Customer Reviews for

Slander: Liberal Lies about the American Right

Average Rating 3.5
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic - written to inform, rather than persuade

I received this book for Christmas and finished it in four days. I was laughing out loud at her incredible, biting wit and sarcasm, an understandable response to the maddening idiocy she exposes and handily debunks. I was confused for a while as to who her intended audi...
I received this book for Christmas and finished it in four days. I was laughing out loud at her incredible, biting wit and sarcasm, an understandable response to the maddening idiocy she exposes and handily debunks. I was confused for a while as to who her intended audience was - it by no means attempts to appeal to or persuade liberals, which I had assumed was the purpose of the book. I believe the aim was more to educate and embolden Conservatives so as to better equip them to go on offense. With this in mind, it's easier to read and enjoy the book for what it is instead of being constantly shocked at her unwillingness to give every point a 'PC' qualifier: 'While not EVERY liberal despises 'organized religion'...' Of particular value is her exposure of many false assumptions and premises used by the liberal media that are so repeated, they are treated as fact, even by Conservatives. For example, she points to constant media updates on the actions of the non-existent 'religious right' as though it were an official, organized movement with 'members,' while conspicuously never discussing the 'atheist left.' Note to those who claim Coulter doesn't back-up her points: ARE YOU INSANE? Agree or disagree with her, it is simple fact that a full 35 pages of notes meticulously document each and every quote and fact she uses throughout the book.

posted by Anonymous on December 31, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I can take only so much ranting

Ann's writing style takes getting used to. Hard to read her point of view which is much like her on-air talking points. Chop-chop, hard to follow. I agree with many of her themes, it's just hard to read instead of listen.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    good for her

    i am myself moderate, but i do get tired of the extreme left making crazy propoganda, that is just childish and petty, and no one calling them out on it. At least Ann has the stones to throw it right back. Even though she might exaggerate she comes no where near what the extreme left does on a daily basis. She's the balance to an uneven equation, because for every action there is and equal and opposite reaction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2003

    A little too religious for me but a great book.

    She does a geat job of documenting the media's bias, who they are, where they came from, how they idealogically police their ranks,and what their agenda is. I remember most of the media incidents she documents myself, but seeing them brought together and taken as a whole really makes the point that we are under a constant barrage of leftist propaganda in the form of 'objective news'. She makes a very strong case that this propaganda isn't just an innocent result of the journalists' own views sloppily leaking into their stories. It comes from an intentional desire to drive American politics. Her detailed rundown of the media's part in the 2000 election debacle and also their steadfast labors in favor of abortion are clear evidence of that. Well worth the effort of reading this book is the rundown on the academic acheivements of a long list of liberal critics who routinely call their enemies 'stupid'. This alone puts a whole new light on what is really happening when liberals call conservatives names. As Coulter shows, they do it not because it's true, but because it's about the only thing they have to offer, and with the media in their hands, they are so used to getting away with it that it is second nature. As an atheist I don't agree with her that religion is our best defense against the liberals. I think truth and logic work fine and she has done a lot of good work toward that end. She's clearly right about the left's hatred of religion and persecution of it, but I think she's wrong when she characterizes the 'Religious Right' as something that a. doesn't exist, b. has no power, c. wouldn't push it's own agenda on others if it could. She does show that there is no such single entity or organization and that the surest way to media favor is to attack them. That doesn't mean there are no such people and that they wouldn't push their religion-based views on the rest of us if they could. Coulter spices up the book with lots of colorful language and stinging rebukes of liberals. It makes if fun to read, but also creates the impression that she is just as hateful toward liberals as she complains of them being toward conservatives. As a commentator she does deserve more leeway in this area than the supposedly 'objective news' people who have routinely shown their disgust with anything conservative for so long. After reading the book you'll find most of the negative reviews about it kind of funny, since they demonstrate liberal attitudes and tactics that are right out of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2003

    Truth hurts

    Although at times her approach drags her down to the level of the liberals she so artfully eviscerates, the fundamental principles of the book are simply true. Any sampling of the media will reveal the plain liberal bias, mute indifference toward conservative accomplishments and vehement attacks against conservative character and personality rather than meaningful response on issues. Read it and either weep or grimly smirk...it represents the sad state of affairs in our political - media morass.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2003

