Customer Reviews for

Slaughterhouse-Five; or, The Children's Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death

Average Rating 4.5
( 814 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(451)

4 Star

(217)

3 Star

(93)

2 Star

(30)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Stimulating

I'm going into my junior year of high school in the fall, I read this book during the 1st days of my summer vacation because:
a) My English teacher told my class how amazing and absurb Vonnegut was and her plot synopsis captured my interest
b) The same English teacher...
I'm going into my junior year of high school in the fall, I read this book during the 1st days of my summer vacation because:
a) My English teacher told my class how amazing and absurb Vonnegut was and her plot synopsis captured my interest
b) The same English teacher spent all semester telling my class how are brains were turning to mush from reading Twilight/Harry Potter and that we should read more classics. So I decided to start reading CollegeBoard's 100 books for incoming college freshmen.

I was told from the get-go that this was a very very very eccentric novel and thats the kind of book I enjoy. I was very frustrated with myself up until about the last fifty pages because I did not understand the significance of the novel. However, the last fifty pages clicked all of the seemingly disconnected pieces together.

Mrs. Weil, my beloved English teacher, told us that if you cannot see the point of a piece of literature, you didn't read it carefully enough. This especially goes towards this novel, you have to read extremely closely if you want to understand or get something out of it.

In the end, the book was very insightful and I suggest that everyone read it.

posted by jp_the_bookie on June 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not Reality

As a person who suffers from P.T.S.D., This book is ridiculous from that perspective. As is all Hollywood or written versions of it. As a science fiction book I think it is a good read, sometimes it is nice not to read to much into a book and just enjoy it. War is not s...
As a person who suffers from P.T.S.D., This book is ridiculous from that perspective. As is all Hollywood or written versions of it. As a science fiction book I think it is a good read, sometimes it is nice not to read to much into a book and just enjoy it. War is not something anyone wants especially the people who have to fight it. To read a book and think it can give you any understanding of what true violence is like is an insult. Read a book for the books sake

posted by Anonymous on April 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Unexpected

    I had heard a lot about this book, and finally had it assigned for a literature class. I was expecting to dislike it, but in fact, it was fascinating and very, very well written. If you want something that is meta-fictional, perplexing and has a sprinkle of psychological thrill and science fiction, you should definitely read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2014

    I thought that Slaughterhouse Five was an awesome book. It star

    I thought that Slaughterhouse Five was an awesome book.

    It started off as a war story, and I was not expecting much from it, but as the story went on, I started to enjoy it a lot more. I thought
    the weirdest part of the book was when Billy was abducted by aliens. I was not expecting that whatsoever and I was laughing really
    hard when he compared them to toilet plungers. I thought that was just downright hilarious. Overall this was a bizarre book, but I really
    did enjoy it though. I would recommend this book to anyone who asks about it. And if someone out there has to do summer reading, and
    book is one of the options, I highly recommend it! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Slaughter

    I'm a freshmen in college taking an intro to fiction class (elit 10) and its kind if hard to keep along because everyone in class has the hard copy and I have it on a nook similar to a tablet but its hard to keep along because the pages are different but the book is good to read :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Always love Vonnegut.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Kurt Vonnegut¿s intriguing novel about the firebombing of Dresde

    Kurt Vonnegut’s intriguing novel about the firebombing of Dresden, “Slaughterhouse Five,” is a book for those who love suspense. We are introduced, in the beginning, to a man named Billy Pilgrim, who is a veteran of war, and successful optometrist, who experiences a form of uncontrollable time travel, leaving the reader on the edge of their seat a few times every chapter. The book is essentially broken up into many different stories that are told individually and partially, during the course of all 10 chapters. With a love for suspense, I, as a reader, have not read a book with such structure and confusion, because most are hard to understand. While this book is hard to understand, it is also very rewarding when a part of confusion is lifted and clarified, because it is at that point when you can focus on a different part of the book to comprehend.
    Upon deciding to read this novel, don’t let the beginning fool you. Vonnegut makes the reader believe that his main purpose behind this book is to make an anti-war statement, but further and further throughout the book, it is questioned whether or not that is actually the main message that is being portrayed. The topic of time travel arises quite a lot during the course of the book, and whenever it does, the meaning of time itself is questioned, making the reader ask, “What is time?”
    The feeling of suspense is a touchy feeling to enjoy, meaning some love it and some hate it. There really isn’t any “in between” opinions about it. But if you enjoy suspenseful reading as much as I do, this read is a must. Vonnegut does a fantastic job of leaving the reader in suspense, and has no problem making it easy to eventually understand each moment of suspense. It is hard for me to praise such a book, because I am an extremely picky reader and don’t appreciate many novels, but this one takes the cake in my opinion. Two thumbs up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    wtf did i just read?

