Customer Reviews for

Slated (Slated Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Slated was my choice for one the past ''waiting on Wednesday'' m

Slated was my choice for one the past ''waiting on Wednesday'' memes and I remember how I fell in love with this book by the first sight. I have a soft spot for the dystopian genre and the blurb just pulled me in, making me simply crave the book. And then there's that w...
Slated was my choice for one the past ''waiting on Wednesday'' memes and I remember how I fell in love with this book by the first sight. I have a soft spot for the dystopian genre and the blurb just pulled me in, making me simply crave the book. And then there's that wonderful mysterious cover with Kyla's big green eyes and red lips and it just looks so lovely! So I ordered my copy at The Book Depository through a friend and she brought it to me to school the same day she received it. However, I wasn't the one who ended up reading it first. It was a very good friend of mine - she read the back page and started reading in the middle of Maths class, took the book home and finished it in a day and absolutely loved it. The same thing happened to me the very next day. Overall, yes the book is amazing.

We meet Kyla when she's being released from the hospital after being slated. We only learn what slating is through the book and right from the beginning I know I had like a million questions - why is this happening, what slating is, why was she slated, why is she special, and many many more. And the unknowing kept me hooked on every page, just waiting for everything to be revealed. Okay, so Kyla leaves the hospital with her new family and wearing Levo on her hand (since it's impossible to remove it I'm guessing it's somehow put partly inside of the skin). Levo controls her emotions and moods, threating to shut down her body if she gets swayed away with negative emotions - fear, anger, rage. People who get slated are ex-convicts and so she can't help but wonder what did she do? What was her crime? Especially when it seems that the slating process didn't completely work on her and she's getting constant nightmares and flashbacks.

Kyla was a great character for me. She went through a lot and is dealing with confusion, with a whole lot of unexplained things and she deals with all of that the best way she can. She doesn't crumble under pressure instead she gets stronger through the story. It seems everything is leading to the big finale when she finally figures everything out - her past, who she is, what's her story. The ending is quite ice-breaking, giving you a few answers and leaving a whole lot of new questions. But it's okay. I'm a sucker for cliff-hangers, they make me want to read the next book more. :)

I didn't quite get her relationship with Ben, who's her love interest. He's slated too and well... people who were slated are all bubbly and full of positive emotions, basically brain-washed completely, following the rules and just spitting their senseless optimism everywhere without ever doubting the world around them. They're nothing but puppets. And Ben felt that way to me too - though he had 'bright' moments when he wanted to rebel and chapter by chapter slowly drifted away from the system. But there are some things he does in the end that I simply can't agree with, because I find them childish, foolish and immature.

I loved the writing, oh my. Teri Terry really knows what she's doing, honestly. I didn't really care much about the romance in the book, because I was too absorbed into Kyla's mind and her solving the riddle to be even bothered with what was going on with Ben *sue me*. Okay, I also loved other characters - I would love to see more of Mac and Jazz. Mac has this whole underground rebellion thing going on and Jazz is dating Kyla's sister but somehow I see him click with Kyla way more than Ben. I don't know, it just seemed to me he understood her better, he really admired her because she wasn't like others and refused to be brain-washed and used like a marionette. Also Nico or Hatten... don't want to give up much about him, since he shows up somewhere in the middle of the book. But he has a history with Kyla from before she was Slated and I'm very interested to see what was going on back then.

This dystopian world is amazing and full of potentials. The whole Levo thing with controlling the emotions reminds me of A Brave New World by Huxley where they used this drug to control everyone. And there's so many questions still opened... oh, really it's an amazing book. ^^ I would probably give it whole 5 stars if it wasn't for the Ben thing. But I'm definitely recommending this to all fellow dystopia lovers and to those who like to see the main characters growing up and developing a more complex personality through the book.

posted by -essence on June 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

     I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories

     I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories of "terrorists" and having a new slate. Slated's main character Kyla remembers things faster than she should and questions things that she "shouldn't" so I was drawn to her. 
    I also...
     I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories of "terrorists" and having a new slate. Slated's main character Kyla remembers things faster than she should and questions things that she "shouldn't" so I was drawn to her. 
    I also liked her sister Ashley. She was sweet and I liked how she wanted to help Kyla. 
    But something just felt off. 
    And it didn't pick up quickly enough for me, I just wasn't invested in Kyla enough I guess, and nothing that automatically drew me in where I couldn't put it down.
Stopped at page 80.

