Customer Reviews for

Slash

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow..Couldnt Put It Down.

I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I...
I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unimpressed

I really thought this book was kinda long and boring. It could've been so much more. It gives his childhood and cool stories, but I think it could've been more exciting.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Wow..Couldnt Put It Down.

    I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    A Different World

    Coming from a suburban honor-roll student in color guard, the world of drugs, sex, and rock is almost imaginary until I read Slash. This book was crazy, insightful, shocking, and humorous. Now, listening to the music makes me think a little bit differently.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    This book is all about excess and rock n' roll!

    The 80's werent just about guys in spandex and multi-colored outfits, there were bands like Guns N' Roses that were the epitomy of what hard rock was. This book is great because Slash wrote it. Not some journalist who only gets half of the facts right. Slash was the lead guitarist of Guns and had seen it all. Slash first starts talking about his childhood then moves on into his teenage years all the way up until now. My favorite part of the book definately is when Slash is SUPPOSED to be detoxing at this high class resort but rather injects a bunch of coke and starts to vividly hallucinate little monsters that chase after him all around the resort while he is naked. That definately blew my mind. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Rock Gods or Guns N' Roses. This is now one of my favorite books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Couldn't put the book down!

    Really raw book, kept me from wanting to put it down. Besides me being a fan, this being my favorite band growing up in the 80's. I also bought this to book to hear first hand what ended up being the demise of such a huge band of the 80's. I thought he really shared a lot with us of his high's and lows of being in the band and being brutally honest about all of it. I would really like to hear another bandmates take on things now too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    really good !

    slash is a great storyteller......honest,after reading this i hate Axl Rose!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Genuine and respectful storytelling.

    I came out of this book with a greater respect for Slash. This felt very honest and respectful of everyone involved. Compelling and insightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    It fell kinda short

    I expected this book to be a very good one considering the reviews I read but it was over 400 pages of him telling you how he didn't really care about anything but music. He was on drugs, then off, on, then off and it gets very hard to read because he is so repetative. Other than that not a bad book but nothing I would read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    WOWWW!!!!!!!

    Yo...This book will leave you asking for a sequel. Slash has got a way with words, his story had me so interested I've read it twice already, I recommend this book for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SLASH

    I've never been much of a reader. I am, however, a fan of remarkable talent. I read 60 pages the first night, which is quite an accomplishment for me. This book hooks the reader by allowing you to sit with Slash and simply listen to who he is and the road he's paved to become who he is today. There are moments while reading, when I amuse my family with chuckling at Slash's plain and simple, yet possibly, unintentional humor. He has traveled this hectic Night Train, nonetheless, maintains a unique respect; from the consideration for his ex-girlfriends to the compliments of other artists work.
    In addition, Anthony Bozza has a newly acquired fan in me. I plan to pick up Tommyland, next.
    I've also purchased the new album SLASH, RnFnR. The compilation of artists on each individual track creates an astounding balance of grand talent with distinctive sound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Best book I've read since... well, I can't think of a better book I've read than this. And I've read alot.

    Any one who reads this is gonna want to read about Axl Rose. Warning, W.A.R which is about Axl is full of some dumb lies. Only about 2 things in it is true. Slash is the best in this book. It has inspired me to play Bass Guitar. Right now, I'm gonna head out the door to Guitar Center to check out what they got. It's that good. It might not be as good to you; I love it so much because it reminds me of my childhood. Alot. But, even so, if you don't fall in love with this book, you've got something wrong with your head. Warning: The words used in this book are not, well, good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A great read!

    Not knowing a lot about Slash and having lived through the rise and fall of Guns N Roses I was curious what the inside story was. Wow, this book is an eye opener into how dysfunctional and chaotic the forming and maintaining of a band can be! Slash's story telling is pretty funny so it made the book easy to read and hard to put down. If you're a fan of music and have even a casual interest in Guns N Roses you'll enjoy this book. I've read the Doors books and Fleetwood Mac's story and though they were truly dysfunctional GNR were just as messed up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Good Book

    I enjoyed reading Slash's side of the rise and fall of Guns and Roses. I felt that it was well written and an interesting read. I didn't know alot of the people he was talking about and sometimes it felt like he would go on and on about all these different member of different bands when you really just wanted to know about him but all in all it was a good book. Better than the other Guns and Roses books I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash

    Slash is one of those thrilling novels that gives you an inside look into one of hard rocks most influentle guitarists, Saul Huddosn, better known as Slash. This autobiography of the famous guitarist captures his feelings throughout the book. The life story of Slash starts off with his childhood and eventually turns into the rollercoaster ride of sex, drugs, and rock 'n roll.