    I really had to pay attention on what was said. It usually takes one night to read a book this long, but it took me a whole week because I had to reread all of it several times. Other than that, it was a brilliant book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    Test

    Teat

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Enjoyable read

    Great book great writing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Great Book

    I thought SlaughterHouse-Five was a great, quick read that drew you into the real life events of world war II while still having the characteristics of a science fiction book. Billy Pilgrim, the main character in the story, has many unique qualities that make this book especially interesting to read. One of these qualities, is the ability to be "stuck" or "unstuck" in time. The story of Billy's life going forward and backwards in time is an adventurous ride for the audience. This unique technique Kurt Vonnegut uses also proves to be a challenge for most readers, but I believe it is well worth the struggle in the end. I personally could not put this book down because of Vonnegut's sarcastic humor widely used throughout the book, the tragic historical events, and the science fiction scenes that take place in the story. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a humorous author, science fiction, a challenging read, or anyone just looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Banned book?

    I am not sure when this book became banned or what in it made it such.
    I did enjoy the story though and will probably read more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wierdo author...

    Read in school and was expecting a boring book. Not so boring after all. WWII soldiers in Dresden, as youths and as elders. Aliens that see in the 4th dimension. A pornstar named Montana Wildsak! A short read. This is a classic that is also a short read. All Vonnegut is recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This should be required reading.

    I wasn't sure if i would like it but now i find myself wanting to read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Peculiar Read

    I must say that i'm not too much in favor of reading American classics, but i can understand why this is. The book really pushes you to pay attention, if it doesn't captivate you already. At times it can be really confusing, but the concept is very interesting. If you want a novel that will make you think, try reading this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Typical Vonnegut-ish statement

    Another outside the box read for fans of Vonnegut, Hunter S. beat-poets and such that some will love and others not "get."
    I would recommend this book to read as a starter for others from same author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Classic Novel "If the accident will"

    A Classic WW2 novel. Vonnegut's style is distinct and captivating. It's part biography-part science fiction and its blended seamlessly. It's unconventional storytelling is what makes it such a post-modern masterpiece. This is a book I will be reading over and over again for many years to come, "if the accident will."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Excellent Read

    I found this book to be rather exciting with all of the setting changes. Although it can get somewhat confusing at times, once you get to the end it seems to make a lot of sense. I enjoyed the ending with the futuristic things in a time earlier than that could be possible. I especially enjoyed how separated from reality Kilgore Trout and Billy Pilgrim. Many of the times it refers to Trout I think he is somewhat related to the Tralfamadorians.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Slaughterhouse-Five

    I almost feel ridiculous writing a review for this book. Odds are anyone looking to buy it are either a) students required to read it or b) Vonnegut fans. In both cases you will end up buying it and reading it regardless of what I say, but still I am compelled by something akin to stubborness to write this review. I am a member of option 'b' from above. I think Kurt Vonnegut was nothing short of a genius. I haven't read all of his books yet, but I wanted to tackle his most well known ones before getting too far off track. Slaughterhouse-Five is actually rather dark (at least compared to The Sirens of Titan or Deadeye Dick). Ultimately it is an amazing anti-war novel that took a very insightful individual to write. Though Vonnegut's trademark humor and wit were not quite polished when he wrote this, they were still present. As I said before if you are in either category 'a' or 'b', you may confidently buy, read and most likely enjoy this novel. If by some bizarre twist of odds you are in an unknown category 'c' then I can say you should definitely checkout some of Kurt Vonnegut's work and this is not a bad place to start.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Different

    Since I had to read it for school, this is not a book that I would pick up upon first seeing it. However, the book is very well-written, and I appreciate Vonnegut's use of satire. Slaughterhouse-Five definitely gets you thinking about the motives behind people's actions in WWII!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    So it goes...

    This is the most bizarre book I've ever read. Was there even a plot? But this book was also the most unique I've ever read. I doubt you'll get bored, and the themes are really quite good. I thought it was thought-provoking, well-written, and humorous. I enjoyed it, and I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2009

    Great Confusing Book

    This book stimulates the mind and makes you think, although very confusing it teaches many different things. It is very hard to keep up with but worth it if you can. I could see everything the author said and loved the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 217 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11