BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity in Christ

Average Rating 4.5
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A must read!

Don't pay any attention to the bad reviews! This is an excellent book! John Macarthur shows the truth about Christianity! The truth is we are slaves to Christ. Sound heretical? Read the book. It will change your life! It did mine!

posted by Lee72 on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not bad - not amazing

john macarthur's Slave (a review)

To begin, I must say that I usually enter into these types of works with a very critical eye. So, I need to address the good feature of the book before I become too critical. First, it makes a great study group book. In a culture ...
john macarthur's Slave (a review)

To begin, I must say that I usually enter into these types of works with a very critical eye. So, I need to address the good feature of the book before I become too critical. First, it makes a great study group book. In a culture that doesn't know limits or boundaries when it comes to self indulgence and consumption, Slave addresses again the humble state we have in light of grand mercy of God. I would recommend it for church study groups, home groups etc. It the book is not complicated in its nature and hold several helpful insights for the Christian church.

Now, two points of frustration. First, I was quite surprised that there were no sections devoted to the exposition of clear passages dealing with slavery and ownership. Why wasn't Philemon discussed? Why not an exposition of the way slavery set out in the OT [I can only remember at this late point, that they address the redemption of Israel and don't get into the messy-but-interesting stories of slavery of the OT]? There was a lot of depth missed out on because the authors felt it necessary to repeat the same information about slavery in Roman culture over and over again.

Second, and I say this as a trained Reformed theologian. They spent too much time twisting the narrative of the book to explicate the doctrine of election. Reading it, it felt unnatural, and I am of the belief that such doctrines are to be addressed in their proper context. In Slave, a very elaborate discussion of election arose in a moment that felt well out of place. Almost as if election and slavery are synonymous. There was no need to force Calvinism into the story line, and it was clear from the outset.

Slave is certainly useful for groups lead by layleaders and for personal reading.

posted by 8429949 on June 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Kaycee to mike

    Hey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Recluse

    *I nod*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Unknown

    -.-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Celia

    A blond girl, with large blue eyes and a huge azz, is chained to a wall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Anno

    Yeah u could say that ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good text with a great Gospel message.

    I enjoy all the MacArthur books and this was no exception. He always provides a clear truth of the Gospel and Biblical context and one can find this in this book. I did not find anything ground shaking, but worth the read as it puts into perspective the true position believers are in relation to Christ. It is not for those looking for a soft message or uplifting daily does. Only truth and nothing but the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    It pulls back the scars of society to re-define what the word, "Slave" was really supposed to mean. Brilliant.

    I can honestly say that i learned so much from this book. John MacArthur has written many, many books but i believe that this is one of his finest. It led me to analyze everything that i was ever taught. It catches your attention from the first sentence to the last. He speaks in a poignant tone, almost piercing my mind with this truth: We are called to be His slaves. Society has molded us into believing that the word, "slaves" is referring to the horrible stain of slavery that this nation bears. Yet, in the bible, God doesn't see that word as we have been taught to see it as. This book tests your mind & soul. Just make sure that you read it with an open mind and an open heart. If not, you'll just be missing the whole point, the whole purpose of "Slave" by John MacArthur. Definitely recommend this book to anyone who's thirsting for truth. Its a compelling and ultimately inspiring read. I was very privileged to have come across this book. It was revealing, pulling back the scars and defining what society calls a word with a burden. It was poignant and on point.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting

    Audio book: "Slave" by John MacArthur
    I have listened to a book called Slave by John MacArthur. In this book MacArthur's point is that as Christians we are slaves to Christ. This is something that has been lost in translations through the years, and many Bible translations rarely use the word "slave" as it is used in the Greek "doulos." Instead the word "servant" is used, which has an entirely different meaning than slave. MacArthur shares a history of slavery and compares human slavery to our role as slaves of Christ. It is rather interesting to note all the similarities. One part I found interesting was the history of John Newton, who wrote the song "Amazing Grace."

    This book is read by the author. He has a pleasant voice and is easy to hear. It always gives a more personal touch to have the author read his own work.


