Customer Reviews for

The Slave Across the Street: The True Story of How an American Teen Survived the World of Human Trafficking

Average Rating 4
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

So you think

So you think there are no slaves in the USA? Let alone sex slaves. Well think again. Everyone needs to read this book so you get a small glimps of sex slavery. Dont skip past the difficult parts. Read it all. If you read this, I hope you will NEVER judge another "lady ...
So you think there are no slaves in the USA? Let alone sex slaves. Well think again. Everyone needs to read this book so you get a small glimps of sex slavery. Dont skip past the difficult parts. Read it all. If you read this, I hope you will NEVER judge another "lady of the evening." Read and then get active. Love you all

posted by Juliaj44 on November 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I am so disappointed that the NOOK sample for this included none

I am so disappointed that the NOOK sample for this included none of the text!  It does have part of the Preface, so I can tell she knows how to write,but still no idea how the story is written.  NOOK books really need to include text rather than just title pages and tab...
I am so disappointed that the NOOK sample for this included none of the text!  It does have part of the Preface, so I can tell she knows how to write,but still no idea how the story is written.  NOOK books really need to include text rather than just title pages and tables of contents!  I don't call this a sample. I also can't rate it honestly, since I haven't read any of it--just wanted to register this complaint.

posted by homefire on January 27, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    I am so disappointed that the NOOK sample for this included none

    I am so disappointed that the NOOK sample for this included none of the text!  It does have part of the Preface, so I can tell she knows how to write,but still no idea how the story is written.  NOOK books really need to include text rather than just title pages and tables of contents!  I don't call this a sample. I also can't rate it honestly, since I haven't read any of it--just wanted to register this complaint.

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    So you think

    So you think there are no slaves in the USA? Let alone sex slaves. Well think again. Everyone needs to read this book so you get a small glimps of sex slavery. Dont skip past the difficult parts. Read it all. If you read this, I hope you will NEVER judge another "lady of the evening." Read and then get active. Love you all

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Challenging and Heart Wrenching

    The Slave Across the Street is one of the most touching and heart wrenching true stories I've come across. While it's obvious that Ms. Flores is not a writer by trade, her story and her bravery of putting her account on paper is commendable. Reading this book has definitely challenged me to redefine human trafficking and my views on sex slaves. It's a distinct alarm for our society to wake up and see the reality of what goes on around us. It's hard to live in a bubble and continue to ignore blatantly obvious signs of children suffering (in any way) after reading this book. Ms. Flores story challenges us to come out of our shells and become aware of the world around us. Her writing is simple and to the point and calls us all to action. Without going into too much detail, the reader is able to still get images of the pain and suffering and how a suburban teenager can get wrapped up into this world. Her honesty and insight into herself and the men who captured her into this horrific world is outstanding. This book will cause you to talk to your children, your friends, your family, your neighbors, your coworkers and anyone who will listen about the realities of human trafficking. If you are looking to be challenged and to come out of the bubble we live in as Americans, then this is a must read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2011

    How did she endure this, omg!

    You must read this, it was hard to believe at times that this really happended. Theresa eent to hell and back. She did surive and wrote this memoir, i believe as a way of healing herself.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Slavery Happens Anywhere

    In The Slave Across the Street by Theresa Flores, she recounts her terrible nightmare of being used as a sex slave in the Detroit area. As she recounts her story, I found myself wanting to vomit at some of the hidious acts against this young teen.

    Theresa was fifteen when her whole world turned upside down. At fifteen, you think that nothing can touch you. You start thinking about the opposite sex, and your stomach turns to mush when that special someone walks by. She recounts how a simple act of flirtation led to one wrong decision, which led to one nightmare after another. She was forced into losing her virginity at fifteen and then pictures surfaced that forced her to choose between her family's safety or embarassment. She chose to protect her family & that single decision catapulted into eighteen months of servitude to a human trafficking ring.

    Hearing Theresa's story made my stomach spin in disgust. Theresa came from an upper middle income family. She was white, blonde and blue-eyed. Human trafficking is not isolated to third-world countries. This book pulls the lid off sex slavery and child exploitation. This story is not devoid of pain, sorrow, hurt or healing. Theresa is healing - emotionally, physically, spiritually and mentally.

    After she tells her story, she provides valuable information for parents, law enforcement, friends, educators to be aware of the signs of someone who is hurting. We always think that we will see the signs, but the truth is, we don't want to look deep enough into people to see their hurt.

    This book is a must read for parents, counselors, teachers, kids, friends and whomever you can put it in their hands. This book is graphic and it will shock you, so consider yourself warned, but it is important to read or listen. I was a bit naive that something like this could touch me in my middle class world, I'm glad I listened to this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    PLEASE READ

    This book was an amazing, but emotional read. Theresa Flores is so strong for whhat she went through and she is even stronger for wanting to put an end to sex trafficking and doing something about it. It isnpired me to help and volunteer. This book and this woman are a blessing to the world.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Interesting

    Read this on a friends recommendation. I am not a parent, but feel all parents should take note. Pay attention to your children ~ how could you not be aware something was wrong?

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting read

    This book is interesting and disturbing at the same time. It is so difficult to believe that situations like this can happen in plain sight, yet we know they do. I commend the author on her ability to survive the situation, but it was really difficult to connect with her emotions. Maybe this is a good thing considering the nature of her crisis. The book is worth the read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    Extremely moving. I am so glad I came across this book. I never

    Extremely moving. I am so glad I came across this book. I never realized that a danger like this still exists in America. Very eye opening!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Human trafficking has many faces- in this case it was a nice gir

    Human trafficking has many faces- in this case it was a nice girl from an upper-middle class family. The struggles presented in this book are shocking. Learn the signs, learn how to help!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    A book that I could not put down!  I learned so much about human

    A book that I could not put down!  I learned so much about human trafficking and came to the same reality as Theresa - this can happen to any of our teenagers in America!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Powerful

    Well written. I had heard a bit of her story through a soroptimist international group and I'm glad I found and read this. I am impressed by her strength, survival and ability to voice her truth. We forget how vulnerable children can be and how easy it is to manipulate and harm others. I'm glad she got away and now speaks out for survivors.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    I liked it.

    I liked it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2013

    Nice

    Look good.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Mistclan

    Go to Emerald Atlas

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2014

    Was ok.

    Informative but wouldn't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Wow.

    Wow. I could not put this down. Almost read it in one day. This is wild story. A MUST read, if for any reason so you can be aware for the sake of your loved ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Disappointing

    I hate to even say this, but this poor writing style almost made her story unbelievable. Why couldn't the publisher help her out with her adolescent prose? I almost gave up on the book, but it was a short one, so I finally finished it. Would NOT recommend even for $.99.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Abby

    I drop down throughh a portal woah i say

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    Read it

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2