posted by BlkosinerBookBlog on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Slated was my choice for one the past ''waiting on Wednesday'' m

    Slated was my choice for one the past ''waiting on Wednesday'' memes and I remember how I fell in love with this book by the first sight. I have a soft spot for the dystopian genre and the blurb just pulled me in, making me simply crave the book. And then there's that wonderful mysterious cover with Kyla's big green eyes and red lips and it just looks so lovely! So I ordered my copy at The Book Depository through a friend and she brought it to me to school the same day she received it. However, I wasn't the one who ended up reading it first. It was a very good friend of mine - she read the back page and started reading in the middle of Maths class, took the book home and finished it in a day and absolutely loved it. The same thing happened to me the very next day. Overall, yes the book is amazing.

    We meet Kyla when she's being released from the hospital after being slated. We only learn what slating is through the book and right from the beginning I know I had like a million questions - why is this happening, what slating is, why was she slated, why is she special, and many many more. And the unknowing kept me hooked on every page, just waiting for everything to be revealed. Okay, so Kyla leaves the hospital with her new family and wearing Levo on her hand (since it's impossible to remove it I'm guessing it's somehow put partly inside of the skin). Levo controls her emotions and moods, threating to shut down her body if she gets swayed away with negative emotions - fear, anger, rage. People who get slated are ex-convicts and so she can't help but wonder what did she do? What was her crime? Especially when it seems that the slating process didn't completely work on her and she's getting constant nightmares and flashbacks.

    Kyla was a great character for me. She went through a lot and is dealing with confusion, with a whole lot of unexplained things and she deals with all of that the best way she can. She doesn't crumble under pressure instead she gets stronger through the story. It seems everything is leading to the big finale when she finally figures everything out - her past, who she is, what's her story. The ending is quite ice-breaking, giving you a few answers and leaving a whole lot of new questions. But it's okay. I'm a sucker for cliff-hangers, they make me want to read the next book more. :)

    I didn't quite get her relationship with Ben, who's her love interest. He's slated too and well... people who were slated are all bubbly and full of positive emotions, basically brain-washed completely, following the rules and just spitting their senseless optimism everywhere without ever doubting the world around them. They're nothing but puppets. And Ben felt that way to me too - though he had 'bright' moments when he wanted to rebel and chapter by chapter slowly drifted away from the system. But there are some things he does in the end that I simply can't agree with, because I find them childish, foolish and immature.

    I loved the writing, oh my. Teri Terry really knows what she's doing, honestly. I didn't really care much about the romance in the book, because I was too absorbed into Kyla's mind and her solving the riddle to be even bothered with what was going on with Ben *sue me*. Okay, I also loved other characters - I would love to see more of Mac and Jazz. Mac has this whole underground rebellion thing going on and Jazz is dating Kyla's sister but somehow I see him click with Kyla way more than Ben. I don't know, it just seemed to me he understood her better, he really admired her because she wasn't like others and refused to be brain-washed and used like a marionette. Also Nico or Hatten... don't want to give up much about him, since he shows up somewhere in the middle of the book. But he has a history with Kyla from before she was Slated and I'm very interested to see what was going on back then.

    This dystopian world is amazing and full of potentials. The whole Levo thing with controlling the emotions reminds me of A Brave New World by Huxley where they used this drug to control everyone. And there's so many questions still opened... oh, really it's an amazing book. ^^ I would probably give it whole 5 stars if it wasn't for the Ben thing. But I'm definitely recommending this to all fellow dystopia lovers and to those who like to see the main characters growing up and developing a more complex personality through the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Amazing book

    I really injoyed rhis book it keep you reading to find out what happens next. As each question is answered it left me with a million more. I would definly recomend it for readers who like futureristic books with rxciting twist amd turns.