    Thank you to the christianaudio Reviewers Program for providing this audio book to me for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2011

    Slave

    This is another book that I got to review before Christmas. I sat down and started the book several times but I just couldn't get into it. I think it was because of the time of year with Christmas excitement and the so soon arrival of Thomas. I will definitely go back and read this book someday when life gets a little less crazy - like, maybe when I'm 60! Slave has received great reviews from other bloggers - so it's worth checking out.

    Book Description from Thomas Nelson:

    Best-selling author and pastor Dr. John MacArthur reveals one crucial word that revolutionizes what it means to follow Jesus.

    Throughout the Bible, followers of Jesus are commanded to submit to Him as their King. They are told to obey and follow, faithfully and without hesitation. Every time Christians utter the word Lord, they make a subtle yet profound declaration-that God is their Master and that they belong to Him. In fact, the Bible describes believers as His slaves. They have been bought with a price and now live for Christ as a people for His own possession.

    But go into most churches today, even flip through most Bible translations, and you won't see or hear the word slave anywhere. That's because it has been lost in translation. In this gripping book, Dr. John MacArthur uses deep Bible teaching and historical evaluation to expertly uncover the one forgotten word that restores the Bible's definition of true Christian freedom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    Christian! Are you up to the challenge?

    John MacArthur peels back a few layers of the most popular English translations of scripture to reveal a profound truth; that we should not refer to ourselves as "servants of Christ", but rather, as "slaves of Christ". He does explain that perhaps societies' extreme distaste for the institution of slavery has caused this dramatic shift away from the actual Greek translation of the word "doulos", which can only be translated as "slave" in English.

    This book holds dual meaning for me personally, as a "slave of Christ". Not only is the book a formidable challenge to overcome from a lay readers perspective, but should also challenge you and me to seek to go deeper in our walk with the Lord. If you are looking for light reading, this might not be the best book to pick up, but as it should be, it challenges you to think deeper about what you truly should expect from your walk with the Lord.

    This book is not only a challenge for every Christian, but a call to dig deeper, peel back a few layers in your life, and rise up and meet God where He has called you, in His will for your life. So, can you handle the truth, and respond to the call; or will you slide back into middle class mediocrity and the comfort of the "American Dream"?

    This book provides the answers that some may not be willing to read or hear. But Jesus never said following Him would be easy. The challenge is at hand. Whether you choose to accept it or not is entirely up to you.

    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2011

    Takes being a Christian to new levels!

    I appreciate the study and research John MacArthur had done to prepare his book, "Slave - The Hidden Truth About Your Identity in Christ". To not only bring to light this hidden word that has been lost in most of our modern translations, but also adding the words and writings of many of the Christian greats throughout the ages and what they have to say on the topic.

    It has helped to answer for me more deeply the question of "What IS a Christian?" and what does it mean when I say this? It takes the definition to a new level, giving much more meaning and depth to other verses in the Bible as well. We've heard many a time the question, "What Would Jesus Do?" In this context it takes on new meaning, it's a way of life, not a religion or a way of thinking but a way of living.
    I find myself taking stock of my life, to evaluate what I believe and what I'm doing about it. It's helping to redefine my personal faith and what it's built on. I want to stay true to that personal, inner conviction; I want that to be what defines me, to be a sample of a true believer. Not just in word or in tongue, but in the things I do, the things I say, how I treat others, how I think, how I act.

    And as he says in the preface of the book, "I am seeing riches of my Salvation in new and radical ways" and this is truly one word that changes everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2011

    Well Researched and Challenging

    "Truth be known , the gospel is not simply an invitation to become Christ's friend. Associate in battle. Companion on the journey. The Bible includes an unmistakable mandate to become His slave. This is what it means to be a Christian" - John Macarthur

    John Macarthur's book Slave is a call to renounce easy religion that costs nothing and embrace the fully fledged life in Christ that calls us to die to ourselves and live for Christ. He contends that the translation of doulos as servant instead of slave has watered down what it means to follow Christ. As slaves of Christ we have been bought by Christ and we are completely subject to his will. The first section of the book looks in detail at what it meant to be slave in 1st century roman culture and also the idea of slavery and freedom as related to the Jewish people. This helps us understand what the authors of the new testament are meaning when they use the slave metaphor.