    Changed my mind

    After returning home from college one weekend, rather impulsively I picked up 'Slander' again and read it for the second time. After becoming a devotee of her online columns I must confess that she-and ultimately reading this book again has won me over. Kudos Coulter!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2003

    Sometimes repetative but overall a good read

    Ann Coulter is a bit repetative, but she does an excellent job of supporting her views. Perhaps the reviewer "who enjoys reasonable debates" who reviewed this book on Jan. 8th should look up the definition of slander. To make it easy for him it is: A false and malicious statement or report about someone. Ms. Coulter's comments while often quite scathing were well supported by evidence and that is not slander.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2003

    Very Interesting

    Ann does a great job of research to support facts. I had always noticed a difference in the way Republicans and Democrats attack one another. This explains why. I had always noticed a distinct point of view of the Media in general. This book elaborates on that although she does not offer any new explanation as to why. I think that could be her next book. I think it is due to the type of people who attend Journalism school versus business school. She has very good research and support for her arguments. I become more and more convinced that Ayn Rand was on the right track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    Read Why the NY Times Won't Review This Book

    Cooler heads will be able to sift through the hyperbole and still be amazed by the incredibly well-documented way in which Coulter shows the extent to which the Left contols the US Media. Ironically, the many liberal reviewers who suggest Conservatives go "read the US Constitution" are the ones so eager to keep these kinds of books from being read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2002

    A Revelation

    I actually bought the book just to see what all the fuss was about. My liberal Democrat friends just get apoplectic when Coulter's name is mentioned and yet their criticisms were noticeably stylistic rather than syllogistic. Well Ann certain has an acid tongue, but frankly she writes in an organized, well-reasoned and well-documented fashion. If the goal of the book was to illuminate liberal bias in the media, I have to say I think she succeeded brilliantly. Notably I have been less inclined to view the broadcast networks ever since reading it and when I do, the bias just leaps out at me. She must have done wonders for Fox viewership.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2002

    'Just the facts Mame....'

    Ann backs up her claims with foot-notes, what a concept!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2002

    All Hail the Diva of the Right

    The liberals are going to hate this. It smashes their flimsy position to bits. I doubt it will win any converts to OUR cause, as it is delightfuly mean spirited...which is reason enough to grab a copy of this book. Sure, making lefties froth at the mouth is easy sport, but it's fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Very Accurate depiction of the left...

    This book is very honest and straight forward and will infuriate anyone with a conscience. The only complaint I had about the book is that most of what she pointed out was already obvious to anyone who cares to pay attention and has a full grasp of logic and injustice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2002

    Number of stars = relative intelligence

    Read bits here and there... haven't had a chance to read the whole thing yet. But I must say that I'm infuriated (and saddened) by the statements of Jose Lugo. It is a pathetic person indeed who equates the taking of a life (much less thousands) with writing a book. How little value he must place on life. How sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Bold but Fun

    This is my idea of summer beach reading! Ms. Coulter is not subtle, and absolutely itching for a fight, but someone on the right has to start standing up against the liberal media / education bias.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2002

    Good read 4US

    entertaining enlightenment about liberal facts. good work. mass media needs reigns. age verification alone is not just enough.E-Censorship is worth considering

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Rava - review or Coulter critic

    In reading the first two reviews I find it amazing that 'Rava' could not help but use references outside the book to criticize not so much the book but the person - The exact point of the book. Rava your a good liberal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2002

    Liberals beware

    Finally a book that states the truth. This country is finally waking up to a liberal/PC/Socialist highjacking. This book is truthful, and if you have common sense and are able to understand truth this book will make an impression. Read this book and realize that True America needs to stand up to liberals, and remind them that thier way is not what our forefathers had in mind. Freedom, morals, patriotism, and courage. George Washington did not have in mind Political correctness and naievete. ie.... 'Islam is peaceful and we should not Racial Profile'. If we do not do this we will be living with what Israel is going through now (Death and I guess jihad whatever the unhonorable murders want to call it). America wake up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1