    I am wondering about the next fracture. Which i heard from Goodreads, a good site to look up books on, that it is aspose to come out the first week of April 2013, but its only a week away and it is still not on preorder.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    more from this reviewer

         I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories

         I liked the premise, I mean the government erasing memories of "terrorists" and having a new slate. Slated's main character Kyla remembers things faster than she should and questions things that she "shouldn't" so I was drawn to her. 
        I also liked her sister Ashley. She was sweet and I liked how she wanted to help Kyla. 
        But something just felt off. 
        And it didn't pick up quickly enough for me, I just wasn't invested in Kyla enough I guess, and nothing that automatically drew me in where I couldn't put it down.
    Stopped at page 80.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Hi

    Me again. I looked it up. Its called fractured

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    AWESOME AND A MUST READ!!!!!!

    First this book is awesome and a must read book. Second is that I don't agree with the person who wrote the very first commet. They are a PERFECT COMPLE!!!!!!!! As I said before, this is must read and an awesome book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    I love it kept me on the edge of my seat until the end

    I love it kept me on the edge of my seat until the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    READ IT

    I don't give 5 stars to all books but this one is amazing wow wow wow u can soooo relate to things like this today

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    This was really good

    I would recomend this book for lovers of the hunger games and divergent. What made this the same as other books was the futuristic setting it had but i really cant complain because i love that in books. I also love how the setting was in london you dont see too many books with settings ourside of USA. The charracters in the book were soooo mixed. Kylas mum was unlikeable at first but as you read further she gets very likeable, confusing and hard to figure out andthis makes you want to figute her out and know all her secrets that are so obvious she is hiding. Kylas dad is kind of the oppoosite. I liked him at first but then i started to sort of hate him. It is obvious he has a huge secret that seems like it will be revealed later in the series. Personally i think he is a lorder but i am not positive. This was very intruiging and i could hardly put it down. You should read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Just Finished.

    OMG!!! I just finished this AMAZING book anf yes I almost cried, but I LOVED it. I just bouhht this book today at the book fair at my school and all I have done since I got home was read. Cannot wait to get FRACTURED.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    This book sounded wicked good when I first found out about it, a

    This book sounded wicked good when I first found out about it, and thanks to the lovely ladies over at the YA Book Exchange, I was able to get my pretty hands on a copy. What I really loved about this book was that it wasn’t post war America or the rest of the world, it was post war London which has a different dynamic from what it would be like elsewhere. I also thought that this whole concept of “Slating” people, erasing who they were to make them more compliant with the laws of the land.


    Having Kayla be slated was a little tricky because of some points you wanted to shout at her for being so naïve about everything, but she just didn’t have the life experiences to understand that not everyone was to be trusted. In some ways she did have that sense, she tried to sensor herself, but other times, she placed her trust in people that I don’t think I would have trusted. Like her dad, who always seemed to ask these questions that were too curious on certain subjects, and although at first I liked him, I found myself suspicious of him as the book went on. The opposite held true for her mom (or should I call her mum because that’s how she’s referred to in the book?), who is still a character that I want to learn more about. She hinted at being a super complex character, but I just want to see more.

    I’m not really sure about how I felt about the slated people, they all seemed to be robots, but then we had Kayla who was the oddball. I’m guessing that not every other slated was given the attention that she was, but it was still strange to say the least. Like her sister, Amy, I wasn’t sure if she was supposed to be real, like a teenager with rebellious thoughts or if she was supposed to be this super complaint robot that only thought about being a perfect person. She had her moments where she spoke out, but other times it was just strange.

    We had a taste of instalove, but I can look past it because Ben was a sort of robot. While I appreciated his growth out of being a robot because of how Kayla made him question things, but then he just got weird and everything was strange. This book also had a strong running theme which I’ve noticed lately in books. Maybe this is why I have the strange urge to get a treadmill? Either way, I am dying for book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Awesome!!!

    Amazing plot, brilliabt writing!!! I beame so attached to all the characters. Can't wait for Fractured!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    In the U.K. in the near future, teens who have been convicted of

    In the U.K. in the near future, teens who have been convicted of crimes can be slated, or have their brains wiped. They forget everything about their past: who they were, their personalities, their families, everything. They literally become blank slates. They are then placed with new families who raise them as their own. The slated are like toddlers, just learning about the world and their place in it. To help with the transition, those who have been slated wear bracelets that monitor their brain activity. If they get too sad, angry or aggressive, their bracelets alert the wearer so the offending behavior can be fixed.