    After establishing that our whole lives are at the service of Christ Macarthur doesn't just leave us there but goes on to expand on the paradoxical truth that by becoming Christ's slave we are set free. Expanding on two other metaphors used to describe Christians, as sons of God and as citizens of heaven, Macarthur explains the rights and also responsibilities that attend those designations and how that relates to a life in Christ.

    This is an excellent book, well-referenced and foot noted, calling us to full submission while still emphasising that we are saved by faith and it's God who works in us to achieve His will.

    *I received this book through Thomas Nelson's booksneeze program*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Life Changing!

    When asked what a follower of Christ means, not many people will respond by saying that it means to be a slave to Christ! Most people respond by saying they are a servant of Christ, or a follower of Christ. In John MacArthur's new book "Slave", he talks about how the word "slave" has gotten lost in translation of the bible. He explains how the word "slave" or "doulos" in Greek, appears 124 times in the original text but is only actually translated into the word "slave" correctly 1 time in the entire KJV of the bible. Instead they used the word "servant".

    MacArthur goes on to explore what the true meaning of being a "slave" of Christ means. He goes back to Roman times and explores in and out of what being a slave meant back then. He talks about everything from being bought, to how they were treated, and what their circumstances were if they did not obey their master. Then he paralleled it to our walk with Christ, and what being a slave of Christ means to for us. MacArthur explains how we will always be a slave to something! We will either be a slave to sin, or a slave to Christ. By being a slave to sin we are in constant fear of our master, and are promised death for eternity. But when we were bought with a price by Christ, he freed us from sin, and we also became free to live a life of righteousness, and are guaranteed to live forever with Him. We were freed from sin and enslaved to God.

    I received some really great insight from this book. I've never looked at my life as being a slave to anyone. By turning the word servant, into slave it definitely turned my outlook on my walk with Christ upside down, but in a good way! This is definitely a life changing book, and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    Slave--Review

    I recently received Slave, by John MacArthur, from Thomas Nelson for review purposes, and began reading immediately. It's very well-written and clear. It's deep, helpful , and profound. The main point of the book--that we belong to Jesus, not ourselves--is sadly missing from most teachings these days.

    Having said that, there are a couple of things that keep me from recommending it wholeheartedly:

    1. The gist of the book's message is spelled out nicely in the first two chapters. Everything that follows simply expands on the contents of the beginning. Like a Saturday Night Live skit that was great at 5 minutes, but unfunny when made into a 90-minute movie, Slave stretches a great teaching a bit too thin.

    2. The "slave" language is very uncomfortable to me. The author backs up each assertion very well, so I know it's all accurate, but still, the idea of slavery seems like a terrible thing, and I have a hard time getting past that. I'm guessing I'm not the only one. And I am a white guy. I can imagine how an African-American might be even more sensitive to the main point of the book.

    If you can get past those two items, though, it's a good book with the right focus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ for Anyone Clinging to the Title, 'Christian'

    I have lived a full seven plus forty years, served five churches as pastor and teacher, yet I failed to realized the simple yet profound answer to this important question, 'What does it mean to be a Christian?' I now have the answer. And it has changed me for the better -- 'being a Christian is about being a slave of Christ.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Great Book To Read And Discover What It Is That God Is Wanting Out Of You

    This Is Really A Great Read.You've Heard The Saying Don't Judge A Book By It's Cover.When I Saw This Cover And Title My First Thought Was I Don't Know,But I Was Wrong.This Is A Great Book.

    John Macarthur Gives A Very Insightful Look At What God Has Called And Wants From Each And Everyone Of Us.This Is A Must For Christians Trying To Grow In Christ .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    Are you a slave to God?

    In this book John MacArthur uses many examples of scripture to expose a "cover up" in the modern translations of the scripture. Returning to the original languages and writing MacArthur shows how often the word slave is replaced by softer more autonomous phrases such as servant.

