Customer Reviews for

Slaughterhouse: The Shocking Story of Greed, Neglect, And Inhumane Treatment Inside the U.S. Meat Industry

Average Rating 5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone should read this book

    Ms. Eisnitz has written a very important book. Her work details several components of our slaughterhouses: horrible abuse of animals; unimaginable conditions for workers; lack of independent inspections; and, the totally unsafe food products that come from these places. Everyone should read this book and pass it on to whomever you can.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2008

    Should be displayed, face out, alongside the springtime BBQ cookbooks.

    This book is cataloged in the politics section, not the vast food section. The reason being is it has as much to do with the failure of the USDA to enforce consumer and worker saftey laws as it has to do with the very real torture of sentinent mammals and fowl in slaughter/packing houses across the country.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2010

    In depth, real information. Get out of denial and stop eating meat!

    THis book is real. It's not just some self-indulging study. It's informational without just rifling off facts and studies. IT's real life and is told in a way that helps you understand the research process-a little behind the scenes. I can't believe how I ate meat for years oblivious to what is going on. The author's plight is mostly for the animals, however, there are huge health reasons for eating meat-free diets. I found this book from reading Skinny Bi*ch ( a great read if you're not easily offended).

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    A must read

    I grew up in a different country and I do not agree with the way animals are tortured in this country. Because of animal cruelty I have not eaten meat since I moved here. I do miss it, but because of health risk and issues with the slaughterhouses I'll stay away from meat. This book is a must read. It'll really open your eyes on how horrible and disgusting the meat industry is

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    What we eat...

    I saw the short description about the book and I decided I had to buy the book. I love meat, I probably eat it atleast 3-4 times a week, and hearing some of these things are just disgusting! I think anyone that eats meat should know the things that go on behind locked doors. I'm sure everyone knows how bad hotdogs are but what about your twenty dollar steaks... I'm going to school to be a conservation officer but my first dream job was to be a cruelty cop since there is soo much of that going around but in my area there isn't enough people or animals to investigate. I cried to some parts I even had a dream after reading it was a little weird but thank you for writing a book on this and I hope it gets out to more people and these incidents stop happening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Wow!

    This really is attention grabbing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Eye opening, must read

    I loved this book. Plain and simple, everyone needs to read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Mrs. Cow

    Looks at her, confused.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Amelia

    "UUGDDD"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I challenge every person in the u.s. better yet..world to read t

    I challenge every person in the u.s. better yet..world to read this and see if they still eat meat. I don't. Everyone should be aware of these conditions and cruelty that is going on in the meat industry. STOP BEING BLIND AND REALIZE WHAT THE ANIMALS AND WORKERS WENT THROUGH BEFORE YOU TAKE A BITE OF THAT MEAT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2007

    Essential Read!

    Its hard to read some of the examples of animal slaughter, but its also necessary to understand and elevate animal welfare laws. Very helpful read for those interested in animal welfare and/or vegetarianism.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1