BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Slave Empire: Prophecy

Average Rating 4
( 295 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Awsome!

Im not usually into scifi books but after getting this one for free i couldnt put the rest of the series down! Definatly reccomend to everyone because there is enough of a romance story to keep it interesting!

posted by 6855437 on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good imagination and well written

I really did enjoy this book. It was well written and the author had a great imagination with the characters, aliens, and world building. It would slow down at times but even then it would still draw you along.

The only reason I did not give it more stars is that Now...
I really did enjoy this book. It was well written and the author had a great imagination with the characters, aliens, and world building. It would slow down at times but even then it would still draw you along.

The only reason I did not give it more stars is that Nowhere in the summary does the author even hint that it is just Book 1 of a series. To me that is sneaky business. I want to purchase Book 2, but I may not because of that practice.

It IS a great book though.

posted by RobertYelverton on October 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    Good imagination and well written

    I really did enjoy this book. It was well written and the author had a great imagination with the characters, aliens, and world building. It would slow down at times but even then it would still draw you along.

    The only reason I did not give it more stars is that Nowhere in the summary does the author even hint that it is just Book 1 of a series. To me that is sneaky business. I want to purchase Book 2, but I may not because of that practice.

    It IS a great book though.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Good characters and flow, but a few problems.

    I enjoyed this series. I'm pretty love/hate with most novels, so I'm pleased to put this in the "love" category. The characters seemed likable. The author focused on fleshing out a small number of people, which I liked. Also, the stress of the series had a peak more in the middle than at the end, which made the experience of reading it much more relaxing and enjoyable. I looked forward to reading it each night.

    So why am I giving it 3 stars instead of 5? Well, there were a few things that bugged me.

    Certain lines in the books seemed very repetitive. I got the impression that the author tried to get into the "feel" of the book before each writing session, and ended up writing that feeling down again and again. This was noticeable in all three books, with some chapters simply sounding like edited versions of the previous. The author's feeling was well conveyed, but it seemed a little forced.

    The main characters didn't carry over from one book into the next well. The author really fleshed out some characters, giving their background and personality, then *poof*! Suddenly she barely mentioned them anymore. I could understand if she later realized that one character was boring to write and wanted to get rid of him, but it happened to most of them.

    Lastly, one thing that really bugged me was the main character's lack of any loyalty toward Earth. I understand that she had a miserable time there, but for being such a touchy-feely person, I just couldn't understand why she didn't think about it more often. Perhaps the author wanted to escape the world so strongly that she couldn't imagine wanting to come back to it? Hmmmm...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Books

    This book was easy to read. Held my interest and made me want to read T.C. s next book. Good story line and likeable charecters. Worth your time. Happy Reading....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    book I of a trilogy

    Would have been helpful if they told me about the trilogy part up front. Now I have to buy 2 more books to find out how the story ends ... or just complain about it this way and move on to another author.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Wolf

    Wa i just ignored? Well. Abusers die. *unsheaths his katanas*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    slave empire

    app: 500 pages, it starts real slow,gets better toward the end,
    bur it ends --by sayiny you must get book # 2,3 & 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    An enjoyable read

    I liked this series less than the others by this author but it was still good. TC Southwell is probably the best free author I have encountered and I always end up purchasing the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Engaging Science Fiction Story

    Beginning was slow and difficult to follow. Incomprehensible acts by 3 or 4 different parties. 1950'ish description of men from outer space. Over-agressive brother, helpless heroine, smooth-talking aliens who won't explain anything. I actually quit here and started something else, only returning after I read the good reviews on 2 & 3. Sure enough. Got better, storyline came together, better writing and character building. Couldn't put it down at end and immediately got two. I'm gonna go wiith 3 stars but am thinking 2,5 with the amateurish beginning. I know I'm being harsh but it's a very rare book that I finish once I give up on it. Sounds like next two will rate better. -Toad_toad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    clans?

    What up with these clans i mean really what are they and what is the purpos anyways? PLZ tell

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2011

    Good read...but

    LOTS of typos.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Come on...

    It finishes before it can begin!!! well, sort of. I have to get book 2 to see it finish, but it was an enjoyable book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    Good book

    I have had my nook for 9 months now and gotten alot of free books. In that time I have made a list of 5 writers that I will look for again. This one will be joining the list.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    An entertaining story at least.

    It was free :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2