    When servant is used instead of slave, the original message that scripture intended does not come across. The slave/master relationship is the key to understanding a right relationship with God.

    This is a challenging book that is packed with scripture, making sure you consider the point carefully. Through thirteen chapters MacArthur explores the theme of the slave/master relationship in the hopes that our relationship with the Lord would be more fulfilling and correct. MacArthur asks you to view your life in Christ differently and transition from willing servant to sold out slave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    A Brilliant Challenge to Your Way of Thinking!

    I have just finished reading 'Slave' and I have to say it is a brilliant book. The main theme of the book looks at how the English translations of the Bible often use the word 'servant' when in the Greek the word is 'slave'. Bearing this in mind, the book then explores how this should impact our relationships with Christ. As Christians, we belong to Christ, and this takes on a whole new meaning when we consider ourselves slaves to Christ, rather than servants.

    I found that this book really challenged my thinking and has invited me to read certain passages of Scripture in a new light (and I love books that do that!). I also feel inspired to study these chapters deeply to discover more of the meaning behind them. The chapters are independent enough that if you only have time to read it a chapter at a time the flow of the book isn't interrupted, but also several chapters can easily be read in a session as MacArthur writes in a way that is easy to read, yet inspiring at the same time. I would definitely recommend this book to someone else - but only if they are ready to be seriously challenged in their way of thinking!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    wow

    This book completely changed my view on so many verses i knew. But thats a good thin because it greatly deepend my relationship with Jesus. It thought me that if i am able to choose what to do and not to do for the Lordthan I am not a true desciple of Jesus. But if i am a true slave of Christ I will follow Him and be obidient whether I like it or not. My numbe one concern is to please my Master, if i do anything other than that than I am not a true slave of Christ. He purchases me and saved me from eternal hell. i belong to Him forever. Thats why, 'For me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.' Phil 1:21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    The blessings of being a slave!

    When you want the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth, who can you turn to? John MacArthur, and his newest book Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity In Christ is no exception. MacArthur has spent his career clarifying and proclaiming the true Gospel of Jesus Christ in the midst of a world that has been seduced by false and watered-down imitations. Now he is exposing these differences through a single word that has been missing from most of our English Bible translations. Slave. He begins by examining slavery as it existed in first century Rome and in ancient Israel, noting the distinctions between then and our current western understanding of the issue. How the roles of slave and master closely portray the relationship between Christian and God is carefully laid out. Throughout scripture the Apostles and most notably, Jesus himself, used this language in communicating and teaching, especially in the parables. Their audiences would have had no difficulty understanding their meaning for these were things that were woven into their very lives. Once the role of slave is sufficiently explained, MacArthur turns his attention to the master. He dedicates the next three chapters to proclaiming and defending the Lordship of Jesus Christ and his position as the true head of the church. Jesus is shown to be the glorious Savior and rightful master that scripture bears him to be. Continuing the slavery theme, MacArthur goes onto explain the Doctrines of Grace as they are revealed through this illustration. This turns out to be a surprisingly refreshing and convincing explanation of these precious truths. He devotes a chapter to each one of the five. Very well done! He uses the twelfth chapter to awaken us to the reality of the coming judgment at Christ's return, and the account we will all give to either our faithfulness or disobedience. A very sober warning, yet full of encouragement and peace for those who are following the Master's will. The final chapter highlights the paradox of the blessedness of being a slave - of Christ. He beautifully expounds on these four: . Slavery brings Freedom . Slavery ends Prejudice . Slavery Magnifies Grace . Slavery pictures Salvation I can definitely recommend Slave: The Hidden Truth About Your Identity In Christ to all who desire to the know the truth of the Gospel of Jesus Christ and the blessed requirement of being his slave. This is one to give to those who struggle with understanding or accepting Christ's Lordship. It will serve as a wake up to casual, name only "believers." I would like to thank Thomas Nelson Publishers for sending me this free copy for reveiw.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 81 Customer Reviews
Page 3 of 5