BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slash

Average Rating 4.5
( 166 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wow..Couldnt Put It Down.

I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I...
I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!

posted by Anonymous on August 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unimpressed

I really thought this book was kinda long and boring. It could've been so much more. It gives his childhood and cool stories, but I think it could've been more exciting.

posted by Anonymous on September 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    Wow..Couldnt Put It Down.

    I think this is a great book. I loved everything about it. I liked how Slash is very down to earth. I wasnt a HUGE guns n roses fan and i still enjoyed the book very much. Now i love their music even more now that i know they story behind some of their greatest songs. I recommend to everyone!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2008

    A Different World

    Coming from a suburban honor-roll student in color guard, the world of drugs, sex, and rock is almost imaginary until I read Slash. This book was crazy, insightful, shocking, and humorous. Now, listening to the music makes me think a little bit differently.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2009

    This book is all about excess and rock n' roll!

    The 80's werent just about guys in spandex and multi-colored outfits, there were bands like Guns N' Roses that were the epitomy of what hard rock was. This book is great because Slash wrote it. Not some journalist who only gets half of the facts right. Slash was the lead guitarist of Guns and had seen it all. Slash first starts talking about his childhood then moves on into his teenage years all the way up until now. My favorite part of the book definately is when Slash is SUPPOSED to be detoxing at this high class resort but rather injects a bunch of coke and starts to vividly hallucinate little monsters that chase after him all around the resort while he is naked. That definately blew my mind. I would definately recommend this book to anyone who is interested in Rock Gods or Guns N' Roses. This is now one of my favorite books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    Couldn't put the book down!

    Really raw book, kept me from wanting to put it down. Besides me being a fan, this being my favorite band growing up in the 80's. I also bought this to book to hear first hand what ended up being the demise of such a huge band of the 80's. I thought he really shared a lot with us of his high's and lows of being in the band and being brutally honest about all of it. I would really like to hear another bandmates take on things now too.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    really good !

    slash is a great storyteller......honest,after reading this i hate Axl Rose!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Genuine and respectful storytelling.

    I came out of this book with a greater respect for Slash. This felt very honest and respectful of everyone involved. Compelling and insightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    WOWWW!!!!!!!

    Yo...This book will leave you asking for a sequel. Slash has got a way with words, his story had me so interested I've read it twice already, I recommend this book for everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2010

    Best book I've read since... well, I can't think of a better book I've read than this. And I've read alot.

    Any one who reads this is gonna want to read about Axl Rose. Warning, W.A.R which is about Axl is full of some dumb lies. Only about 2 things in it is true. Slash is the best in this book. It has inspired me to play Bass Guitar. Right now, I'm gonna head out the door to Guitar Center to check out what they got. It's that good. It might not be as good to you; I love it so much because it reminds me of my childhood. Alot. But, even so, if you don't fall in love with this book, you've got something wrong with your head. Warning: The words used in this book are not, well, good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    A great read!

    Not knowing a lot about Slash and having lived through the rise and fall of Guns N Roses I was curious what the inside story was. Wow, this book is an eye opener into how dysfunctional and chaotic the forming and maintaining of a band can be! Slash's story telling is pretty funny so it made the book easy to read and hard to put down. If you're a fan of music and have even a casual interest in Guns N Roses you'll enjoy this book. I've read the Doors books and Fleetwood Mac's story and though they were truly dysfunctional GNR were just as messed up!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash

    This book was GREAT, that's all i have to say!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Slash Rules

    Slash is one of the best books I have ever read. It is all about Slash's life since he was born. He is one of the best rock stars I've ever heard of. It tells the truth about him and Guns N' Roses. He's been on drugs since he was a young boy. His mom always said she'd rather him do drugs under her supervision than him do it in an uncontrolled environment. He got to see different walks of life because he was half black and half English. The first page is about how he has a cardioverter-defibrillator because of all the years of alcohol and drug abuse. His heart can either beat to slow or to fast and the cardioverter-defibrillator will give him a shock to his heart to even it out. He originally lived in Great Britain until he was six and him and his dad Tony moved to California to live with his mom Ola. Tony was a painter always looking for inspiration. Ola was a fashion designer that was always making new connections. She designed costumes for David Bowie. Because of his mom Slash was always around famous rock stars of the time when he was a kid. He always was around people older than him, he didn't like kids around his age he thought they weren't interesting enough. He loved the inspiration he got from being around older people. They showed him the best bands of the time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    SLASH ROCKS!

    This book made me feel apart of the Guns N' Roses era, and I wasn't even alive then! SLASH was an intense book, it has funny, sad, and thrilling parts...I was never bored. After reading this book I have become an even bigger fan of Slash and the whole Guns N' Roses band. This book was just awesome, I cannot even describe it! I will always be able to read this book over again.....no matter what my age! I LOVED this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Slash.

    This is a great book carefully written and put together. I recommend this to any Guns N' Roses fan. AWESOME!!!! I will definitely read this book over and over again.........................................................................................................................................................................................................................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2008

    Great!

    This book is so addicting! I can't set it down once I start reading it! I love how Slash actually gives the details about his life, however embarrassing or bad they were. This book is better than some of the other rock autobiography books I've read! A must have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    I love both Motley Crue and Guns and Roses, but this book is better than both The Dirt and Heroin Diaries. It's more real and down to earth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    awsome book

    i couldnt stop reading slash book and is awsome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2008

    LOVED IT!!

    OMG!! Since I was a little girl watching GnR on MTv, I never thought slash could speak or really even had a face!! Haha!! Well he can speak and he does have a face behind all that black curly hair!! This autobiography was fantastic...he really got down and dirty about the lifestyle of a rock god!! To be honest, I'm surprised he still has a liver...but thats neither here nor there...All in all this biography was wonderful!! I loved it very much so!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2008

    From an aged fan

    I'm a sound tech and a long time fan since the 80's. Anyone who wants to enter the music business should know what they are getting into. Slash gets into the 'dirt' of the business...good and bad. While you read you will get to know him and that driving force behind the music. Plus what happens when you dance too hard with Mr. Brownstone. 'Todd, Rest in peace' But you will have to read that for yourself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2008

    The Man, the Legend

    I've only gotten through the fourth chapter but I love the insight that it gives you into the life of the one and only Slash. Inspiring to me...too bad there's not enough stars, I would give it 10 stars...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2008

    Awesome to Da MAX!!!

    the book is so good that i couldn't stop reading it. the pictures are awesome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5