Customer Reviews for

Slander: Liberal Lies about the American Right

Average Rating 3.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic - written to inform, rather than persuade

I received this book for Christmas and finished it in four days. I was laughing out loud at her incredible, biting wit and sarcasm, an understandable response to the maddening idiocy she exposes and handily debunks. I was confused for a while as to who her intended audi...
I received this book for Christmas and finished it in four days. I was laughing out loud at her incredible, biting wit and sarcasm, an understandable response to the maddening idiocy she exposes and handily debunks. I was confused for a while as to who her intended audience was - it by no means attempts to appeal to or persuade liberals, which I had assumed was the purpose of the book. I believe the aim was more to educate and embolden Conservatives so as to better equip them to go on offense. With this in mind, it's easier to read and enjoy the book for what it is instead of being constantly shocked at her unwillingness to give every point a 'PC' qualifier: 'While not EVERY liberal despises 'organized religion'...' Of particular value is her exposure of many false assumptions and premises used by the liberal media that are so repeated, they are treated as fact, even by Conservatives. For example, she points to constant media updates on the actions of the non-existent 'religious right' as though it were an official, organized movement with 'members,' while conspicuously never discussing the 'atheist left.' Note to those who claim Coulter doesn't back-up her points: ARE YOU INSANE? Agree or disagree with her, it is simple fact that a full 35 pages of notes meticulously document each and every quote and fact she uses throughout the book.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I can take only so much ranting

Ann's writing style takes getting used to. Hard to read her point of view which is much like her on-air talking points. Chop-chop, hard to follow. I agree with many of her themes, it's just hard to read instead of listen.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2007

    I can take only so much ranting

    Ann's writing style takes getting used to. Hard to read her point of view which is much like her on-air talking points. Chop-chop, hard to follow. I agree with many of her themes, it's just hard to read instead of listen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2006

    Too Much Vitriol

    I am a staunch conservative, but I could not finish this book. I didn't even get halfway through. Mrs Coulter's arguments are well reasoned, but the vicious attack verbiage on the liberals detract from her arguments. She should leave the personal attacks to the liberals who cannot debate without them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    interesting from a certain point of view

    This is a fascinating description of why the American 'right' (which is NOT the same as the 'right' in Europe, although they sometimes work together) hate that amorphous group of people termed 'liberals'. What ms Coulter fails to see is obvious from Europe, but seems to have passed the American right by. 1: The 'left' in the US (i.e. what people normally refer to as the left, the socialist or marxist left) no longer exists. It died with McGovern, and was cremated with Reagan. 2: The Democrats are an incredibly right wing party. Clinton was an incredibly right wing president...dont be fooled by Tony Blair, who, despite everything, is still well to the left of Clinton, let alone Bush. 3: The more the Democrats and the Republicans agree with each other, the more they seem to hate each other, and argue about increasingly trivial and pointless issues. This is obvious from Britain. I can't imagine hating a Tory (British Republican lite) as the Tory party in Britain has ceased to exist. left-right tensions have really decreased in Britain, whereas they seem to be increasing in the US, despite the fact that both groups are more or less identical, apart from trivial issues of style and presentation (and a few lifestyle issues). so what's their problem?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Alright...kind of boring

    As someone who enjoys reading political science/current event books, I thought this would make for an interesting read. However, Coulter argues the same points over and over again that i felt this could have been a lot shorter (not to mention less boring) if she hadn't been so repititve. I really caught on to how the media does tend to slant liberal just from reading Goldberg's "Bias". This book comes across as a longer-winded version of it. Maybe her next book (pending should she ever decide to write another) won't be as repititive, and more interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2002

    Goodness sake

    Ann Coulter has aganizing way to keep complaining about america. Either way you look at the book it is very distasteful in the ways she shows the us government and lies about what people have said. DID ANYONE OF YOU PEOPLE THAT GAVE A GOOD REVIEW TO THIS BOOK SEE HOW HER INTERVIEW WITH KATIE KURIK WENT? What is wrong with the citizens in the us today. Our government is neither conservative or liberal on either sides. Even if you are on one side, democratic or republican! They both take the characterics of one other!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2002

    Funny but disturbing

    Ann Coulter. Just the name brings a smile to my lips. How can someone be so over-the-top and melodramatic yet still acquire hordes of worshippers who hang on her every word as if they were Gospel truth itself? This book is both hilarious and disturbing. It is hilarious because the sheer degree of the invective against the evil, godless, sociopathic 'liberals' is so ridiculously inflated. If you were to believe Fraulein Coulter, liberals are to blame for every evil that has ever befallen the human race, and have blamed the conservatives for all of it. Furthermore, we are meant to believe that 'liberals' have a stranglehold on all the nation's media, schooling, culture, etc. (how, then, was her book allowed to be printed?). If you read this book as a satire, as irony, it is quite hilarious, reminiscent of something one might find in 'The Onion' or a later 'Monty Python' sketch. You think to yourself, this is insane. She has to be joking. This can't be what she honestly, truely believes. Certainly, you think, she's simply grandstanding to a market that has been created to keep public opinion hatefully divided. She's got to be just cashing in, exploiting the poor souls who actually agree with what she writes. But then, as you read on, you get the disturbing impression that she really is being honest about what she believes, that what she has written really is what she thinks. And that is truly disturbing. If this is true, then this woman believes that there is an evil cabal of individuals who control our media and are striving for the common destruction of church and state, and that these people--these 'liberals' (ever notice how it's never clearly defined just what a liberal is?) are the purest incarnations of evil ever to appear on the face of the earth. Coulter has her rights of free speech and free publication just as we all do, and if I am free to write a book about an evil conspiracy involing the Freemasons, the American Kennel Club, and the disembodied head of John D. Rockefeller, then she must be free to publish her conspiracy theories, even if they are only slightly less plausibe than mine. However, the frightening and disturbing part is the sheer number of people--as evidenced by this review page--who accept her words blindly for the sole reason that they confirm their preexisting biases and stereotypes. Actually, that is what she does all around. She is not out to change minds or hearts, merely to preach to the choir and thus gain a reliable collection on the plate. She does not wish to reconcile with liberals; she does not wish to intelligently and amicably dispute them; she wishes to destroy them. In short, if you are a conservative of Coulter's mold (God help you), then you will love this book and rank it right up there with the Bible. If you are liberal (that is, anyone who disagrees with Coulter), you will be convinced once again that there are some pretty wacked out freaks on the right. If you are a moderate, or if you are just simply a citizen who wants what's best for your country--who supports Americans and not Republicans or Democrats--then you will hang your head in shame after reading this book (if you can finish it) and lament the ridiculous and petty depths to which our nation has sunk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2002

    Pointed attacks against missinformation that drag on and on.

    As a conservative, reading this book reminds me of discussions with liberal friends in college who were utterly convinced that conservatives were out to destroy the Earth and keep the poor from eating, among other horrors. I can assure you, as Coulter attempts to very poignantly in this book, that this simply is not the case. Her arguments are sharp and often witty but I give the book three stars because they tend to drag on and become redundant. Though I think the book is well researched - examples, though sparce, back her arguments- there are only so many times you can say that Clinton and Gore told lies. We get the point. It paints a good picture of the experience of a conservative in a liberal world and I enjoyed reading the book for the most part. It becomes a bit tedious by the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2002

    What It's Really About

    What people should learn from this book (and all others like it) is that when you believe something is one way you can prove it to really be that way. This goes for all sides. People are so concerned about being right they forget why they even cared in the first place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1