    This book turned out so differently than I was expecting from the start. At first, the writing bothered me a bit; there was a serious lack of contractions. It was weird, a conversation would be going along fine, then someone would say something like “It is obvious” or “It is fine.” It was kind of jarring and I just knew it would ruin the story for me. But then I really got into it and soon I didn’t even see those little annoyances anymore. Let me assure you, this is a fantastic book.

    When I started the book, I wondered why Kyla was so compliant about the slating situation. Where were her parents and why didn’t she wonder the same thing? How could she just go to a new family and act like it was no big deal? What happened if she didn’t fit in? Though these questions were answered eventually, they were slow in coming. There was no big info-dump in the beginning, I just had to read along and wait for the information to be revealed.

    I really enjoyed all the characters. It’s hard for me to describe them, though, without revealing some secrets. One of the best things about the book is how I never knew who was trustworthy and who wasn’t. Someone who was a stereotypical bad guy could be secretly good and someone who appeared so good you knew they must be evil, may actually be good. Truly, I never knew what to think about them, and I absolutely loved that.

    There wasn’t a lot of action, as far as fight scenes or chases, but there were a ton of tense moments, and Teri Terry really knows how to write them. They were subtle and gripping and I literally held my breath many times throughout the story. Sometimes it was as simple as 2 people having a conversation, but it was written in such a way that you could literally feel the uneasiness between them, even if one of them didn’t.

    Finally, the ending frustrated me because it didn’t feel like an ending. It wasn’t that it was a cliffhanger, it just… ended. Almost like Teri Terry had to edit the book down in size, so she just opened a page, pointed and said “Here. Here’s where it will end.” Of course, that just makes me anxious for the next one, so maybe she did it on purpose!

    The sum up: I loved every bit of it and can’t wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Seeing Slated in some blogs, I never really had it in my head to

    Seeing Slated in some blogs, I never really had it in my head to read it. That was until Carina from "Fictional Distraction" said I had to buy it, that I got it. My sister, Juhina, got it for me knowing that it was a book I really wanted to read. First off, did you read the synopsis? Who wouldn't want to get their hands on this book? I was so excited to start it, and oh my God, I finally understand why Carina was obsessed, because now I have joined the club. Kyla's memory is slated. In this book, slated is the term that means when someone's memory is completely released, memories lost forever. It's practically when they erase someone's past, their memories along with whatever had meaning to them. They no longer know who their family is, and who ever is slated gets assigned to a new family. After Kyla was slated, she stayed 9 months instead of the usual 6 months in the hospital. In that time, the slateds are being taught how to talk, walk, and learn about everything that is around them. When Kyla gets assigned out of the hospital, and gets to meet her new family, things get juicy! (lol)
    Kyla's family is a very nice caring family, and she also gets to have a sister who was also slated before. I expected the family to treat her bad, but thankfully that didn't happen. When Kyla asks her family for a pencil and a drawing pad, she gets flashes of some memories. She draws people she doesn't know, and places she's never seen. When Kyla starts going to these community meetings, (im not sure what their called), she meets Ben. In the meetings, a women talks to all the slated kids and basically brainwashes them into believing whatever the government wants them to. One special thing about Kyla is that, unlike the other slateds, she has her own opinion about things. That's when things start getting weird. People are showing their opinions, and the government does not like that. People start disappearing, and Kyla starts getting suspicious. 
    I don't want to say anything more because this is definitely spoiler free. All in all, I loved the world building. I loved the characters, and how they developed with each other. The government is twisted, and there are so many secrets I want to know. I can totally smell a revolution coming up, and don't you just love those? Im such a huge fan, and Slated has already become an all time favorite of mine. I really cannot wait to get my hands on Fractured, the second book in the trilogy. I want to give a huge clap for Teri Terry for her awesome writing style as well. If you haven't read Slated, you are really missing out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1