Customer Reviews for

Slash

Average Rating 4.5
( 165 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow..Couldnt Put It Down.

I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I...
I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unimpressed

I really thought this book was kinda long and boring. It could've been so much more. It gives his childhood and cool stories, but I think it could've been more exciting.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    SLASH

    I've never been much of a reader. I am, however, a fan of remarkable talent. I read 60 pages the first night, which is quite an accomplishment for me. This book hooks the reader by allowing you to sit with Slash and simply listen to who he is and the road he's paved to become who he is today. There are moments while reading, when I amuse my family with chuckling at Slash's plain and simple, yet possibly, unintentional humor. He has traveled this hectic Night Train, nonetheless, maintains a unique respect; from the consideration for his ex-girlfriends to the compliments of other artists work.
    In addition, Anthony Bozza has a newly acquired fan in me. I plan to pick up Tommyland, next.
    I've also purchased the new album SLASH, RnFnR. The compilation of artists on each individual track creates an astounding balance of grand talent with distinctive sound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Good Book

    I enjoyed reading Slash's side of the rise and fall of Guns and Roses. I felt that it was well written and an interesting read. I didn't know alot of the people he was talking about and sometimes it felt like he would go on and on about all these different member of different bands when you really just wanted to know about him but all in all it was a good book. Better than the other Guns and Roses books I've read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash

    Slash is one of those thrilling novels that gives you an inside look into one of hard rocks most influentle guitarists, Saul Huddosn, better known as Slash. This autobiography of the famous guitarist captures his feelings throughout the book. The life story of Slash starts off with his childhood and eventually turns into the rollercoaster ride of sex, drugs, and rock 'n roll.

    This book, personally, made me see Slash as a completely different person. He went, in my mind, from a glamorized, guitar hero. To a man with a few skeletons in his closet. I enjoyed this book greatly, but at times the storyline got rather dry, uneventful. I suggest this book to anyone that is a Guns 'N Roses or Velvet Revolver fan.

    -its been fun, peace

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    The True Story of a Real-Life Guitar Hero

    It's unfortunate that Guns n' Roses often gets lumped into the same category as trendy hair and glam bands from the 80's like Poison and Motley Crew, because in many ways they were the last real authentic rock n' roll group.

    Rising from the gutters of Los Angeles to world-wide infamy and superstardom, G-N-R blazed a trail of debauchery and destruction everywhere they played. Leading that charge were Axl Rose and Slash - a musical union that was as chaotic as it was perfect.

    Slash is the brash and uncensored story of a living rock legend that's fortunate to be alive - a real guitar hero. His story is wild, excessive and sad. He delves into detail about his private and musical relationships, addiction to drugs and alcohol, and love of rock.

    Only in the bizarre world of rock n' roll could Slash's combination of naivety, raw talent and reckless determination have led to success.

    No way will true rock fans be able to put this book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Closed Door

    I Liked the book, It was raw, and easy to feel and see things, But things I felt were wrong like I dont really think that it is a fan based book, Like it was for him to write a book about his life, for him to move on, it was hime putting a end to what it used to be. By, Slash putting down Axl, I found a issue, He spend about half the book, saying how axl was an Issue, how Axl would explain a different story, but i think this was a way to get back at Axl for what he has done to Slash, and Guns N' Roses. You can see through the book that he has harsh feeling that, Yes, are important for him to express. Things through the book, I like, His love for the music is amazing, and you can feel it when you read. and parts you can imagin what is from his eyes, mind, and heart. I really enjoy Slash as an Artist, However, I don't think this (again) is made for the fans, i think it was he refecting on the past with what he is now. He also, makes a lot of thing negitive, as you can tell as you read through, as well you can tell that he does hold back (but it is understandable he is still just like you and me). But its his way of closing the door, of drugs, drinking. so that he can move on in live with his wife, and children, and music. As a read i believe that you can see it through your eyes, and its good, but I think the book could be better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2008

    Fantastic

    I loved Slash's book. I'm a long time Guns N Roses and Velvet Revolver fan, so it was great to read the details of their history. More surprisingly, Slash seems quite open and honest about events and his feelings about them. I enjoyed every second of this book: like a previous reviewer, I actually stayed home one night because I couldn't put the book down! Great pictures, too. A very interesting book for anyone who is interested in rock: I think it would appeal even to those who are not particularly Slash fans. One final note: it is nothing short of amazing that Slash and the other Gunners are still alive and playing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Extraordinary Talent Despite Rough Living

    Wow, this book provided intimate details of the hard-living and successful Slash. Whether cringing at his explicit descriptions of 'debauchery',or admiring him for not glorifying his addictions,this book is a must read for fans of Guns& Roses and Velvet Revolver. I would have enjoyed reading more about Slash's development of his beautiful solos. Every time I hear his solo in'November Rain,' I am reminded of other great works by Beethoven, Puccini etc. How one is able to create such sublime music is beyond me. Hopefully, he will stay clean - not just for his family but for his fans (like me)who selfishly want to hear more of what his guitar has to say.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Biggest Slash Fan ever...

    I just finished reading this book and I found the parts about Slash's childhood and teen years most interesting. i could've figured out the rest but it was still great to hear it from Slash/Bozza's point of view. I still have questions though....Slash????

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2007

    Like sitting in a corner both at The Rainbow and listening to Slash talk

    I had very high expectations for this book since I'm a huge GnR fan. And most of those expectations were met. This book reads as a story...basically, I felt like Slash sat down beside me at the neighborhood bar and decided to tell me his life's story. And it's a fascinating story. The book is an excellent read and gives you an insider's look at Slash and GnR his view on the band and the dynamics of the band. He does not bash Axl but seems to try to protect/stick up for him while explaining occurences from multiple points of view. VR is covered some towards the end but not as much. I'd really recommend reading this--but keep in mind that it is very open and honest--so if you get offended easily, don't read it! Otherwise, enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I have not read this book. but I would love to if I could get th

    I have not read this book. but I would love to if I could get the ebook. so please but this book on e-file.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A view port into the life and times of Guns and Roses

    The book goes into great detail (from Slash's perspective) on how Guns N Roses climb to fame and subsequent disentegration. He never drags anyone through the mud, and the book is an easy read that is laid out excellently. I intend to buy more books written by Anthony Bozza. I was always impressed by Slash's guitar playing but now have a deeper appreciation for him as a person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2