Customer Reviews for

Slave to Sensation (Psy-Changeling Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 328 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(189)

4 Star

(98)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Seamless Blend of SciFi and Paranormal Romance

Sascha Duncan is a member of a race known for their emotional detachment, cold precision and deadly sharp minds. Only Sascha isn't like other Psy. She feels powerful emotion and she grows worried she may soon not be able to repress the building surge. A business meeting...
Sascha Duncan is a member of a race known for their emotional detachment, cold precision and deadly sharp minds. Only Sascha isn't like other Psy. She feels powerful emotion and she grows worried she may soon not be able to repress the building surge. A business meeting with changeling Lucas Hunter, the alpha of the DarkRiver leopards, lures her even closer to the edge of certain discovery. As she is assigned as the Psy contact for the ensuing project Lucas's company takes on, she soon begins to fear grave repercussions from her people. Lucas feels something different about Sascha--she's not like other Psy. It doesn't take long for the dominant male to begin asserting his blatant interest in her in traditionally pack ways. Could her mysterious differences be the key his and a rival pack's have been looking for? A serial killer has targeted changeling women, and the packs believe the killer to be Psy. As a Psy with connections amongst her race, Sascha will become the only saving grace in a race against time to stop two opposing groups on the brink of war. Her and Lucas's efforts will bring them to some shocking realizations as well as some heated and sensually stimulating encounters. The first impression of this romance was that it combined an awesome feel of not only paranormal elements, but sci-fi as well. Lucas's pack dynamics will ring somewhat similar to other paranormal romances, while having their own unique qualities at the same time, most notably their love for one another and family dynamics. The chilling addition of the Psy brings to mind a more futuristic sense with their sparse and utilitarian lifestyles. There are some very interesting twists to the plot that makes good use of the pacing throughout the book, making for a very hard to put down read. Sascha is a heroine readers may sympathize with in her plight to become fully herself, while Lucas is so wonderfully sexy in his concern for her welfare. Look for the sequel, Visions of Heat (March 6, 2007) about Psy member Faith NightStar and changeling Vaugn D'Angelo.

posted by Anonymous on January 8, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe I'm the only one who disliked this book

This plot was WAY too "out there" for me. I love paranormal romance but I won't be reading any more of this series. I'm very surprised I'm the only reader who disliked this book.

posted by want-me-a-vampire on September 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Good

    The nice thing about this book is that it had an actual story line that didnt revolve around sex. Yes it does have it but it doesnt consume the whole story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Izzy

    Just talk to me. You are no longer a slave. *kisses you softly*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    NUMBER OF HEARTS:  4 REVIEW:  This was my second read/listen to

    NUMBER OF HEARTS:  4
    REVIEW: 
    This was my second read/listen to this book.  But I decided that I really wanted to tackle Nalini’s Psy-Changeling series.  This first book was really good.  Lots of world building, history and foundation that needs to be laid for us to understand this world.  But the story between Lucas & Sascha really heats up the pages.  Anyone that can have those types of dreams is okay in my book :)  
    I really loved Lucas’ character.  As Alpha of his pack he has to be strong.  But Lucas was strong even before he was alpha.  Although he was a little broken too.  I hope that we get to see glimpses of these two in future books. 
    I loved Sascha, even if at times I wanted to shake the Psy out of her.  But if she was not Psy and struggling with her emotions the story would not be as good.   

    The narrator Angela Dawe did a really good job with the reading of this book.  This was my first book I have listened to narrated by Angela.  My only complaint was that the splicing between chapters was way too fast.   But I do plan on listening to the second book in this series on audible too. 

    Disclaimer: 
    This review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Raven

    "Thanks."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Solid writing and story

    Pleased with the action suspense and writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Great world

    Great world

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sascha is a Psy, a human with no emotions, no feelings, just a s

    Sascha is a Psy, a human with no emotions, no feelings, just a shell. In this world, the Psy are above all others, they are the leaders and they believe they are perfect. With no feelings, no anger or hate, no lust or emotion, they believe they have the perfect world. When Sascha is asked to take charge of a deal between the Psy and the Changlings, (shapeshifters), she believes that this will help her status as a Psy. Sascha is a Cardinal, a Psy with the potential for great gifts, but her gifts have not developed yet. When she meets Lucas, the alpha for the Dark River Pack, she begins to feel different. Sascha is not supposed to feel at all, but now she is. This book is awesome and different. I love the world that Nalini has created. It has a sci-fi/paranormal feel to it. So different than anything I've read. The characters have so much depth that you could write stand alone stories on each of them. Both the main characters, Sascha and Lucas are such head strong characters that you feel empowered by them. This is the first book in the series which I will continue to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Good read

    Started reading nalini with Archangel series. Enjoyed them very much. Thought I would try this Psy changeling series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Very Creative sci-para...

    Loved it. Loved the world that was created and the character species. Very well developed. I had to read some things twice so I could get a full appreciation for them. I plan to finish this series and am very glad it was introduced to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    First novelv First t First Time Reader

    Enjoyed it! Kept me reading till i finishef it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great story

    Love the world. The characters are well developed and the writing excellent. The romance was appropriate and added to the story without over whelming it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    Great new series

    I liked this even more than i thought i would

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    excellent series!!

    THE HOT NEW NAME IN PARANORMAL ROMANCE.

    Nalini Singh dives into a world torn apart by a powerful race with phenomenal powers of the mind-and none of the heart.

    Born a Psy, Sascha Duncan must hide the emotions which mark her as flawed. But a passionate Changeling will tempt her to reveal everything-and risk her very soul.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cant put it down

    Couple of friends told me about this series. I was looking for a good series to read, but felt that I might have gotten a little spoiled and had high expectations after reading JR WARD and the Brotherhood series. I am only on page 79 of the first book in this series and Im totally hooked. One of my friends has read the whole series and another friend is on book 4 right now. So.............cant wait to get deeper into this series. But just wanted to say that she writes very very well, easy to read, not too many big confusing words, and the story line is great so far.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Really Good series

    Always on the lookout for a new series in sci-fi romance, I stumbled upon this series.
    Really pleased with it. While it sticks with the standard 'theme' of this genre, I fell in love with some of the characters and have been reading the whole series with bated breath to see what happens next.

    Good, easy and fun books to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Sexy,hot,entertaining!!

    This series is new to me as is the author, but I found the story extreamly entertaining. The world that Singh creates is so discriptive you find yourself lost in your own head. (In a good way) If you love the Alpha Male in your books this is definetly one for you!!! Absolutely loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 98 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5