Customer Reviews for

Slang: The Topical Dictionary of Americanisms

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Warriors: Eaglestar's Knowledge

    "Hush now kits." Dawnfall gathered her kits around her. One kit, Williowkit, poked her sleeping sister with a tenative paw. "Wake up Eaglekit!" She prodded Eaglekit again and only recieved a gurgle."Enough Willowkit. She needs her rest and so do you." Willowkit reluctantly agreed and laid diwn near Eaglekit."Good night, Eaglekit." She mewed; but only got a hushing from her mother.






    That was chapter one. Hoped you like it. If I get good comments i will continue the stoty. This is judt a teaser! ?_?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    SEX BAR

    SEARCH SEXY IT IS RESULT FOUR THEN COMENT UR NAME AND IM HERE FOR THE PARTY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    My story by brittney read on at xo result ONE ADD COMMENTS PLEASE YO BRITT My Story by Brittney READ MORE ON XO RESULT ONE

    My screams peirce the night sky. Sirens become a pounding in my head. Walki talkies beep . I cant go back. No not this time. Laim stands behind me holding me tight. My breasts go up and down as i breath in and out. Up and down in and out. "Its okay...Cassia we are going to be okay" Liams lips touch my ear as he whispers this . No. I think . No it WONT be alright.
    Chapter1
    I wake up in a bed. So soft so comferable. My eyes spring open when i remember the events of last night. My sister is dead. My whole family is dead. I sit up. And relize uam completly naked under a bed sheet and cover. A pair of clothes is folded on the end of my bed. I sigh. I dress . A boy walks in and frowns. "What"i ask. The boy is about 18 my age and is super cute. "Your not naked" i cross my hands over my chest and look up to see his teasing smike. Wait. Hold on a sec i know thats smile."Liam"?he leans in and kisses me. "Yup" "what did they do to you"!? I ask he is quite for a long time then answers in one word."Burns" Oh . "What are we going to do?" I say. I dont know. "Well"Laim pauses and says"You could either kiss me and say"Oh laim you are the only person i will ever need and why dont you come and slleep with me?"or we could just awkwardly sit here and wait tell tommriw for departure" i smle ans lean in clise and say" well ive allways wated your get inside of your pants"and kiss him. The next da me and liam get ready for deparure dya. The day in witch we meet are life mates. My eyes are still re from crying. My sister Jennete will never meet william. I look up at the sky. It deep blue. The train comes puffing up. And we board. All kids from ages 13 and up. We are sent iut to re populate diffrent parts of theworld. Ew yuck. Me and liam we tease each other about repopulation all the time but all we ever do is make out. Here is how this"love game"works. One girl is paired up with a boy their life mate .there life mate keeps them alive from other guys. The other guys trie to kill the girls. If your girl is killed then you will have to go live with the guy who slaughterdyour life mate . Then at th end. Your team should have one girl and lots of guys. The girl picks her favorite guy and they go off and well you know get married. We stop and pick up anither load of kids. Are next stop? The matching center. I open a small book i was given on my lifemate. Leo. A tall beautifull boy. With blonde hair and blue eyes. Well actually bleached hair.liam leans over. I feel sorry for him all the preassure is on the guys.they have to keep a girl alive all us girls have to do is "motivate"the guys . Liam frowns. "What"? "Nothing"liam saysm i think about leo an his dreamy eyes.
    Chapter2
    Liam shakes me awake . "Were here" my eyes flutter open exited ad scared. We are busseled into a big room. Liam grabes my hand annd says"this might be my last time to see you and i want."he pauses"i want you to know that i ...like you he squeezes my hand and walks off to find his life matem a cougj behind me makes me turn atound. Leo. Its leo!i throws my arms around him and she embraces me too. All i can make out is "hey" "hey" kei flios hus hair and says " you must be Cassia" i nod and push back my black hair. Leo leans in and says"you know we are only told what color you would be wairing and your name. I was praying for someone that wasnt ugly and the angkes answerd my prayrs.i blush and say so telk me a little aout yourself ad we walk into outlr hotel room.
    TO BE CONTINUED....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Lynn pt 3

    Ava wasn't sure what noise came out of her, but it sounded like a squeak. There was silence on the other end of the line. Scott held in a breath then blew it out. "Ava, i keep getting calls in the middle of the night telling me to give these 'missions' or who ever they are on the other end said they will kill you." Ava sniffed, and said,"Can you come get me? I need to get away from here." Scott answered almost immedietly, replying, "Yes. I'll be there in 20 minutes. Can you hold on that mmuch longer?" Ava began to reply, but her air was cut off by a bag being shoved over her head and being pushed into a large black Chevy Escalade.

    *This is Lynn, the author here! Tell me some things you liked or think i should improve on. Should i keep writing?*

    &star Lynn &star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    To lynn

    Hey. Can you continue the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2014

    Story by Kate

    Roxane was more than just nervous. There were more than just butterflies in her stomach. The spotlight looked like a lazer beam. Was she going to risk a moment like this? Her blade scraped the ice as she got onto th rink. Wass her hair okay? It's browness was not very attractive. And her makeup? She was pretty sure it didn't mach her olive eyes. Her dress was glamorous, but look at Ava Scarlett's. Hers was beyond amazing. She felt the crowd suck in their breth. She took a pose. Elegant and sassy. The spotlight hit her. And the music started. Rythym. Rythym. Rythym. That was all she could think about. The dancing was natural. Triple axels and toeloops were easy. The staying along to the beat. Her skate started to wobble. No. What was happening. She began to start a spin, but no. She slipped and fell on her knee. How. How? This was the stupedist thing ever. She realized she was sitting. Roxane's tears began to form and drip down. Her knee looked funny. It was bent at an odd angle. Could it be... dislocated? God no. That would ruin her career. She felt hands and saw an ambulance. Next thing she knew, she was asleep. Probably passed out. When she woke up, Roxane felt drowsy. A nurse was syanding over her. She started talking about how Roxane had duslocated her knee and broken her ankle. It was over. Nothing was possible. Ice skatting was not going to work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    To lynn

    Wanna chat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    To read actors daughter plz tap

    Please search molly moon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Suck d

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Jazzpunk

    17 year old jazz looked out the car window, crying lightly, seeing her home dissapear behind the car as the driver drove away. Why was this happening? Her mom sold drugs. Her dad commited tax fraud. And Jazz, she found out they weren't her REAL parents. Terrific. She looked at her reflection, twirling her black and velvet hair, wiping her blues that looked radiant againts her pale skin. She blew her nose on her red sweatshirt, not careing. Who are real parents, she thought. 3 hours later, the driver pulled up to a huge brick house in the woods up a windy road ontop of a hill. She got out with her luggage, and went to the door, nervous as hell. Jazz rang the bell, biting her lip. It opened. She didn't expect what was standing in the doorway. Part 2 coming very soon in next result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1