleen’s earlier books. Not in a bad way by any means, it was just something we noted.




    Layken is trying her hardest to remain strong for her family after the unexpected loss of her father. Though she’s only 18 and a senior in high school, she takes on the positive and encouraging attitude needed to get her 6-year-old impressionable brother and heart-broken mother through this difficult time. Against her desires, her mother moves Layken and her little brother, Caulder, to Michigan.




    Upon their arrival at their new home, Layken is happy to see her younger brother instantly makes a friend. Annnnnnd up walks Will, the super hot neighbor and older brother to Caulder’s new friend. Will immediately comes off as sweet, kind, and definitely easy on the eyes. And get this… Will likes poetry too! He spends his free time “slamming” poetry at a local bar.




    I’ve never heard of slam poetry before, but I love the idea! Hearing everybody’s raw emotions that were pouring from their core was so touching to me. Powerful. I’ve never been a real fan of poetry in general, but this I really enjoyed.




    My favorite aspect of this story was the characters. Layken’s friend, Eddie, was probably my favorite. This girl was hilarious! She bounced from foster home and foster home, a childhood that would break down must teenagers. Not Eddie though. She used this to better her life, and her attitude. She’s a prime example of making lemonade with those lemons. Way to go, girl!




    The story does take a bit of a sad turn, so expect the tears. Oh, the FEELS!! They are pretty darn intense, and I couldn’t help but shed a few tears. Colleen always knows how to make me cry one minute, then smile through those tears the next.




    I definitely won’t wait this long before reading Point of Retreat, that’s for sure! Colleen remains a favorite author of mine, one that never, ever disappoints. If you haven’t read this loved series by C. Hoover yet, what are you waiting for?!




    AUDIOBOOK IMPRESSIONS:
    The first book I heard narrated by Heidi Baker was The Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves. I loved how sweet and innocent she sounded in that one. I was worried that I wouldn’t like her playing a teenager after hearing her narrate for someone in their thirties, but it wasn’t a problem at all. She was so great to listen to. And I was thrilled that she didn’t do the silly little kid voices that so many narrators do. I’d love to hear more from Heidi.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 751 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 38