    This book, personally, made me see Slash as a completely different person. He went, in my mind, from a glamorized, guitar hero. To a man with a few skeletons in his closet. I enjoyed this book greatly, but at times the storyline got rather dry, uneventful. I suggest this book to anyone that is a Guns 'N Roses or Velvet Revolver fan.

    -its been fun, peace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    The True Story of a Real-Life Guitar Hero

    It's unfortunate that Guns n' Roses often gets lumped into the same category as trendy hair and glam bands from the 80's like Poison and Motley Crew, because in many ways they were the last real authentic rock n' roll group.

    Rising from the gutters of Los Angeles to world-wide infamy and superstardom, G-N-R blazed a trail of debauchery and destruction everywhere they played. Leading that charge were Axl Rose and Slash - a musical union that was as chaotic as it was perfect.

    Slash is the brash and uncensored story of a living rock legend that's fortunate to be alive - a real guitar hero. His story is wild, excessive and sad. He delves into detail about his private and musical relationships, addiction to drugs and alcohol, and love of rock.

    Only in the bizarre world of rock n' roll could Slash's combination of naivety, raw talent and reckless determination have led to success.

    No way will true rock fans be able to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash

    This book was GREAT, that's all i have to say!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Closed Door

    I Liked the book, It was raw, and easy to feel and see things, But things I felt were wrong like I dont really think that it is a fan based book, Like it was for him to write a book about his life, for him to move on, it was hime putting a end to what it used to be. By, Slash putting down Axl, I found a issue, He spend about half the book, saying how axl was an Issue, how Axl would explain a different story, but i think this was a way to get back at Axl for what he has done to Slash, and Guns N' Roses. You can see through the book that he has harsh feeling that, Yes, are important for him to express. Things through the book, I like, His love for the music is amazing, and you can feel it when you read. and parts you can imagin what is from his eyes, mind, and heart. I really enjoy Slash as an Artist, However, I don't think this (again) is made for the fans, i think it was he refecting on the past with what he is now. He also, makes a lot of thing negitive, as you can tell as you read through, as well you can tell that he does hold back (but it is understandable he is still just like you and me). But its his way of closing the door, of drugs, drinking. so that he can move on in live with his wife, and children, and music. As a read i believe that you can see it through your eyes, and its good, but I think the book could be better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash Rules

    Slash is one of the best books I have ever read. It is all about Slash's life since he was born. He is one of the best rock stars I've ever heard of. It tells the truth about him and Guns N' Roses. He's been on drugs since he was a young boy. His mom always said she'd rather him do drugs under her supervision than him do it in an uncontrolled environment. He got to see different walks of life because he was half black and half English. The first page is about how he has a cardioverter-defibrillator because of all the years of alcohol and drug abuse. His heart can either beat to slow or to fast and the cardioverter-defibrillator will give him a shock to his heart to even it out. He originally lived in Great Britain until he was six and him and his dad Tony moved to California to live with his mom Ola. Tony was a painter always looking for inspiration. Ola was a fashion designer that was always making new connections. She designed costumes for David Bowie. Because of his mom Slash was always around famous rock stars of the time when he was a kid. He always was around people older than him, he didn't like kids around his age he thought they weren't interesting enough. He loved the inspiration he got from being around older people. They showed him the best bands of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SLASH ROCKS!

    This book made me feel apart of the Guns N' Roses era, and I wasn't even alive then! SLASH was an intense book, it has funny, sad, and thrilling parts...I was never bored. After reading this book I have become an even bigger fan of Slash and the whole Guns N' Roses band. This book was just awesome, I cannot even describe it! I will always be able to read this book over again.....no matter what my age! I LOVED this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Slash.

    This is a great book carefully written and put together. I recommend this to any Guns N' Roses fan. AWESOME!!!! I will definitely read this book over and over again.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2008

    Unimpressed

    I really thought this book was kinda long and boring. It could've been so much more. It gives his childhood and cool stories, but I think it could've been more exciting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 166 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9