Customer Reviews for

Slashback (Cal and Niko Series #8)

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    I've been a fan of Rob Thurman's Cal Leandros series for several

    I've been a fan of Rob Thurman's Cal Leandros series for several years now and just when you think a series can't improve upon itself, along comes Slashback. I fell in love with the Niko POV in the earlier book, Deathwish. I've been dying to hear it again since. This time, we not only get the Niko POV, but the POV of a 15 year old. Finally seeing that trigger that turned Niko from protective big brother to Super Ninja.
    As much as I enjoyed the present day part of the story, the flashback chapters were everything I've always wanted from this series. Funny. Annoying. Angsty. Smart-mouthed. Emotional. Telling. And so much more. 11 year old Cal is hilarious, complex and honest all at the same time. And the last chapter of the Niko POV flashback...is such a heartrending scene... it'll forever one of my favorites.
    In present day, the last quarter of the book is INTENSE. Especially when one of our beloved characters finally loses it. That entire passes is perhaps one of the best scenes in the series.
    New readers NEED to start this series from the beginning in order to engross yourself in the intense co-dependency of the brothers. And you have to be engrossed in that in order to completely enjoy this books. Especially Slashback.
    Some might be a big sidetracked by the ending and the admission by Robin, but ultimately, it works. I don't think it changes the game either...not like something else that comes into play where Cal's Auphe abilities are concerned. Nice to see Ish getting a part to play as well in this one.
    I can't help but love this book. Thanks, Rob, for another intensely satisfying trip into the lives of the Leandros Brothers. And thanks VERY MUCH for allowing us to dig inside of Niko's 15 year old brain to see what made him what he has become.
    Oh and remember, Supernatural fans? Love Sam and Dean? You have GOT to give Cal and Niko a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    I have always enjoyed the Cal Leandros¿ series form Nightlife on

    I have always enjoyed the Cal Leandros’ series form Nightlife on. Slashback continues the trend and excels past the norm for Rob Thurman. It is an intense and a revealing storyline. I love getting to know the younger Cal and Niko and some of the horrors (not the least being Sofia’s children) that made them who they are today. Cal is at his snarky best and Niko is still Cal’s “parent” and sometime conscience. Niko gets a chance to emotionally react and Cal gets a chance to prove his isn’t just lazy and uneducated and that his concern for his brother tops everything even at eleven.
    As you might guess Goodfellow is his ‘horndog” self and monogamous! My only tiny complaint is that I wish Ishiah background was a little bit fuller. I guess that’s what future novels are for.
    The villain is Spring-heel Jack who was a true terror In England. Jack has a grudge against the Leandros brother and he wants to make them pay with their life.
    There are some interesting reveals at the end, some already known to the reader and some not. All could have interesting outcome to the future storyline,
    Please write faster Rob

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    It was funny and snarky and scary, and even a little sweet. Grea

    It was funny and snarky and scary, and even a little sweet. Great job of braiding the two plots and two points-of-view. She just keeps getting better. May have replaced Madhouse as my favorite.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2014

    Best

    These books just keep getting better and better. I think this one is the best of the series so far. I like that there was flash backs. It explained alot and tied in with the boys' current predicament. The Pucks little revelation at the end was surprising, not just to Niko, but to me as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION¿s Alluring Angel ¿ Kathy: --Act

    Our Review, by LITERAL ADDICTION’s Alluring Angel – Kathy:
    --Actual rating 4.5 Skulls

    Slashback, the 8th book in Rob Thurman’s Cal Leandros series, is a gritty, good vs. evil compelling read.  The bond shared between
    brothers Cal and Niko is the driving force that propels this story.
     
    Slashback finds Cal and Niko thrust into the crosshairs of a supernatural killer unlike any that they have encountered before.  How do
    you fight and kill something that seemingly can’t be stopped?  Sometimes you just got to take of leap of faith and when the only thing
    you have faith in is each other, that leap can be a deadly one.
     
    The action in Slashback is nonstop.  And the “us against the world” mentality of the Leandros brothers, continues to tighten the brotherly
     bonds.
     
    Slashback grabs the reader’s attention from the start and doesn’t let go until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2013

    I got this book when it first came out and it's, quiet honestly,

    I got this book when it first came out and it's, quiet honestly, the best of the Cal books, and definitely one of the best of Rob Thurman's (I've read all her books).  I love it so much. It takes place as much in the past as it does in the present. We get to see a young Cal and Niko. And young Cal is so incredibly cute and adorable. Niko is still his over protective self. The end of the book has a bit of a twist told by Goodfellow. Still not really sure how I feel about that... But still one of the best books I've read in a long time. I can't wait for the next one to come out. I love all the characters so much. Though this book was lacking Grimm. I'm sure we'll be seeing him in the next book or 2. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    I love the world of Cal and Niko and have enjoyed each and every

    I love the world of Cal and Niko and have enjoyed each and every novel in the series. I have to say the Thurman outdid herself on this one1 I read it from beginning to end in one day. I simply could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Superb!

    Rob Thurman has done it again

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Lions didn't play to win. Lions didn't play at all. Lions survived.

    Holy cow! Such an intense read, you who have read the previous books will be completely enthralled. If you thought you couldn't love Niko & Cal any more, you were very wrong.
    I will say that I hadn't liked the book previous to this as much as the others because I was in denial about there being a bad guy of that caliber that we were just meeting. I didn't want to think that our boys had to deal with something like Grimm.
    I squealed so loudly when I read that there was another book in the series that my mum came upstairs cuz she thought something was wrong! This book had me laughing, crying, cursing-in-my-head, and angrily biting my pillow to keep from yelling. I loved the way the chapters were connected. I tried to guess where the tie-in was going for about a split second before I turned the page.
    I literally did not put this book down long enough to forget what page I was on, or even for my head to readjust to reality before I was back to yelling encourgements to the characters.
    Bravo, Rob, on yet another wonderfully gritty thrill-ride of a novel. And a warning to those who are sensitive, there is definitely harsh language in this series, as well as subjects that may not be appropriate for youngsters.
    Such as explosions, butt-whooping on both sides, and Pucks! Blood & guts & gore, oh my!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Great series

    Awesome series. When I first discovered it, I had plenty to read because I found it with about 5 books already released in the series. Waited on bated breath for each release thereafter. Never disappoints. Highly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Another excellent offering from Rob Thurman.

    Another excellent offering from Rob Thurman.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    A wonderful read.

    A wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Rob Thurman just one-upped her self with this book and it is by

    Rob Thurman just one-upped her self with this book and it is by far the best one. From the flash backs to the new revelations you get to really see and understand why these two love each other the way that they only can. A MUST READ!!!!! and if they decide to turn this into a movie i hope Stephen King or the director of twilight does it because all others will destroy the series. I cant wait for the next one already finished this one -_-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    Could not wait for this to hit stores. Didn't disapoint. Just

    Could not wait for this to hit stores. Didn't disapoint. Just as great as the ones before and cannot wait for the next. Have read the Cal and Niko and Trickster series as well as The All Seeing Eye. Loved them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    epic ending..

    This was an awesome book and it addressed a lot of questions and gave a lot of back storie.. loved every second of it , try it and you will love it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2